ot/rabbit stew !
Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:06
darrell.QLD
Has anyone have a good recipe for rabbit stew???
When i was growing up in NSW my old man made a mean stew,
jeez it was nice!!Have tried to copy his efforts but havent even
come close...maybe my taste buds have changed.
His stews ran for about 7 days in winter and the older it got ,,
the better it tasted!!
Maybe some of the older fellas on here can point me in the right
direction......any input would be great...
thanks in advance darrell...........
ps....they are breeding rabbits down south somewhere for eating....like a farm...
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:29
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:29
Darrell
Don't know about stew , guess it would be as good as the roast rabbit Mum used to
cook up with all the vegies and the xmas pudding with Threepences in on the edge of the
Murray river at Walkers Flat, every xmas we went there , what a life eh in the late 40s, eating roast rabbit while watching the Marion or the Gem steam past, the chug chug of the ferry ....sighhhh
That's out tent under the tree and me on the nearest post
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:46
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:46
My grandmother used to put thripences in our pudding every
year we went there ..xmas (
PARKES) It was a trick to get us to eat it...
it worked every time........lol
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:30
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:30
doug,i would lik to tell tell u a funny story about when i left school..aged 15, me and a few mates decied there was a fortune to be made out of trapping rabbits (yeah right)!!
we had an old Zepher and cut the top off so we could put 'racks'
around to put the rabbits on,,we did this and when we had about 200 pair we took of into Condolin to sell them at the
the local freezer box.....we pulled up at the servo to put some fuel in .....looked across the road...and guees what???
sitting there was the local copper....watching us......
here we were ..15 years old ..no licence...no rego..and about 200 bloody rabbits swinging in the wind.......
He got out of the cop car ...stared...shook his head.,and drove off(thank god)...
I never went back there for years!!!
rabbits back then were fetching about 50c a pair...
foxes 80 dollars a pelt(a lot of money then)
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:35
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:35
Murray River Doug? Where's that?
Must break your flamin heart. And I'm just a visitor to the area.
And that'd be right, you l'il pric - closest to the camera.
Rabbit stories, eh. Before The Bride tied me down, we were home for Chrissy. Got 4 bunnies, and chucked'em in Mum's laundry tub for a few hours in salt
water.
Four days later, and Mother was less than impressed. (Even
Stanthorpe warms up in December). Ahhh, so lucky I'm handsome. Otherwise I'm sure she would have nutted me.hahaha
And I reckon MY kids are dikwits!! Sheesh, look in the mirror, Old Man.
Lest we forget, indeed.
Stay safe you mob.
Jeff.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:52
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:52
Jeff
Yep...No 1 post eh, Dad had to lift me up to it.
Geez them Wabbits must have been on the nose after 4 days.
Reply By: didiaust - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:40
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:40
G'day Darrell
I just toss all in the pot with gravox &
water these days.
When we were out Tibouburra way in the 80's and I took my Womans Weekly Chinese
Cook Book. I cooked most of the chicken dishes with rabbit and they were great - honey bunny gave everyone a grin. All the prawn dishes had those big yabbies as substitutes. Had to
cook them green ofcourse.
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:56
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 18:56
didiiaust,thanks for the reply,this is how i
cook it...
2 rabbits chopped up as much as possible..
cook meat for about 2 hrs //then just add vegies and a bit(A LOT) of curry......
but as i said its nowhere near the stew the old fella made(dec)
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:12
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:12
This is a recipe from the book ”Bush Cooking” by Max Bryant and it goes under the title of
SAVOURY RABBIT
Ingredients
1 rabbit
Flour
Salt and pepper
1 onion (sliced)
2 rashers bacon (diced)
Milk
Method
Cut rabbit into pieces and soak in salted
water for 1 hour.
Remove and dry pieces then coat with flour, salt and pepper.
Place in 1 casserole dish or
camp oven and cover with onion slices and diced bacon
Cover with milk, put lid on and bake for 11/2 hours (slowly) – about 140degres
At this stage he says to make a seasoning as per another section but I would just use a packet of “French onion soup mix”
Cover the rabit with seasoning
If necessary pour off some of the milk
Bake for a further hour or more , without the lid.
I am working up to doing a rabbit myself so let me know how it turns out if you use above
Pedro
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:19
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:19
thank you peter,,i will try this tomorow...
i have a stew on the stove at the moment...
but nothing done like that recipe....thanks
Reply By: oz doc - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:41
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:41
Hi Darrell, I can recall having rabbit done two ways when camped:
1- rabbit + tinned tomatoes+ carrot+ taters + Stock cube, all in a
camp oven - edge of campfire for 2 hours.
2- rabbit + campbells chicken&veggie soup + parsnip+ carrot + taters, in
camp oven.
Both tasted fine, especially with the gravy/juices mopped up with bread or damper.Oz doc.
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:46
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:46
your making my mouth
water.......
stock cubes........I recall the old fella putting them in....
thanks.....
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:45
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:45
MMM, underground mutton. I think my mum did this. Cut rabbit into pieces and brown (probably in lard or something gross like that). Put in onion and some
water and braise until tender and falling off bone. Add parsnip, carrot, potato, beans and probably trombone (mum always cooked trombone instead of pumpkin). Some Maggi stock cubes, most likely beef, bit extra salt and some pepper and
cook until veges are cooked. I always remember it being quite strong in flavour and not very 'wet'. As kids we didn't really like it, but I would definitely eat it now. That and pigeons, grandpa supplied both. It was that tender you could suck the meat off the bones.
My dad told me that when he was a
young teenager in the early 50's in Germany they sold Australian rabbits at the village market.
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:57
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:57
As a good variation, try any of the above
recipes and try cider instead of
water.
Reply By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 09:15
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 09:15
I used to boil the rabbit in chicken noodle soup (packet) till cooked then meat falls off the bones.
Cook vegies in stock and let it go till you are ready to eat. Sometimes made a curry instead but loved roast rabbit more especially with stuffing.
Reply By: gonebush SA - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 14:51
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 14:51
hi, we have finally found out where to get good bunnies at a reasonable price (Dublin butcher, on the way to yorkes peninsular SA, 2 for $22, good sized ones), any way the way i used to always
cook them was as a casserole, flour and brown the rabbits in an electric frypan or similar in a bit of oil, then add what ever veggies you want, usually spuds, pumpkin, carrot, peas, corn & onion give this a toss around then add a can of condensed mushroom soup, 1 can of
water, a dash of worcestershire sauce, mixed herbs, garlic and what ever else you can lay your hands on sometimes a bit of curry for good measure, mix it around and simmer stirring occasionally for a few hours (the longer the better) and then enjoy. you can't taste the mushroom, just makes a nice gravy.
also i was talking to a neighbour and she stuffs them the same as a chook and roasts them, i going to try that recipe out next except wrapping the bunny in bacon to roast, i figure that will help it stay moist and add extra flavour.
there are also rabbit
recipes in the dreampot book, let me know if you want them too, one is
orange rabbit i think.
Chris.
Reply By: Member - Lawrence C (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 05:14
Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 05:14
Hi Darrell
I believe the rabbit stew you are talking about is the old fashion way coming from Europe.
Simple, As long you Brown the rabbit in a little oil just to seal it.
Potatoes are a must, that what makes your stew thick after they break up in cooking, and also a must fry a large onion chopped (not too fine) before you brown you bunny.
The other old trick is that after browning,
cook the rabbit in red wine to soften it a bit, then add any veggies you like, any soft veggies leave till say ten mints before its all done.
make sure you let it simmer and don't rush it, (low heat) last trick is if your Bunnie is a bit tough, put a tea spoon of backing powder in your stew when you're soften in red wine.this will tender the bunny and it will melt in your mouth.add any herbs and spices you like.
Lawrence
good luck