Oil analysis

Submitted: Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 22:30
ThreadID: 61308 Views:2791 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Gday, coming up to 10 000km since I installed my bypass oil filter and I think it's time to get the oil analysed. Does anyone have any ideas on who does it?

I'm currently working in the Kimberley so any businesses in WA or NT would be better but I'm willing to send my oil sample interstate if needed.

Help appreciated

Barnesy

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:11

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:11
Barnsey,

I have used Westrac Equipment in Perth & they are OK.
They have Oil Commander online system that you will find linked on their website.
They have 2 standards of analysis - one is cheaper than the other but not as detailed.
I made the mistake of buying a half dozen of the cheaper $50 analysis kits -not knowing there was the more detailed Kit available for afew bucks more.
After I got the results, I realised there was no measure of the soot (carbon) content in the analysis and it was because i fitted a bypass filter that i wanted to know if the soot levels had decreased as I had hoped...and the cheaper analysis dodn;t supply those details...

My suggestion would be to get the more detailed analysis for a few $ more.

I also used a second lab (in the USA) because i wanted to make sure i was getting "accurate" analysis results.

That revealed a few problems, they use different techniques and get different results on the same oil, go figure.

Why get two samples tested?

Ahh - would you want a company who sell new engines and spare parts being the ONLY adviser you had look at your oil? If they were unscrupulous they MIGHT send you a dodgy oil analysis result indicating you need a new engine - about 2 days before their salesman rings you with an offer too good to be true on a new / replacement engine!!

It can't hurt to get 2 INDEPENDANT results

I did have a few problems air freighting a used engine oil sample to the USA for analysis - the post office lady thought oil was a dangerous / flammable liquid and thus not able to be posed by air - she was WRING but I had to get the details of the regulations from Aust Post And the details of Oil Flashpint etc from the Oil manufavturers Material Safety Data sheet and then go prove my point to the managero fht epost office in order to get the sample posted.

Aust Post will take the Oil Commader Westrac sample kits for internal domestic postage no problems - but sending samples OS for testing wasn't as easy.

You also need to get a hold of the VIRGIN oil analysis results for the oil you are having tested.

How can you tell what changes the oil has undergone if you don't have the details of what was in it when it was new and you put it n the engine?

What you are looking for is the changes that have taken place to the oil while it is in the engine.

You also need to learn how to read an oil analysis sample to know what your results mean

There is a good article or two available on this subject online at BITOG.com (Bob Is The Oil Guy) forums - along with experts in the oil industry who will help you interpret your initial results.

Good luck with it - if your using the new synthetic oils - you might get away with extended oil change intervals if the sample analysis comes up OK.

AnswerID: 323378

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:55

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:55
hence maybe better to use an independant tester such as Shell or BP. (semi-independant anyway)
But then you miss out on the expert interpretations of the manufacturer who knows what is likely to cause a high magnesium (or other) reading for example.
The testers have access to the chemical make up of all common oils so it isnt necessary to send a virgin sample.
FollowupID: 590467

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:56

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:56
Hi barnesy,

I have used oilcheck in Perth heaps of times for diesel and turbine oil. They are reasonably priced and offer a good service. You can mail in the oil to. oilcheck n No affiliation or anything, just a satisified customer
Matt

AnswerID: 323384

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:58

Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 23:58
Also make sure that whoever you use is NATA qualified. That way you know they use the correct procedures.

FollowupID: 590470

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:37

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:37
Caltex....dont think you'll get the stuff from you local servo tho
start Here
AnswerID: 323407

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:39

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 08:39
dont use the first little bit for the sample...flush a litre first then take your sample....run the engine for a while also b4 doing so
FollowupID: 590496

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:29

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:29
Thanks to all of the blokes who answered. I will try these places.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 323491