76 GXl wagon Cruiser

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:55
ThreadID: 61340 Views:3512 Replies:6 FollowUps:5

Just picked up a new 4.5 TD V8 76 series cruiser. Its different from the 200 but has its own benifits. Just wondering who else has one and what they have done to it. I am getting ready to deck it all out. Anyone with one, what size tyres did you go for. I fitted some 35's to it the other day and they fit, but i am judt not sure. I am thinking 33. Has anyone tried Khumo KL71's?

Looking forward to decking out this car, fuel tanks, draws, suspension, lights bars and all the gear.

Anyway, hope everyone is great, dont get on heree much lately.

Loving the old school new car

Ads

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 22:01

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 22:01
Its not new, You got it dirty and let Eric give it a whipping so its not new anymore :-)

Good one mate look forward to seeing it at the show in October all decked out and washed to boot :-)

AnswerID: 323545

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 23:18

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 23:18
G'day mate, I am sure we can find some mud around here to help get it dirty. Tyres, I don't know those, but have just logged up 10,000kms on the Maxxis and they are looking good so far. I know you have tried those though.

See you later in the week, I am sure we can hang a few cans and streamer off the 76 Series.
AnswerID: 323556

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:29

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:29
Adam,

The offer for a set of drawers gratis, still stands. I do like to return favours. No need to do a measure, we've already done the 76.

Thanks for the help with the gennie, they're getting me a new one this week.

AnswerID: 323569

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:30

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:30
Hi Jim

Glad you got the info, tried to ring, but missed you and only have your old Mob, spoke to some dude at Myer haha.

Thank you for the offer. I need to come for a visit, love to see the place.

Adam
FollowupID: 590668

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 12:05

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 12:05
0411 874406

FollowupID: 590677

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:08

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:08
Thank you
FollowupID: 590684

Reply By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:15

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:15
Gday Crazie

Sorry dont have any advice on the 76, but I am a big admirer of this model.
Have actually thought it may be the one to convert me to a Toyota. lol
I reckon kittin a 4by out is one of the best parts of owning one, have fun and make sure you post some pics when its all done.

AnswerID: 323599

Reply By: Nav 8 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:26

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 10:26
Have had my 76 GXL now for 6 days and am in the same process as you with the fitting out etc. Fitting an ARB battery carrier for the second battery with Redarc smart solenoid, IPF drive lights, power points for the fridges in the back, HF and UHF radios. Yet to come is the Jarram Tracklander roof rack. Do you have any info on a second fuel tank, availability, cost etc? Only done about 200Km in mine so far and loving it. Regards Nav.
AnswerID: 323600

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:36

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:36
Hi Nav

Yes i am loving it too, was a lot different from the 200, but no i think it is better suited to my needs. Love the engine and seating posistion. I am starting to look for the tyres, not sure which ones.. Fuel tank, we are making a replacement main tank of about 160L, I had a look at the utes with the 2 tanks, but the exhaust and other things are routed differentlly to fit the send factory 90L tank. Upgraded to the GME TX3440, putting the VMS unit back in, bar is on, but thats about all. Everything to come. Changing the snorkel head (Ram) to get better air in as it struggles with the current dust bowl on top. Evertually will change the whole snorkel. Thinking a roof top tent for this one as well.

Cant wait to deck it out.

Ads

FollowupID: 590670

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:00

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:00
if the pictured moving signboard is yours... it's looks good, saw it the other day.

Nige.
AnswerID: 323610

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 13:09
Hi Nige

It was , i just passed it on to some one else. I got it to tow the race truck. But now starting over with the 76.

Ad
FollowupID: 590686