how to charge jayco outback camper battery
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:25
clark griswald
hi everyone when i bought my caravan a couple of months ago the chap said every couple of months to charge the battery if your not using it to keep it charged.
if your at a caravan
park you can plug the lead in to the van and the powerpoint no worries .
but at home the power lead with the extra long pin on a 10 amp cord doesnt fit a normal power socket.
can some one help me with what must be a easy answer that im missing. thx
Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:30
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:30
Clark - just make up a short lead with a 10 amp 3 pin plug on one end and a 15 amp socket on the other....and Bob's your Aunty!
Follow Up By: DesF - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:33
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:33
Hi, You can trim the 15amp plug to fit a normal socket, it is only the earth tang that is wider, Cheers Des,
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:38
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:38
Yeah DesF you can do that but I wouldn't recommend it (sparky by trade). The larger earth pin is designed to prevent a fully equiped van from overloading a 10 amp circuit and potentially causing a fire
hazard. The short lead option should also only be used to charge the battery at home as
well.
I acknowledge that some, perhaps many, vans would not exceed a 10 amp maximum demand but there are many that have everything electrical....saw one recently that even had a muncher in the sink for atomising vegetable waste.
Follow Up By: DesF - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:51
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 17:51
Hi, Yes , Sorry , should have added that I only use it at home to run the fridge overnight prior to leaving home, it has been handy when stopping at friends etc overnight so we can run the fridge and a light or two.
Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: clark griswald - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 21:06
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 21:06
hi patrol 22
thanks for the info as you are a sparky.
we had 3 responses trim a plug (not keen on That)
buy a proper unit for sale $280.00 (expensive)
make a new lead (sounds the easy option ,mates a sparky and would do it for nix (a slab)but on holidays at the moment so i cant ask him ,if its only to plug in over night to re charge the battery with nothing else on would that be ok and not overload anything by having the different plug types. thx
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 22:40
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 22:40
Clark - all the advice given is good advice to a point. What I'm suggesting is exactly what I do for my own campertrailer when at home or hooked up to power where there is no 15 amp power outlet. The 15 amp supply for caravans/campertrailers was introduced when it became obvious that the number and capacity of appliances were inreasing....eg air conditioners, heaters, large fridges, toasters, electric grillers an so on. What I am suggesting in regards to a 10 amp supply is intended for running you battery charger. Indeed it is no different than fitting a permanent float charger to your car and running it from a normal household lead. If you use it for this purpose only then everything will be OK and safe.
Follow Up By: clark griswald - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:01
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:01
thankyou again its a great site with great advise
Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:53
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:53
Clark,
I always get abused when I post this link, but I will do it once again! (I have no association with this product but the wise ones on this
forum seem to think I do.) It appears to be the only legal/safe way to plug your caravan/camper into a normal household 10 Amp socket.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:54
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:54
Sorry, forgot to post the link
power leads
Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 19:41
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 19:41
i saw those units today in award caravan spares for $249, absolute theft!!! i can make one my self exactly the same for about $80, mmmm thats not a bad idea actually ( am a sparky also) new sideline maybe? cheers Paul
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 20:11
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 20:11
Yep, I reckon the price is a bit on the high side, but it probably cost him an arm and a leg to get it approved legally, which wont be the case if you make your own. Use his and you are covered for insurance, use yours and you are probably not.
As you say, parts will cost you $80, labour for a sparky is approx $80 an hour, distribution costs, insurance, GST, legal and admin costs to get it approved, then add a bit for profit, warranty claims, etc.. Guess what?? $249 sounds about right!
A lot of people make the mistake of thinking that things are overpriced without taking into account the actual costs of production. A retail price 3 times the product cost is about normal.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 19:04
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 19:04
If you intend to use the van as a spare bedroom at some time I'd have a 15 amp power point fitted to your house therebye removing any overloading hazards in the future.
If you simply just want to keep the battery topped up I suggest plugging a $50 solar panel in which will keep it trickle charged.
Cheers Craig.............
Reply By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:59
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:59
Suggest that if the battery charger is pluged into a power point in the van
Unplug the lead and plug into "normal" 10 amp household extension lead
This way you are only powering the charger and not the whole van
When battery is charged reverse the process
Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:04
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:04
Excellent suggestion. Simple, cheap and safe.
Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:04
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:04
and legal!