Nissan Patrol needs more horses

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 09:44
ThreadID: 61380 Views:5794 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
I have a 93 ST 4.2 diesel patrol that is struggling to do the speed limit. I have considered fitting a turbo kit but it has done 300 000 km and I don't think it would do the engine any good. I have heard that fitting extractors and 2" exhaust does help a lot. Can anyone that has done this tell me how it went and some info on the best system and where to purchase.

I am fairly loaded with a roof rack and camper trailer etc but at times I can't even hold 5th gear on a flat road. Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 09:49

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 09:49
Jeanette,

How long since you had a fuel system service?

The old normally aspirated 4.2 was never a race car but the speed limit should not be difficult.

Find a good diesel fuel injection workshop, I am sure some of the WA regulars on this site can help you out there, and get them to have a look at it before you spend the bucks on a turbo.

AnswerID: 323762

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 09:50
I shold also have said that 300k is not a big mileage for that engine provided it is properly serviced.

It should still be able to carry a turbo if you decide to go that way. Check the fuel system first.

FollowupID: 590835

Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:12

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:12
One of my son's has a '92 Mav with around 380,000 now and a DTS turbo- probably fitted around 200,000 ago we think.

It goes like a rocket still compared to normally aspirated and motor still runs fine, no smoke or oil use etc.

Going down the "extractors 2 inch exhaust" and other mods may well be significant money for very little gain. If you like your car but not the power, I'd go the turbo!

My TD 42 also has a DTS turbo and is a '90 model- but far less klms than my sons and is purrrrrfect. My son wants to buy mine but it aint for sale!
DavidN
AnswerID: 323765

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:59

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:59
Gotta agree.....300,000klm is not a lot of klms to be adding a hair-dryer.....any fitter worth his salt would check the motor out beforehand (compression etc) to ensure it is in good condition.

One other thing I noticed from Jeanette's original post too, is the comment about being fairly well loaded with roof rack and camper trailer; then not being able to hold 5th gear.... I would urge you NOT to try to use 5th gear when heavily laden, even if/when you do get a turbo fitted up.

Fitting the turbo should ideally be accompanied by the addition of a boost gauge and pyrometer to keep an eye on exhaust gas temps....if you drive in 5th gear when heavily laden, you will notice that the EGTs start to creep up quite high. Best to hold 4th.
FollowupID: 590862

Reply By: Benno77 - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:30

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:30
If you go extractors and 2 in exhaust you will have to sacrifice one thing for another. If you get a set of extractors tune lenghted for top end power you will loose bottom end power and you dont want to loose any bottom end if your towing. And vice versa if you go for extractors tuned for bottom end power you will loose top end power which won't help your problem any. A turbo is definitely the way to go. Itwill give you a performance boost across the rev range whilst also inproving fuel economy. But it does sound like your engine is not performing as it should and you should get it checked before doing any mods to it. There could be a million reasons why its down on power and it might only be something simple.
AnswerID: 323768

Reply By: sastra - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:33

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:33
Forget the extractors I tried that before fitting DTS (MTQ) turbo through United Fuel Injection in Redcliffe WA.
Speak to Steve Boyle who is very patient and will explain all to you.
United installed mine at 186,000 Km and has now reached 260,000 and no problems.
We tow Jayco Outback Eagle and have Dinghy etc. on Mav roof rack and the turbo has been a great improvement.
Part of the turbo installation should be injector service, tappet adjustment and fitting of 2.5 inch exhaust.
Believe me you will not regret spending the money.

Michael

AnswerID: 323769

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:52

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 10:52
I have a 94 RX 4.2 diesel. 366,000 on the clock and it flies! Without the trailer it will do 140 no worries, on the GPS.

Best thing you can do is to flush out the engine oil with CEM product. And change the fuel filter. I also use Flashlube for diesels and add 50ml to every time I top up the fuel tank

A roof rack would not help. I got rid of mine and now enjoy a far better fuel economy.

Yep, you can Turbo it and it should work well but that is $3000 plus compared to about $150 for what I suggest.

AnswerID: 323773

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 12:01

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 12:01
Just get the thing tuned and serviced properley and leave it
AnswerID: 323780

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 14:34

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 14:34
Give United Fuel Injection a call mate, we can comp test it check out its suitability for turbo etc. Extractors and a bigger exhaust tends to nothing for bottom end on a TD42.

DTS turbo kits are the way to go.

Matt
AnswerID: 323792

Follow Up By: GASGQ - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:25

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:25
I have a GU wagon with a NA TD42 that had a DTS turbo and 2 1/2inch exhaust fitted by United a couple months ago. Dealt with Matt and Steve and they know their stuff. Best bang for your buck I reckon, much more torque and will accelerate from 100 to 140 easy, not that I do that speed ;). Cruises beautifully esp. when towing and makes overtaking a breeze. If you can afford it go the turbo.

If $ is an issue maybe you could do as someone said earlier and get the fuel injection side of things checked out to see if an overhaul is required.

FollowupID: 590860

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:11

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 15:11
Jeanette,
Before you even think about going down the Turbo/chip/extractors route get the injectors and injection pump serviced by someone who actually knows what they are doing,

That may be all you need, before spending mega dollars for relatively small gains.

Just my opinion, based on a mates Patrol 4.2 with the same symptoms.

Disco.
AnswerID: 323795

Follow Up By: sastra - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:01

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:01
Disco,

The dollars I spent on my '92 td42 having DTS turbo fitted provided a significant gain of 33 percent. Dyno'd before and after.
I think most people would recognize this as no small gain.
You would have to know the td42 motor to appreciate the difference.
Also Jeanette will not have any computer chip to worry about on a '93 td42.

Just my opinion based on personal experience.

Michael
FollowupID: 590866

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:17

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:17
Unless the injectors and pump are within specification there is little point in adding turbo and/or extractors, they won't make a "sick" motor any better.
Worn injectors and pump will not allow any add ons to do what they are supposed to.

IMHO make sure that the vehicle is as good as it can be ........ it may be all you need, performance wise, before spending the hard earned on expensive add ons.

Disco.
FollowupID: 590868

Reply By: Bagwon - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:05

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:05
Jeanette,consider getting injectors checked first,if you are around Midland area try Ashley at AC 4wd 0421678107. he gives good advice.

AnswerID: 323805

Reply By: Member - Jeanette S (WA) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 13:34

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 13:34
Hi all. This is Kirk, Jeanettes partner.

Thanks every one for that great advice. The pump and injectors were done not too long ago and as far as I can tell they are all good. I am actually a deisel mechanic so I have a fair idea on this stuff but just wondered from a Nissan point of view what was the best way to go. It sounds to me that the turbo kit will be the answer. I have done valve clearances and services etc. One thing I haven't done in a while is the fuel filter. I am about to do that right now. Thanks again.
AnswerID: 323967

Reply By: kiwicol - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:16

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:16
I have a 92 4.2 diesal patrol and fitted a super charger at about 250,000ks and now done 370. Ia have had no problems at all and have far more benefits than a turbo can ever offer. A little bit more in price to fit but the advantages out way any thing else. I tried the extractors and finer filters, but the gains were very minamal, but now i can keep the extractors which compliment the s/c. Col
AnswerID: 325224