Splitting tyres.................................................................
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 17:50
Willem
After a hard morning in the garden and a run to
the tip, I decided to mount those MRF Super Lugs this arvo after lunch.
I must be getting on as it took 3.5 hours to split the 4 rims using a beadbreaker and tyre levers, remove the old tyres, and then remount the new ones and inflate them to 40psi.
In between I cleaned the rims from rust and rubber residue and painted them before mounting. The hardest part of the job was fitting the rust guards as there is little give in the tyre sidewalls.
Tomorrow I will fit the
wheels to the GQ.
I'll sleep
well tonite....lol
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:01
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:01
G'day Willem, Aah but the satisfaction of doing it yourself & the added bonus of rust etc being removed & the whole lot freshened up by a fresh coat of paint.
This plurry gardening is a bit of a worry though. I have not long been put out to pasture & it seems a lot of my time is being put into "her?" garden. LOL
Anyway, have a
well earned sleep.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:21
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:21
Barry,
You need to fit a refreshment holder to the lawn mower and stash refreshments around the garden to make it more enjoyable LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:23
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:23
Barry
The Garden is a joint effort. The design is
mine, the plants and the fish are hers.....lol
Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:20
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:20
Willem
Hope you used your new safety harness.hahahaha
Jeff.O
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:21
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:21
Hahahahaha
Bloody Hell...I forgot all about it!!! It's still in thje cupboard where I parked it after it came flying over the fence to me :-)
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:29
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:29
Willem
3½ hours eh, your lucky your not knockin yourself around like that up here, that would have drawn some sweat eh.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:59
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:59
Gees you ole Codgers!! I dunno, fair dinkum.Give a lad a go, eh.
Willem, had I seen your post a few days earlier, I would have gone for two rags. Instead, went for Hercules (Merit, actually). Not worried so much about stakes as chipping. BFGs have simply worn too quickly on stone roads. Shall report back mid November.
Doug, congratulations on the win. Did you score a short-sleeve version, or did 'merchandising' place you in Tasmania?
Mate, pea soup for tea tonight. The weather is in turmoil. Snow in
Darwin would barely raise an eyebrow. (Ahem!...)
Stay safe you mob.
"
Young Jeff."
Hahahahaha. Dreams'n memmaries is good. jh.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:42
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:42
I was up there last August and it was stll too hot for me. Dunno how I survived for 20 years up in those climes. Was a lot younger then....lol
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:11
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:11
I always inf fitting new tyres is a PITA due to them bein very close up and stiff sdewalls make it hard to spred them and fit the tube and rustband
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:14
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:14
gosh im not even drunk yet damn laptop key board
that translates to
I always found fitting new tyres is a PITA due to them being very closed up and stiff sdewalls make it hard to spread them and fit the tube and rustband
Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:20
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:20
Old age is a bugger hey Willem!!! ;)