Roachies Rig dons front page of 4WD Action

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:44
ThreadID: 61394 Views:3569 Replies:8 FollowUps:30
Congratulations Roachie great photos and a good read. Must have been before the chassis problem ha mate lol

Cheers Bruce

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:04

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:04
That makes it 2 front pages by Roachie in that Mag. His last effort was with the old GU.

AnswerID: 323832

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:13

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:13
Grrrr....I still haven't rec'd my copy yet!!!! hahahaha

It was on that photo shoot that I nearly soiled my strides when the front left wheel found it's way about 1.5 meters off the deck (and the shooter missed the fun as he was packing his gear away).

AnswerID: 323835

Reply By: TD100 - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:22

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:22
Mmmm, the last photo previous to the mag one i saw was on a truck bound for adelaide backwards! hahaha well done roachie, hows the chassis mods going? i have done 4k on the new donk and all is good. cheers Paul
AnswerID: 323837

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:29

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:29
G'day Paul, yes, it was on the back of a truck/trailer and was in good company too!!!!! hahahahaha

I've decided I can't justify the $5K odd it would cost to lengthen the wheelbase, so I've asked them earlier this week to just finalise the repair and stregthen ....which is all but completed. So, I hope to get it back next week and then I've gotta start putting it all back together....including re-wiring the back end. At some stage a previous owner used a handful of those bloody scotch-locks thingos to duplicate the wiring for the trailer plug and I HATE those damn things with a passion, so will cut, solder and shrink-wrap them all before putting the box back on.

FollowupID: 590908

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:19

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:19
Me 3, they create more hassles than they solve. heatshrink and solder just cant be beat for reliability. cheers Paul
FollowupID: 590926

Follow Up By: Member - Zig (WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:35
I suggest you use a resin lined heatshrink. When heated it melts the resin lining inside the heatshrink. This makes it completely waterproof. I do this on all my joints on the cruiser and previously on my boats.
I once did this for a neighbour on his submersible pump in his fish pond. The joint was under water for 3 years, still working, when we moved.

Zig
FollowupID: 590931

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 22:22
That sounds like a great idea Zig.....do you know where I can get some? I've googled it but can't seem to find an on-line shop that sells it......

Cheers in advance

FollowupID: 590947

Follow Up By: blue one - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 07:19

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 07:19
Roachie,
Electrical wholesalers stock that type of heat shrink.

FollowupID: 590968

Follow Up By: Member - Zig (WA) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 11:22

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 11:22
As Blue One said, an electrical wholesaler will stock these heatshrinks.

Zig
FollowupID: 591003

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 13:57

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 13:57
Roachie,

Latest Altronics dogalogue has some of this stuff in it too.

Sizes from 3mm to 19mm, and sold in 1.2M lengths.

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 591025

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:31

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:31
Thanks Bob,

Just ordered some from Altronics over the net. Have bought from them before and they are good.

FollowupID: 591083

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 03:37

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 03:37
Not again Roachie !

That's twice you have become a "legend", that I know of.
Me I have only been a legend once, and that was for 5 minutes, in my own lunch time.

Bloody hell mate, more mud to throw at you ,, hehehehehe

Love the Patrol, good on the farms, in the mud, now look out the Vic High Country, if ever I get the time off work..

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 591112

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:25

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:25
G'day Bucky,

Yes mate, that's me..... a deadset legend, eh!!!! hahahahaha

Get ya-self up into the VHC asap and get that new sucker dirty (but don't crack the chassis).....LOL

FollowupID: 591233

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 06:58

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 06:58
congrats roachie. I know 4wd monthly are doing a story on a vehicle in our club soon and will be intersting reading also.

4x4alburywodonga.com
AnswerID: 323898

Reply By: Member Jo (Bris) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:35

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:35
Is Roachies mug in the mag too?
Haven't bought any mags for a while, I guess, if I buy this one.. I may be adding to their increased sales for this months issue.. They then think 'hey... we put Roachie in the mag and our sales went through the roof, maybe we can use him'.. Anything to give an aussie a job... just doin my part to keep him maybe employed..
AnswerID: 323959

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 17:25

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 17:25
Okay, I got my copy in the mail today.

They've made a few typo's (just in case anybody has read it thoroughly).

It said I have twin air lockers..... I only have one (in the front diff)

It said the big box on the back is aluminium (it's actually steel).

I think there was another typo too, but can't remember.

AnswerID: 323998

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:55

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:55
Just picked up my copy Roachie, you look the part mate, just dont mention that you know Lucky

FollowupID: 591225

Reply By: Izey76 - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 17:40

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 17:40
Hey Roachie got the mag last night nice pics I wish my better half would let me do that to our Patrol, but I don't think she will hand over for the fundings.
Glad to see you will have the rig back soon

Clint
AnswerID: 324002

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:36
Yeh, thanks mate....I've been busy mucking around with weight reduction. Have cut out a lot of the checkerplate from the tray and the headboard , which all added up to almost 50kg. The LPG and it's 2 brackets were just over 50kg, so there's 100kg already.

Have also been busy re-arranging the gear in the box and have most of the heavy stuff right up the front of it now.

Unfortunately I've had to shelve the plan to extend the wheelbase and move the spare tyres to the front of the box (between it and the cab). It was gunna cost over $5K to do and for real material gain. Now that the chassis will be much stronger and some of the weight will be gone, I should be right for another 10 years or so.

FollowupID: 591087

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:10

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:10
which mag, if I can ask????? I wanna go have a squizz.....
AnswerID: 324082

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:11

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:11
dar....shoulda read the subject line....pregnant brain (again!)
FollowupID: 591118

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:34

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:34
It was just the same as when you weren't pregnant Kiwi ;)

FollowupID: 591122

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:47

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:47
Ah kev...boy oh boy...what a quiet week or 2 we have had...this must be a first contact in what feels like forever!!LOL!! and nothing has changed!!
FollowupID: 591127

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:56

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:56
The only thing that has changed is that you have gotten fatter LMAO

FollowupID: 591130

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:15

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:15
Congratulations Kiwi whats the little one going to be named?

FollowupID: 591165

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:01

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:01
Bonz,

If they are boys,
I reckon the names will be Kev, John, Borgy and JD hahaha

FollowupID: 591179

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:35

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:35
Multiple birth WOW

You go Laura

FollowupID: 591218

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:09

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:09
Bonz....its only 1...Kev just playing games thats all....although as he knows I could be quite capable of having 4 at once (only cos I have caesars!)

and if its a boy its name with certainly be Kevin John the JD Borgy Barnes......LOL........

FollowupID: 591266

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:14

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:14
Kev....its seems to be that Im always pregnant, hence the reason for always having a pregnant brain!!!

and it wasnt my fault that the garage door got in the way....the landcruiser was a sucker for not going into reverse!

plus...thats the only thing thats ever happened you still love it! Geez I dunno...Im still waiting for you to ring and say you've crashed the work ute and your stuck down a cliff and cannt get out!!......I will get thte blame you watch!!!!

Happy fathers Day to you guys too by the way...hope you enjoy the new kitchen appliances.....!!lol!!
FollowupID: 591269

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:18

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:18
Lol Laura well at least youll know the right time and place to be!

And Thanx the new HDD DVD recorder is lovely

FollowupID: 591271

Follow Up By: Member Jo (Bris) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 22:11

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 22:11
Hey congrats Laura!!!!!!!No wonder you didn't want to take on an extra husband!!!!!!! this will be number ????, when you due?
FollowupID: 591549

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:22

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:22
Jo,

For Kiwi it will be number 4, 5, 6 and 7 LMAO.

She is due when ever she uncrosses her legs cause they will just fall out hehehe

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 591552

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:59

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:59
Kev wishes Jo.....It'll be number 4 and due in feb (again!) not sure what Im having yet but find out after I get back from Armidale I spose!

For some reason Kev says Im having quads or triplets (depends on his mood)....he must know Im capable of it...although, Im blaming him for jinxing me so this must be pay back!!LOL!!

Hey Bonz....just watch out for little fingers that put 10 dvds in all at once...they tend to stop working...and if its 3 weeks past warrenty they wont want a bar of you!!LOL!! But they are certainly great to have!!
FollowupID: 591567

Follow Up By: Member Jo (Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:14

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 12:14
Number 4. bleep girl you been busy!
Good on ya!

Now Kev... all that matters is that they aren't your quads or triplets!!!!!!
FollowupID: 591589

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:08

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 14:08
I need a telly hey!!LOL!!

FollowupID: 591604

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 15:49

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 15:49
A telly won't help ya, cause you'll get the kids to watch it while your creating another set of quads LMAO

FollowupID: 591610

Follow Up By: Member Jo (Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 18:43

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 18:43
Sorry Laura, gotta give it to Kev for that one!!!!!!
FollowupID: 591636

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:04
Jo,

Your learning.........must be the Queenslander in you LOL

Kiwi will never learn ;)

FollowupID: 591681