Advice on diesel conditioner.
Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 11:52
Member - John F (NSW)
Just changed the Hilux D4D sedimenter element (fuel filter) after much discussion on here last week (60982) and found about 1cm brown sludge in the bowl. 65k on the car, first element change. This is by the book -
well actually not - the book says just inspect at 10k intervals and change when the light comes on.
Don't want to enter into that discussion again, it was done to death!!
Question - maybe for "O" or any others with real qualifications - the Toyota diesel fuel conditioner just says that it "ensures that injectors and filters always remain clean and free from plugging(what's '
plugging'). Aids cold weather starts." It does not mention diesel "algae" or whatever the stuff is. I am reluctant to use an unknown product which may be just snake oil.
Any "proper" stuff around - endorsed by Denso or similar, or would the Toyota stuff do the job, even though it does not say so?
Appreciate advice from those who know, as obviously something should be used.
BTW the Toyota additive cost about $19 for 500ml, which treats 500 litres, so could be added at every fill with not much additional cost.
Regards, John.
Reply By: Ted G - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:28
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:28
I am not "an expert" but have used a product for approximately ten years. It is Fuel set by Liquid Engineering in
Perth, it is supposed to stop algae, remove
water by mixing it with the fuel and burning it remove the acid build up in fuel tanks.
I have used it in both Petrol and Diesel fuel especially in the outback.
It costs approximately $140 for 4 litres the recommended dose is 4000 to 1 (not a typo) initial dose is double to get rid of any build up.
can
well recommend it.
Ted
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:45
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:45
Not recommended for the D4D due to solvents and alcohol contents of many fuel injection cleaners and conditioners including Toyota.
Toyota don't recommend their dealers to do fuel injection
services on the D4D.
This is to do with the micro surface finishes and the very fine tolerances of the components.
Fuel is a lot cleaner now then 5 years ago due to the spate of new high tech diesels entering the market and new Euro emission standards.
Reply By: Skippype - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:52
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:52
Just a comment. Toyota changed the fuel filter in my new V8 turbo ute. It had only done 16K. They wanted to know where I had been getting fuel as having to change the filter at that stage was unheard of. I had been using fuel from Inland Oil at
Eromanga. Needless to say I don't use that fuel any more. I have though, started to use a diesel additive. Purchased at the local garage. I have had a dramatic improvement in fuel economy and the engine seems to run smoother and quieter. I have used about 500lts of diesel with the new additive but I am not sure that I can put all the improvement down to just that. It could be the different fuel I am using.
Skip
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:59
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 12:59
Thanks everyone, much appreciated.
Think I'll follow O's advice. I guess it makes sense - if the crap disappears it must have been dissolved and pumped through the expensive pump and injectors.
Regards, John.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 15:18
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 15:18
There is a servo here in country S.A that is one of the last servo's where you can get fuel from before heading west and north.
We always use to fill at this servo with no issues as it is a large servo with a large turnover of diesel and it is conveniently located, we were talking to a customer who fills up their and his last trip the injector pump died in his truck ( truck is less then 12 months old) and he took it to the dealer who found salt
water mixed with diesel.....turns out the servo had a problem with salt
water from the nearby sea leaking into diesel tanks.
We carry 40Lts. of extra diesel in plastic jerry cans just in case and we always fill up at
places that have a large turnover of diesel and a lot of trucks filling up.
Yeap the new generation of CRD engines are fun aren't they, one lot of bad fuel and a $5000 plus in repairs.
Keep your receipts of where you buy fuel and when just in case you have to make a claim against them.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 18:32
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 18:32
Hi there Olcoolone, my mate used to work for Toyota and only left last year, he had a customer come in with there 1kz 02 model d/cab hilux (old diesel not D4D) running rough and little power. She had just filled up at the local
Mobil very high turn over. He dumped some of the fuel and did some samples (was easy to diagnose as she had just filled up and was running fine before), was full of crap and stuffed the pump and injectors, cost her just over 5g's for new pump and injectors she wasnt happy. I think it pays to keep the receipts as you have mentioned to cover yourself. Regards Steve M