WATER ?
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:58
Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:58
That would depend where your going.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 01:19
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 01:19
Ken,
Experience is the only answer there, and I'll offer an 'eg'.
One trip with a mate of many years, and his Lady needed to bathe each evening. Cold country trip eh.
Water was abundant, but that's not the point.
On most trips, we carry 160L in 6 containers. That covers cooking and coffee, and an APC (Armpit'nCrutch, for those who actually DO need to know) as required - about twice a week. (Strewth Mate - gotter treatem right or they'll chip in with some couthncultured Bush Poet , so then where would we be eh?)
We've got a 65 L caravan
tank below the tray (filled with our own filthy rainwater) that we use first. That gets refilled with processed
water along the way for dish washing, and so on. Then the gerrycans, decanted into a 9L "Thingy" with a tap, and so on. It's very rare that we drink crap coffee because the
water was crook
This time we're taking the Ole Girl, so shall have to monitor usage more closely..
Moral? My 2c worth? To each their own. I carry too much, but that's because I can. Death by dehydration seems totally devoid of appeal; call me weird and you may be close to the mark.
Travel safe Ken.
Jeff.
Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:04
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:04
If It helps we carry a max of 100ltrs of
water. We fill up when we can and we have never run out. When needed and remote we only have a facewasher wash at night with about 3-5ltrs heated up. As Said above, depends whow much you use. Hope that helps, Regards Tony
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:45
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:45
I'll respond to this - to cover "what to take" as a one page article would be too long. It really must be read in conjunction with all the supporting links to relevant articles. In fact, the article clearly states this and gives hyperlinks to all the supporting articles in the first paragraph, along with the related articles list at the end of the article where you'll find our Food and
Water article, Survival etc.