Babies & caravanning

Hi Everyone,

Has anyone travelled with newborn babies ?

What is the etiquette at caravan parks, especially when they are crying in the early hours of the morning. Does anyone have any tips for us on this matter and general helpful information on sleeping in caravans with other kids. This is our first time away with our 7 week old, 2 year old & 7 year old.

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:05

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:05
dont change your routine to keep others happy, that will onyl make bub a little distressed and mum more tired and cranky....If the people around you have had babies they will understand....

Just do what you always do and dont change.....

Camping with kids is great fun, if anything the 7yr old will be great help if needed - maybe! The 2yr old just wants to have some fun....but like with the bub, dont change your routine!

(we camped with our 3 from an early age, they are now 5,3 and 18 months)

Laura
AnswerID: 324080

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:38

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:38
LAURA

we'll see how you go at ST George with the QUADS the, eh?

he he he!!
FollowupID: 591125

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:48

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:48
No worries mate! Like my friend says, you dont notice them after the 3rd one! and since Ive already got 3...whats another 4!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 591128

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:03

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:03
Careful Mark,

Kiwi will be handing the latest editions out at night for someone else to look after.
You'll end up with two, so will Borgy hehehehe

FollowupID: 591131

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:21

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:21
already got 2 girls Kev,cant shock me with 2 more!!
FollowupID: 591133

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:38

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:38
You and me both LOL

But will Kiwi have 4 more girls or 4 boys or 2 of each??

FollowupID: 591135

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:13

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:13
so the rumour is right, she is having quads eh?
FollowupID: 591142

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:19

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:19
It is actually triplets but quads has a good ring to it LOL

FollowupID: 591144

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 12:11

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 12:11
KEV

i agree, he he.
FollowupID: 591152

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:20

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:20
Mark, as Laura says it you shouldn't notice as the numbers move up. A bit like if you owe the bank $100k and you can't pay it back, most likely you will have a problem. If you owe $100m and can't pay it back, the bank has a problem.
FollowupID: 591310

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:43

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 16:43
and Kev.... can have the other 4....!! Just remember you'll have the extra 2 with you....so that will be 7 for you...!
FollowupID: 591315

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 17:16

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 17:16
You have to get to St George first LOL

I'll even put the Rums you owe me, on that you wont make it ;)

FollowupID: 591320

Reply By: TassieDave - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:14

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 08:14
We were the same, just do as you would. No one is going say something to a mother that has been up all night with a crying baby.
AnswerID: 324083

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:01

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:01
Jodi,

Camping with a newborn is dead set easy.

We camped when Peta was 5 weeks old for just over a week in the Vic High Country.

She was on the bottle so I had the job of heating bottles while Sam fed and changed her. We were camped with another couple with an 8 week old and they were up at around the same time we were with Peta. Our eldest then 2.5 yr old sleeps better when camping than at home.

So go and do it and don't worry about neighbouring campers, if you are that concerned then ask the park owners for a more secluded site.

AnswerID: 324090

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:02

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:02
I agree with you Kev, see if they can get a secluded site,
it works both ways, if you have Babies, dont complain if the Noisy
Neighbours keep them awake when its time for your Baby to sleep,
and visa versa, most people are understanding about these things.

As for Lauras kids, they will have to camp a couple of ks down the
road lol.
FollowupID: 591138

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:07

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:07
Daza,

Our kids would not sleep when it was quiet, the noisier the surroundings the better :)
It made for some inventive methods to create noisy for them when camping ;)

FollowupID: 591140

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:39

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:39
Hi Jodi, the general advice given so far appears that you should dismiss other campers.

Some babies, when they wind up, would drown out a jet engine at full throttle.

Your best bet would be to consider others, pop over to your neighbours and explain the situation. The fact that you have made the effort, Im sure, would allow people to understand.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 324095

Reply By: Pebble - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:45

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:45
Lol, buy some earplugs and hand them out to everyone!

I would agree with the advice so far, and like some have said it probably works both ways, you may find it more annoying that neighbours or noises wake your bub up rather than the other way around.
Like others have said I certainly would just warnt the neighbours and even say something like "let me know if the kids are too noisy for you".

We didn't camp much when the kids were under 18 months, but the hardest thing is say having to stay in one spot when theyr are having their couple hours of midday nap, generally the time you may feel like exploring surrounds etc.

I suppose it's no different to camping with older kids, who are noisier but in a different way to crying!
AnswerID: 324132

Reply By: swampy66 - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:11

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:11
We travelled Australia with a child under one. The one thing we were concerned about was do we practice controlled crying in caravan parks?
In the end - we let our daughter cry - 45 minutes was the longest session during the night.
The benefits were worthwhile for the remainder of our trip.
We would appologise to neighbouring campers the following morning - all of them either said they didnt hear her - or werent bothered by it.

Often we will select a campsite away from everyone else - pull out the pram, high chair and a bundle of babies toys. Then if someone camps right next to us - at least we have given them some warning we have a baby.

cheers.

AnswerID: 324255