Back from gold detecting in Tibooburra .

Had a great time on the detecting tagalong run by Gold Prospecting Australia . I got 14 nuggets , the largest of which was 5 gm .

For nine days , the fourteen people in the group found approx 230 nuggets for about 66 gm . The nuggets were very small and were more "pieces" or "flakes" than nuggets . It was a real challenge to "hear" such small targets - especially for me , as I'm a bit deaf . One lady managed to get 40 pieces and she was really talented .

We detected in a different area everyday so it was interesting . I took my van , as did two other couples . Most of the campertrailer people went fully catered (food , dunnies , showers etc ).

Drank too much and stayed up around the fire too long .

Cheers ,

Willie .

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:11

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:11
I don't know much about the content of your post, but the tag line on your sig is pure gold :)
AnswerID: 324181

Reply By: Member Jo (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:15

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:15
Willie you always drink too much!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 324182

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:26

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:26
Ah Sir Willie

I should tag along with you some time so that your good luckr can rub off on to me.

All I seem to find is 'Hot Rocks' and horseshoes....lol

AnswerID: 324184

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:56

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:56
Willem ,

I was probably the worst performer on the tour regarding the number of nuggets I found . I got lucky - did something weird and found the biggest one though - 5 gm .

Willie .
FollowupID: 591348

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:35

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:35
Good on ya Willie. A 5 grammer is alright. I have always been led to believe that Tibooburra has small nuggets. Sounds like these tagalongs know where to go.
My cousin found a patch around there a few years ago. Picked up 200 ounces in 2 weeks. His mate also found a small patch but not as much. It is a place I want to get to when I can finally get my detector and retire from this earthmoving industry.
Did u manage to have a look at the art just west of Cobar?
Glad u are building up your nuggets, might have to catch up in WA one of these days. I have a little place I want to check out, very close to one of my cousins leases.
AnswerID: 324186

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:04

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:04
Hey Peter

I reckon you should use that Equipment to do the Digging lol .. lol.

FollowupID: 591264

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:54

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:54
Hi Peter ,
Was that 200 oz or 200 pcs in two weeks ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 591347

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:15

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:15
Ounces Willie, Ounces. He said the majority were rather small but u still pick them up, did find a few ounce bits though.
Thats all they do go out and look for gold all round OZ. When I was through that way I saw a few likely spots but no detector :(

This is some of what they found last year...... Not sure how much they have this year.

They have taught me what to look for and I have found places without their help before. My biggest nugget is an ounce and a quarter.

FollowupID: 591350

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 05:24

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 05:24
Willie,

Glad to hear you had fun and a little bit of luck.
The big strike must be on the next trip. ;)
AnswerID: 324189

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 06:44

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 06:44
ONE POWER BALL and....................
FollowupID: 591249

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:12

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:12
G'day Willie

Hoping to make it on one of their tours in WA next year after me cancelling owing to being delayed coming back from the Kimberley's this year

Still waiting on their tour dates for 2009

Might get around to eventually meeting then

bungarra
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 324225

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:22

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:22
Hi Graeme ,
You should contact Mark and make sure you are on the email list to get the calendar as soon as it comes out . Most places are taken very quickly by previous customers .
Willie .
FollowupID: 591299

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:27

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:27
G'day Willie

I did that the other day (email to him ) and he phoned me this afternoon (Sunday)... I dont have any email from this afternoon onwards as it has all gone pear shaped with some error messages I dont understand...wont open at all so hopefully I can sort it out over the next few days!
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 591354

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:10

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:10
hi willie,
your trip sounds great.

what sort of detector do you have/recommend for this sort of work?

regards peter
AnswerID: 324234

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:17

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:17
Peter ,

I use a Minelab 4500 , but the are hugely expensive . I am a new chum to the pastime , but I think what I am going to tell you is basically correct .

I think most people borrow or hire a unit to see if they enjoy detecting . If they are still keen , then they usually buy a second hand Minelab Extreme , 3000 or 3500 to get started . Then if they are really hooked like me and have more money than sense , they upgrade to a second hand 4000 or a new 4500 .

A guy using an Extreme got heaps of nuggets on our Tibooburra trip . It seems to me that the second hand Extreme , 3000 and 3500 models will detect as much gold in a "quiet" area as the very expensive later models the 4000 and 4500 . But when the ground gets noisy, the later models get rid of that noise where the earlier three models become very hard to use .

A good idea would be to go on a gold detecting tour or join a detecting club . Then you would get some good advice . I hired a detector on my first tagalong , as I did not know if I would enjoy it as a pastime .

There is a couple of great Aussie gold detecting chat sites - go on there and ask them for info .

Cheers ,

FollowupID: 591297

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:57

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:57
Sounds like a great trip interrupted by wandering about wondering if u heard a beep hahahaha just kidding Life is about small discoveries

AnswerID: 324287