OT: WA Elections:

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:33
ThreadID: 61459 Views:4030 Replies:17 FollowUps:18
Well, what do all the West Aussies think?

Personally, I'm hoping the Libs get up and this bunch of over-taxing greedy buggers that we have had to endure for almost a decade get the heave-ho.

I don't mind the Nats making the most of their opportunity but if they climb into bed with Labor, well... cats and dogs, sleeping together.

Big message for KRudd too.

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:47

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:47
Gone Bush.
Try living in NSW at present.Every day brings a surprise with our govt.
Vince
AnswerID: 324206

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:22

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:22
Geez

Elma Fudd / Kevin Rudd and his Dudds have claimed they made them
drop the Interest Rates, he should have been around in the late
1980's when Labour had them at 17% to 18%, some people have
short memories.
FollowupID: 591272

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:53

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:53
Jeez Daza you want to be careful calling Rudd, Elma Fudd or any derivative thereof!!
Jim Best will be along shortly to chastise you for denigrating his hero and best mate with name calling like that.

He admits voting for this clown and takes very personally any name calling of this clown.

FollowupID: 591286

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:16

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:16
Yawn.

You bore the hell out of me Colleen.

FollowupID: 591540

Reply By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:14

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:14
A bit of a reluctant reply as this is not a political forum.

I suggest you West Aussies look carefully across the Tasman before going to the polls. Nine years of Labour Govt in NZ has turned a solid and well run country into a PC mess where helping yourself and getting ahead are 4 letter words.

We have an election here this year but there is no guarantee of a change of Govt. The bottom half of society have got control of this place and they won’t give it up easily. If you want change then you have to work for it, and support those who you think can do a better job.

CliveG. NZ.
AnswerID: 324212

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:26

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:26
Hi Clive, I came over here from NZ in '91 for a holiday.
One thing I quckly noticed was that the typical Aussie was a hard working, honest, generous, outspoken sort of bloke.

Any Pollie wouldnt dare say or do any of the things they do now because the public would shoot them down in flames.

This was like a breathe of fresh air to me coming from a country that had become so over regulated that I simply felt I was one of the sheep.

Moved here permanently in '94 and have never looked back, until recently, have noticed the same thing happening.

I dont know if its a different breed of pollie or a different breed of Aussie, but, that typical hard working, honest, generous, outspoken bloke seems to have gradually become a relic of the past.

For the pollies to get complete control of the 'Aussie Bloke' they have to first break his 'Aussie Spirit'. If they cant do that then they try and legislate it out of him.

Just my Sunday morning pearl of wisdom.......hehehe.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 591279

Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 18:13

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 18:13
Hi Lionel. Glad you’re doing OK over there, lived in Qld in the 60-70’s my kids are Aussies. Don’t know why I came back to NZ, seemed like a good idea at the time.

I’m in and out of Australia all the time and have also seen that slow decline in Aussie “stand up for ones self”. I think it’s a western world thing as in the US it’s real bad. We are all buckling under the weight of ever increasing rules and regulation.

Not sure where it will all end, maybe one day someone will slam their fist on the table and say, enough is enough!! Though I’m not holding my breath.

CliveG NZ.
FollowupID: 591327

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:30

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:30
Gone Bush.

I actually don't think it matters which of the major clubs are in power, they are all shonkey and definitely do not deliver their so called promises. I actually do live in the bush, no not Bunbury or Busselton, but the Pilbara, Fuel (diesel) is still $1.92 per litre, and all the so called staples of life are mighty pricey too.

Yes, the mining industry generates a huge amount of wealth for these parasites to play with, but precious little of it comes back to the "bush" regions where it really is needed.

No, I'm not against policy makers, just very peeved at their policies, so I honestly don't think it matters who is in control of the States or the Country's purse strings. They are all the same, sadly.
AnswerID: 324215

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:58

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:58
Gone Bush
Maybe my postal vote help just that little bit

AnswerID: 324219

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:38

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:38
Hi Doug, only if the Pony Express got through ok.....hehehe.

Cheers mate.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 591283

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:53

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:53
Lionel
Never fear... the Pony express will get through , my vote in the seat of Moore was done by postal vote, witnessed here by the local copper and posted on friday .

FollowupID: 591284

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 02:48

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 02:48
Shes all over in Moore with Libs gary snook streeting Nats by 1000 votes labour are..................... still running nowhere to be seen
FollowupID: 591390

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:04

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:04
Gone Bush

the Mr Sheen connection

AnswerID: 324221

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:55

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:55
Your a bad man Doug, Jim Best will be along shortly to tell you in most severe terms not to make such fun of his hero.

Cheers :-)

FollowupID: 591287

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:58

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 11:58
The hundreds of people that were unable to vote either because of the short time frame postal votes could not get out in time, or the "lack of resources" which meant that quite a number of past polling stations have not been put in place (no one advised them about the change), could well be important in this result. It is interesting that several planes could be charted to fly around the isolated communities but not smaller towns.
I hope it is not racism.
AnswerID: 324240

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 12:36

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 12:36
GB looks like Labour will lose, thank God.
Maybe its a reflection of people starting to wake up to the damage wrought on this country by this arrogant attitude party.

AnswerID: 324242

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:01

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 14:01
What is it that makes these guys become so arrogant after being in office for a while......John Howard and Peter Costello became so arrogant the whole country swept them from power very convincingly....no mistake....I could see Allan Carpenter and Eric Ripper suffering the same fate......They just stop listening and caring.

Isn't it great that we can vote them out and do it without BLOODSHED in this country....I hope we never lose this ability and freedom to vote.
FollowupID: 591295

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:50

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:50
Eh???!!!

No bloodshed??

Maybe our pollies wouldn't become so arrogant if a bit of bloodshed was a possibility.

FollowupID: 591307

Reply By: Mike - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:11

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:11
You vote for the party that you like getting "screwed" by the most!
AnswerID: 324280

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 22:55

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 22:55
"A meeting today has raised the prospect of a coalition between the Labor Party and the Nationals to take government in Western Australia."

Lets hope it happens arrogant Liberal party... LOL

AnswerID: 324315

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 23:57

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 23:57
There really could not have been a better result. whichever GVT get in it they will have to bow to the wishes of the nats and independants to get their support.
Surely also crapenter, rippoff and alana must fall on their swords having played a huge part in losing so many seats to no opposition.

Fair dinkum it is akin to geelong drawing with sacred heart under 13 bs in the grand final
AnswerID: 324321

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 07:29

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 07:29
Another fine example of Democracy in action.

Governments of any persuasion become stale and out of touch if they are left in power for too long.

Fortunately the situation we had in Australia of one party governing for 20 years or more seems to be a thing of the past. Change of government every 8 to 12 years now seems to be the way in Australia, be it at a federal or state level.

And that my friends is what makes this great Democracy, in which we live, such a wonderful place.

AnswerID: 324330

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 09:52

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 09:52
I'm in one of the new electorates (Forrestfield), and the Lib guy fought tooth and nail. He had his posters out everywhere, I even got 2 phone calls from one of his flunkies. The Labour guy, we didn't hear squat from and he did next to no advertising.

Be interesting to see if Barnett gets in. Don't particularly like the guy but don't like Carpenter either.

AnswerID: 324344

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 11:03

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 11:03
Carps lost my vote when I was waiting to fly out and his private jet flew in complete with bodygaurds and the plane was stuffed full of mutton dressed as lamb poodle haired things piling off the plane with all their shopping bags from Broome.
I did like the way he tried to oust the corrupt ministers.
But Bowler WTF???? he belongs in jail - not member for Kalgoorlie
FollowupID: 591415

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:07

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:07
Democracy in action. Nats have done well in WA because they've listened to the people they asked to vote for them.
How long will Lab or Lib run scared?
AnswerID: 324370

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:12

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:12
I've spent the last 12 months in Pt Hedland. The mining in the Pilbara creates huge amounts of money for not just WA but the country. Yet the Pt Hedland hospital can't get staff, the community health team is a shambles because of staffing and pay issues. The high school is a joke, there is no child care at all. A bleep ty 30 year old donga costs $650 000 and generally (there are some exceptions) the place is not suitable for families.

What does the government do with mining money? Build a brand new stadium for the Eagles and Dockers right next to the current one. Build these fancy new skyscrapers on the waterfront costing so many millions of dollars. Whilst the nurses and teachers in Pt Hedland are slaving away making crap pay, living in crap houses in poor unsupported positions.

Some body has his head up his bum.

Barnesy

AnswerID: 324475

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:42

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 00:42
Barnesy

What do the mining company's do with all the money. the government only take a small % of it...

Public servants get it OK...
FollowupID: 591553

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 01:09

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 01:09
>>Public servants get it OK..
I take it you have never worked in Pt Hedland?
Tell me why a nurse or teacher would work in Pt Hedland of all places when they get exactly the same pay, holidays and conditions (sometimes less pay and status) as somebody working in Perth or a nice place like Geraltdon?

The private sector will reward it's valuable employees but in the public system it is all the same, wherever you live and work. How can a public servant on $50 000 a year (before tax) afford a $650 000 house in Pt Hedland? Even if they did want to settle down, they couldn't afford to and their children would get a poor education! Many families leave because the school is so poor.

Places like this are destined to have no community or permanent residents due to high costs, and high turnover of public servants. Yet city people are quite happy to get the rewards of these brand new sporting stadiums while country people can't even find their children a good school!

Good on Brendan Grylls.
FollowupID: 591554

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:50

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:50
Richard,

what planet are you on?

And does it have oxygen??

FollowupID: 591565

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 15:37

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 15:37
Yes I have worked in the bush, most people would go to Port Hedland for one thing money, there is no other reason to go. LOL
may I ask why you are there (you don't have to)?

I'm sure you are worse off than a mine worker getting $35.00 flat per hour 12 hours a day 7 days a week, but divide that back to the OT and shift alliances you may get the moneys not that good.

Some people must just do it because they love it.. :-)

I'm sure Rio and BHP but a lot of money into the town now.

Good on Brendan Grylls. yes i second that statement, I just hope he sticks to he's guns and doesn't sell himself and the country people out, as I have a home in hes electorate.

GB ??????
FollowupID: 591608

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 00:24

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 00:24
I don't have the energy to argue with you Richard. I am in Pt Hedland because they needed staff in the public health system. I will leave because i get paid crap for the work i do in the town. There are also other issues here influencing my decision not related to pay.

I am lucky because i can leave and get a nice job in a nice town and get paid the same, because of my qualifications. Many can't do that and go to Pt Hedland because they can't get work anywhere else. THEY are the ones who will benefit from better public services.

It's bad that an area that generates such wealth is so poor and run down. BHP workers are wealthy, with BHP paying around 80% of their large mortgages. Retaining public servants is responsibility of the government, not BHP.
FollowupID: 591703

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 00:50

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 00:50
Sorry Barnesy

Didn't mean to have an argument with you (most was tongue in cheek) My wife was (still is) a nurse at RPH on a bit better money than we are talking about without the OT and lives in the city.

I'm glad you have a job that you can chose who employees you, there are still many that don't.....

FollowupID: 591704

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:44

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 21:44
** This is a broadcast email - please do not reply to this email address **

ELECTION SCRUTINEER UPDATE!

The following information is the latest counting in crucial seats. These seats are the seven which are still clearly undecided between Labor and Liberal after Saturday’s Election.

If you would like to assist with the scrutineering at the Fremantle Passenger Terminal please call or email Sam Rowe at Party Office on 9328 7222 or sam.rowe@wa.alp.org.au. Counting will continue all week between 8am and 9pm and we are organising three shifts per day, morning, afternoon and evening.

Simon Mead
State Secretary

Albany now 73 votes ahead

ALP – Watson LIB – Partington
9169 9096 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8750 8630 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
8182 8065 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08

Collie-Preston now 335 votes ahead

ALP – Murray LIB – Thomas
9159 8824 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8672 8263 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
8299 7883 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08

Forrestfield now 115 votes ahead

ALP – Waddell LIB – Morton
9307 9192 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8673 8522 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
8177 7935 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08

Kwinana * now 426 votes ahead

ALP – Cook IND – Adams
1788 1362 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08

* Figures based on early & postal votes as of Mon 7/9/08 and do not include Saturday's results - therefore not an accurate two party preferred count.

Morley now 396 votes behind

ALP – Whitby LIB – Britza
9180 9576 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8548 9049 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
7804 8327 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08

Riverton now 50 votes behind

ALP – McRae LIB – Nahan
9247 9297 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8176 8247 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
8002 8034 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08

Wanneroo now 93 votes behind

ALP – Guise LIB – Miles
8896 8989 Votes as at 5pm 9/9/08
8569 8646 Votes as at 5pm 8/9/08
7299 7293 Votes as at 5pm 7/9/08
AnswerID: 324594

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 21:52

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 21:52

The following information is the latest counting in crucial seats. These seats are the seven which are still clearly undecided between Labor and Liberal after Saturday’s Election.

If you would like to assist with the scrutineering at the Fremantle Passenger Terminal please call or email Sam Rowe at Party Office on 9328 7222 or sam.rowe@wa.alp.org.au. Counting will continue all week between 8am and 9pm and we are organising three shifts per day, morning, afternoon and evening.

Simon Mead
State Secretary

Albany now 57 votes ahead

9629 9572 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Collie-Preston now 421 votes ahead

9909 9488 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Forrestfield now 131 votes ahead

9581 9450 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Kwinana * now 479 votes ahead

ALP – Cook IND – Adams

1960 1481 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

* Figures based on early & postal votes as of Mon 7/9/08 and do not include Saturday's results - therefore not an accurate two party preferred count.

Morley now 375 votes behind

9536 9911 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Riverton now 68 votes behind

ALP – McRae LIB – Nahan

9534 9602 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Wanneroo * now 248 votes behind

ALP – Guise LIB – Miles

10769 11014 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

* Please note WAEC updated Saturday's Election figures on their website to include either additional booths or correct their figures for the Wanneroo electorate. Party Office has accordingly adjusted their figures to accurately calculate the voting trend to date.
AnswerID: 324719

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:05

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 23:05

The following information is the latest counting in crucial seats. The WAEC is proceeding slowly through the count. They currently plan to finalise the counting in all the seat below on Saturday and Sunday.

We need 60 scrutineers on both Saturday and Sunday at the Fremantle Passenger Terminal. Please call or email Sam Rowe at Party Office on 9328 7222 or sam.rowe@wa.alp.org.au. to arrange a shift time.

Simon Mead
State Secretary

Albany now equal

9851 9851 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

9629 9572 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Collie-Preston now 400 votes ahead

10395 9995 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

9909 9488 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Forrestfield now 115 votes ahead

9725 9610 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

9581 9450 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Kwinana * now 576 votes ahead

ALP – Cook IND – Adams

2663 2087 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

1960 1481 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Morley now 400 votes behind

9601 10001 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

9536 9911 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Riverton now 91 votes behind

ALP – McRae LIB – Nahan

9630 9721 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

9534 9602 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

Wanneroo * now 286 votes behind

ALP – Guise LIB – Miles

11018 11304 Votes as at 5pm 11/9/08

10769 11014 Votes as at 5pm 10/9/08

* Please note the WAEC has changed the figures on their website for the count on Saturday night. Until Wednesday morning it showed Labor leading by 6 votes after counting on Saturday. It now says Liberal was leading by 108 votes after counting on Saturday. We have factored this change into these numbers. The full picture will not be known until the counting is finalised, hopefully this weekend.

AnswerID: 324877