Citroen 2CV Sahara 4x4

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 18:14
ThreadID: 61471 Views:7199 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
I was prompted by the sight of a Citroen 2CV in town a short while ago to do some research into the vehicles and found that there is a 4x4 , has anyone seen one in Australia.
I will post the the one sighted and it's unique licence plate shortly .

CITROEN 2CV 4x4 SAHARA

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:17

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:17
G'Day Doug,

A mate's dad is right into Citroens and Pugs and used to have about 25 of the old things around there acerage property when I was a kid. My mate and his brother used to have all these different Citroen 1220 air cooled, hydraulic suspension (1977 model) cars and flog the bejesus out of them and his dad has raced some old 1960 model Citroen in the Targa Tasmania a few times.

Anyway I can still remember him showing me photos of his Citroen club crossing the Simpson back in the early 80's in a heap of different type Citroens. I don't remeber any being 4x4 versions but with the Hydraulic Suspension on the highest setting they would leave most Cruisers for dead in ground clearance stakes.....and it was perfectly flat underneath.....almost like it had a sheet of corrugated iron screwed to the underfloor. Amazing technology in these cars for their age. The little cheese cutter tyres would have been at about 5PSI I reckon. I remember changing the engine in a 1220 (cc of engine) once and the 2 of us lifted it out by hand so the cars had no weight in them.

I reckon my mates dad would laugh at us all saying how tough the Simpson is in out big Cruisers and Patrols.

If I didn't live 1200km from my mate I'd get some photos of this trip they did and post it up here.
AnswerID: 324282

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:19

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:19
yep, remember them when I lived in England. Fairly popular. The frogs used em in their N African colonies/Sahara.
AnswerID: 324292

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 00:13

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 00:13
Yeah, that'd be right.
Bloody "Tin Snails" were "uniquely" French and that's the polite way of saying it.
For their size and engine the damn things punched way out of their weight division, they are/were unreal.

Disco.
FollowupID: 591387