Outback Graffiti and the GREAT STICKER DEBATE

Submitted: Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:41
ThreadID: 61494 Views:4616 Replies:13 FollowUps:25
Wikipedia
Graffiti (singular: graffito; the plural is used as a mass noun) is the name for images or lettering scratched, scrawled, painted or marked in any manner on property. Graffiti is sometimes regarded as a form of art and other times regarded as unsightly damage or unwanted. Some people think of it as art, others vandalism, and others, a culture of its own.
Graffiti has existed since ancient times, with examples going back to Ancient Greece and the Roman Empire.[1] Graffiti can be anything from simple scratch marks to elaborate wall paintings. In modern times, spray paint and markers have become the most commonly used materials. In most countries, defacing property with graffiti without the property owner's consent is considered vandalism, which is punishable by law. Sometimes graffiti is employed to communicate social and political messages. To some, it is an art form worthy of display in galleries and exhibitions, to others it is merely vandalism. There are many different types and styles of graffiti and it is a rapidly evolving artform whose value is highly contested, being reviled by many authorities while also subject to protection, sometimes within the same jurisdiction.

So there the Ancients were, bored big time with nothing to do, not even a wheel to play with(this was afore the wheel was invented) and so one day this fella grabbed a rock and started making holes in the sandstone.
“Wotcher doing?” asked another bored fella
“I dunno, trying to make ART, I guess” said the fella.
“Hmmm, ART, I wonder if it will be allowed?”

Some 1000’s years pass and and a wandering pink fella(white fella burnt by Ozzy sun) sees the etchings on the rocks.

“Plurry hell!” he exclaims, “I wonder who made all this graffiti?”
“Nah, it’s ART” says his companion(most likely the Camel)
“Wot???”

Then come some other explorers, and some miners, and some pastoralists…and they leave their calling card in the form of discarded rubbish everywhere in the Outback. They write their names on the rocks and trees they pass by.

“This is ART, No?”
No, but it has heritage value.
“Oh..Yeah…Well” ?? Go figure………………………….

Several hundred years pass and a bloke named Bill invents the BILLBOARD in Amerigo, the land where only this can happen. Advertising catches on worldwide and goes mad and BILLBOARDS are everywhere…even in Outback Australia(disguised as Information signs). Yes as remote as you can go you will find signs…in the Simpson, along the Canning Stock Route, in the Strzelecki Desert, along the Kidson Track, on the Gary Junction Road and even at Israelite Bay…mainly KEEP OUT signs though. Even the Traditional Owers making ART now use BILLBOARDS to tell you to KEEEEEP OOOUUUTTT!!!

Then Authorities are invented and with names like National Parks, these authorities litter most of the country with PINE STUMPS and put up BILLBOARDS wherever they feel like.

Then 4wd Clubs are invented and further along come Charity Bush Bash Events, raising money for sick kids. BILLBOARDS are to big too carry so why don’t we invent BUMPER STICKERS……………….Yeeeaaahhhhh!!!!.

Stickers everywhere. Good form of advertising your product
Now stickers are found on OUTBACK BILLBOARDS, POLES, or anything that will take to glue

PLURRY SACRILEDGE………HOW COULD YOU !!!!!

Wot? Me?

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:49

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:49
Hahahahaha, good on you GPKEO!

AnswerID: 324374

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:03

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:03
Willem
Good one mate, you must be like me, plenty of idle time , anyhow the NSW governmet boofheads do it too, who's passed through the gate East Bound at Camerons Corner , the Idiots have got a "Speed Cameras used in NSW" sign just on the Gestapo State side of the fence ,

AnswerID: 324376

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:25
Can't see a EO sticker on the gate post.
FollowupID: 591445

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:37
Garbut
Look again, Willem has been there .

FollowupID: 591448

Follow Up By: Grand PooBah of EO - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:15

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:15
Doug

No idle time here. Day has panned out like this:

6-8am read book Great Australian Explorers
8-9am ablutions, help with washing and then breakfast
9-10am waste time on EO
10 -11.59am Download photos o Art Centre Computer. Go to Rural Hardware and buy Galv sheet for job on trailer. Visit Med Clinic and Doctor re Xray results. Not bad, not good. Comes with older age...lol
12-1pm Waste time on EO and post this thread
1 -2pm Lunch and a bottle of Rutherglen Blue Imperial Shiraz 2004
Wash dishes
1.30 to 3.30pm Install galavanisghed sheets as protectors for waterbottles on trailer. Few wrong holes drilled due to Blue Imperial indulgence
3.41pm shut down computer and take Nanna Nap

Ahhh..... the life of a retiree!!!!!!!

CYA later
FollowupID: 591464

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:30

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:30
Willem
what a day eh..
Mines like this

No idle time here. Day has panned out like this:
5:30 AM Dogs want to get out
6-7am coffee and Cornflakes ,waste time on EO too
8-9am Feed Dogs , nuther coffee, waste time on EO
9-10am more waste time on EO
10 -11 upload photos to Places on EO
11-1pm more time on EO , coffee and lunch
1 - 5 pm go get mail, waste time on EO, fosters light
5 - midnight waste time on EO and chat to Crazy Dog

FollowupID: 591468

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:04

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:04
Old grand poohbah had a post on Eo,

Eo Eo Eo U

& in that Post He's complain'n of Ancient Art

Eo Eo Eo U

Then it was about our Indigenous Art,

Eo Eo Eo U

But not stop there he picked on our poor young blokes with noth'n better to do but spray paint on every thing they can,

Eo Eo Eo U

Then if this did not upset He & others on the Eo Forum he finds some more in Outbackplaces

Eo Eo Eo EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

FollowupID: 591498

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:05

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:05
KING WILLIE..........

That has a nice sound to it, just rolls off the tongue........
ROTFLMAO

-Sir Kev, looks like you have just been trumped..LOL LOL

Michael
AnswerID: 324377

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:13

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:13
Looks like there will be some jousting in St George next year to see who will be number 1 (but then again Nudie will claim that).

But I am only a Knight and King Willie will prevail hahaha

FollowupID: 591443

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:50

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:50
King Willie???? LOL.... maybe the King of Wan....... that's right...

the WAN KING!!!!!!!

LOL....

FollowupID: 591462

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 18:00

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 18:00
Hey Kev, oops oops Sir Kev

Only a South Australian, would give them selves a
Grand Poo Bah Hood,

And only a Queenslander would give them selves a Knight Hood,

Just trying to work out WHO IS THE BIGGEST HOOD lol.. lol.
FollowupID: 591489

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 18:50

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 18:50
Daza,

My knighthood was given to me by a cockroach residing Kiwi LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 591496

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:03

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:03
Grand Poo Bah aye...does this mean we'll have to learn the secret handshake (LOL) prior to communicating with the Poo Bah.

Fred
FollowupID: 591497

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:06

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:06
Sir Kev, you know once a King always a King

Once a Knight is enough.Lol
FollowupID: 591500

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:34

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:34
Bob,

Once a night might be alright for you oldies but for us young blokes the more the merrier LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

FollowupID: 591510

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:07

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:07
Don't get toooooooooooooo carried away Kev,you get to much in one go you might have a blow out & then wadda you gonna do to blow it up again.
Don't go there.Lol

Have lots of goodens.
FollowupID: 591519

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:13

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:13
Bob,

I already have had back surgery so I am used to blow outs LOL

FollowupID: 591520

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:22

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:22
Kev that was not from 'blow outs ' but from ' blow back' Lol

FollowupID: 591521

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:23

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:23
hahahahahaha

But how much blew back ;)

FollowupID: 591522

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:30

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:30
Fair bit aparently you only got 4 tin lids havent you!!!Lol
FollowupID: 591527

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:40

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:40
Only 2 but am enjoying practicing for more LOL

FollowupID: 591532

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:07

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:07
ROTFLMAO
Don't know which is funnier, the post, or the new improved screen name!!!!
If someone calls you a grand poobah - so be it, eh Willem!! (oops - 'King' Willem, that is) Milk it for all it's worth

AnswerID: 324378

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:13

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:13

AnswerID: 324381

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:15

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:15
King Willem,

You missed the bit about Spanish Cyclists LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 324383

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:45

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:45
PooBah or Pooh Bear? Maybe not, then we would have EO stickers from one end of the 100 acre wood to the other.
AnswerID: 324388

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:48

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:48
when do we have to bow
AnswerID: 324390

Follow Up By: Grand PooBah of EO - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:03

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:03
Every morning when you arise from your slumbers you are to kneel, facing north, and then prostrate yourself for 1 minute on the floor of whichever room you are in, repeating" Oh Grand PooBah " over and over again. Then your day will be blessed.
FollowupID: 591557

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:42

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:42
Q1...which way is north?
Q2..."prostarte Myself"...whats that?
Q3.......for 1 minute...are you sure that that is long enough?
Q4...what if swmbo has already blessed me that day...she says "Holy sheet! yourrrrr good!" to me most mornings
FollowupID: 591564

Follow Up By: Grand PooBah of EO - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 08:08

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 08:08
Never question the Grand PooBah.

Just do as he wishes!!!
FollowupID: 591569

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:16

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:16
Reminds me of some graffiti I saw on some roadside boulders on the old Stuart Highway south of Katherine many years ago.

"PLEASE DON'T WRITE ON MY ROCKS.

SIGNED
GOD"

AnswerID: 324395

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:29

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:29
Well Bhagwan/guru/PooBah,

what could this crowd make of the current trend at the Warri Gate? Is is graffiti, expressionism or just a strange toll for entry to the Norff..ay!

AnswerID: 324400

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:55

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 15:55
You guys crack me up.

Makes the subscription money worth every cent.

Keep up the good work.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 324404

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:30

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:30
I wonder if they locked up all the smaller harder stones so minors couldn't access them.

AnswerID: 324433

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:53

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 19:53
Crikey! Talk about possum stirring!
Yes, it is graffiti. As to it's worth or otherwise...well that's subjective, isn't it.
But where would we be without the graffiti or art of the outback ?
Imagine the pubs without hats/bras/knickers/writings on the walls.
The flat endless stretches without a bit of light relief if we're lucky.
The clever comments written across the signs of the thought police ?
The boot trees of the outback mines?
The tyre with stake in the middle signifying problems ahead?
The road workers who clothe a scrubby tree so that from a distance you think its one of them ...in drag ?

But I'd find an EO sticker on the wall of my local Maccas just a tad embarrassing.

Done well they become tourist attractions in their own rights.
Overdone or done badly, or inappropriately.... well....

Personally I try and leave as few lasting impressions as I can.
Churchill might have scratched his name on his school desk and gotten away with it.
I have no desire to aspire
AnswerID: 324442

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:12

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:12
Well said Footy!!!!!

I'm with you all the way matey!

FollowupID: 591538

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 21:18
Brian & Footy, looks like there are a few of us on the same frequency.

Fred.
FollowupID: 591541

Follow Up By: Grand PooBah of EO - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 06:58

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 06:58
What an unaspiring mob you are

And as for Brian....you'll keep......lol
FollowupID: 591556

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:05

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:05
Yep.... sure will!!! LOL...

;-)