A word of warning to pet owners and young kids camped in the bush.

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 20:52
ThreadID: 61534 Views:4885 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
I was camped up on a private property a few days back and took the small dog with me. We settled on a ridge amongst some open scrub.

The next morning I got up at 4am and went down to cleared land for some fox shooting. Got back to the camp around 8am.

I'd left the rifle on the bonnet and was half way through a coffee watching her roaming around about 30 metres away.

A large feral dog came out of nowhere and went straight for her. Barely had time to get a shot off into the air. The mongrel nicked off, and it took me a while to find my dog hiding under the car.

It gave me reason to think, what if that was a three year old kid?

This isn’t an isolated case I might add. The ex missus and I were attacked by a feral dog up on the Aberfeldy River some years back. Bit later on, another mongrel had a go at me in the back blocks around Benambra.

Seems to me the State government isn’t putting enough money into a Dogger program at the moment.

So be a bit carefull folks if your camping with young kids in the High Country this season.

Kim

So just be a little careful folks if you’re camping in isolated spots up in the High Country.

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 23:04

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 23:04
Fair warning Kim....

But why does everyone blame the Government for EVERYTHING bad that happens. I would rather they spent the money on Hospitals and other worthy causes, such as a fair wage for Pensioners !!!!

Feral dogs are caused by boofheads leaving them out there.

AnswerID: 324609

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 08:55

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 08:55
I agree wholeheartedly, Dunco. On a recent trip to Kallbarri I saw a dog with a collar that had obviously been dumped. They come into "season" and breed with other dumped dogs. Then they need to feed the puppies and start to kill to feed them.
I have long maintained that only registered breeders should be able to sell puppies that had been sterilised.
But, regretably, the damage has been done. The bloke at Yellerie station told me that 13,000 sheep had been taken by the feral dogs in the Barr-Smith Ranges. The station now only runs cattle and calves are at risk.
FollowupID: 591727

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:23

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:23
"Ferals dogs are caused by boofheads leaving them out there....."

They dont intentionally leave them out there...when you go piggin or whatever your dog may find a scent and just go for it and being a pig dog they want that scent no matter what, they go and go until its found....owner is ticked off cos no matter how much looking is done you wont find ya dog.....and its happened to us.

If you put yrs into training a dog to be a hunter you arent going to intentionally leave it out there....

I tell ya what though...every feral dog that we have seen has been shot at, most killed.....with the odd one getting away.....

we have kids, lived on farms and boy do we know what hte damage can be.....

might I sayt hat now that kids are here....we dont have hunting dogs!
FollowupID: 591894

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:55

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:55
I doubt very much whether all those dogs are from pigging. Not all are from hunters Kiwi...MOST are from boofheads.

And either do a spell check, or don't type messages whilst you are drinking :-)
It is the English language mate, not the the NZ Language. :-)

FollowupID: 591897

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 10:57

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 10:57
your right Dunco...not all are but alot are...and who are the boofheads your referring to?

just hope you realise that Im not really a Kiwi and that I dont drink!
FollowupID: 591905

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 09:33

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 09:33
Feral dogs (and cats) are a major problem across most of Gippsland especially towards the east. The legal restrictions which prevent shooters hunting pest animals in National Parks compound the problem. Talk to some of the farmers around Benambra/Omeo area who border the Alpine and other National Parks and ask how much livestock they have lost to the ferals?

AnswerID: 324639

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 11:36

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 11:36
G'day Mike,

I agree that authorities across Australia should do more to make it possible to hunt these pests on crown lands. Also given that there are plenty of responsible shooters there is no reason that private property owners need to except just anyone to shoot on their property. The "R" licence concept seems a good one and being based in QLD I am wondering how this works for legitimate shooters in NSW.

Anyway, thanks for the warning Kim.

Theo

PS bought one of those clamp meters as well - thanks for your report.
FollowupID: 591756

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 17:48

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 17:48
Gidday Mike

Can you send me your e-mail address. I lost it when I changed over to the new computer.

Kim
FollowupID: 591809

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 15:27

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 15:27
wow , thanks for the heads up -- the youngest we have is 4 and they like to roam around camp sites when we go away --- will certainly keep a closer eye on things now ...

Boc
AnswerID: 324673

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 17:27

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 17:27
Gday Kim,
You reckon you've got problems!
We have had two people eaten by camp dogs up here recently.
They havent worked out if the dogs killed them and started eating the poor buggers or they had fallen over, died and then eaten!
Look out!!!! one was a tourist too!

Fear not...the council are on to it!

Hairy
AnswerID: 324686

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 18:33

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 18:33
Gidday Hairy

I was wondering where you got to.

In hind sight my post should have provided a bit more detail:

1. When the dog had a go at us at Aberfeldy, we'd gone for a walk down the river. On returning we found the feral getting stuck into our camp tucker. Tossed a few river rocks at it, then the buggar turned nasty and we bolted for a tree until he nicked off.

2. Up in Benambra I was camped out solo sitting around a dying fire having a few drinks. A dog appeared. Walking back and forth as they do, then started to snarl big time. Finished up getting into the car, and after a while he disappeared.

I reckon the motivation in all cases is hunger.

Kim
FollowupID: 591814

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:27

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 09:27
Kids have no chance thats for sure.....we tell our kids htat if theyever see a dog while we're camping or just out in the biush for the day that they dont go near it, trat it like a snake...stand still, dont move or yell or anything......

a big part of the problem is the forrestrys...they control who go in and when, thats if they let you at all.
Our local council has Nathan and a few fellow hunting club members on a tight leash when it comes to shooting the feral dogs and cats at the tip...certain hours only with council member there......its insane when beurocrats have no idea of what is required to get rid of vermin.
AnswerID: 324747