goodyear silent armour

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 20:13
ThreadID: 61560 Views:2210 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
has anybody had any experience with goodyear silent armour tyres? i am looking at putting them on my hilux(30x9.5r15)Goodyear curently have a buy 3 get the 4th free deal

Reply By: Ballfyboy - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 22:00

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 22:00
I had SA tires on my Mazda Bravo and liked them a lot. When I purchased my Mitsubishi Challenger I put them on that as well. I have done 15000 km so far 95% on road and the 5% off I have been quite happy with the grip and they have no real noticeable wear. I find the noise level quite reasonable. I will be taking them to Landcruiser mountain park in a few weekends and look forward to giving them a real workout.
AnswerID: 324721

Reply By: Eric Experience - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 22:39
Stubby.
I have a set on my sprinter 4x4, we have done several trips with them and find them excellent. Eric
AnswerID: 324723

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 08:36

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 08:36
goodday stubby
i have my 2nd set on 1st set 65000 and that set is sitting in a shed waiting to go back on i only changed as we were doing a bit of travelling and wanted a good set on but i reckon there is still 10-15000 still on the old set
they handle most conditions pretty well
AnswerID: 324744

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 15:18

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 15:18
No problems with mine. Have AT type pattern. Quiet enough on road. Seem to be wearing OK. No problems offroad eg used in Vic HC and some TLCC trips. Haven't had them in mud so can't comment on that aspect - but expect they'd clog up like most of that pattern. Only puncture was a screw through tread (can't blame tyre for that one).
AnswerID: 324784

Reply By: deserter - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 15:23

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 15:23
They took me up the OTL and back without a hitch.
AnswerID: 324785

Reply By: stubby - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 19:14

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 19:14
Thanks for the replies everyone,i think i wiil buy a set off them while i can get 4 tyres for $750
AnswerID: 324822

Reply By: Mark-n-Troods - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 20:52

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 20:52
Have recently put some 33-12.5-15 on the overlander :-) and they are as they say Silent (compared to my last tyres anyway)
AnswerID: 324844

Reply By: Mark-n-Troods - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 20:54

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 20:54
Have recently put some 33-12.5-15 on the overlander :-) and found them good at the moment .They are as they say Silent (compared to my last tyres anyway)
AnswerID: 324846

Follow Up By: stubby - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 19:58

Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 19:58
thanks for the replys.I ordered them today,4 tyres fitted and balanced for $675 .good price i think
FollowupID: 592101

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:36

Friday, Sep 12, 2008 at 20:36
Thats pretty good I got the identical sized maxxis tyres for the missus ute because they were the cheapest for about $640.
definitly would have gonr the SA for that price
FollowupID: 592111

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 21:26

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 21:26
Mine have been good - 45,000k of trips over past 2 1/2 years. They don't chip and only one puncture - sidewall stake on Madigan Line when new.
AnswerID: 325141