Defender or Discovery oil leaks

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2003 at 23:02
ThreadID: 6161 Views:5377 Replies:14 FollowUps:5
Does anyone have one of the 4x4's that doesnt leak oil.... I have checked out heaps and it seems like 95% of them seep oil from the head gaskets....or have i just seen an unlucky bunch?_____________________________________________

Reply By: dixie - Thursday, Jul 24, 2003 at 23:32

Thursday, Jul 24, 2003 at 23:32
I had a serries 3 and from what i was told and had Landrovers are built with oil leaks from the factory :-}
AnswerID: 25862

Reply By: REXY - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 07:29

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 07:29
mine always leaks from some where.i just patch up another leak and viola another appears...but hey look on the bright side if its leaking you know you have a full sump and conversly if it stops you might be in the bleep e :)
AnswerID: 25876

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 08:37

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 08:37
REXY ... A real "glass is half full" outlook. You made me smile this morning.
FollowupID: 17563

Reply By: David - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:39

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:39
Voxon

Landrover dealer once told me that they were designed to leak in order to protect the underneath from rusting. Might explain the often quoted L/R statistic that some 75% (if I recall correctly) of all L/R sold are still on the road!!!

Rgds

AnswerID: 25884

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 12:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 12:02
That dealers advice sounds almost as true and the oft used term for Land Rovers and Harleys - 'they have a factory part number for oil leaks'
- what the heck they're both still good motors.
FollowupID: 17580

Follow Up By: Phil G - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 20:29

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 20:29
David,

Yep, 75% of Landrovers are still on the road!!

The other 25% made it.

Cheers :-)))
FollowupID: 17612

Reply By: Member - Willem- Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 11:51

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 11:51
I have a Nissan G60, a VR Commodore and a VC Valiant and they all leak somewhere. The Nissan leaks out of the output shaft on the transfer case. Drip drip and it looks serious. Then when I go to fill it up every two or three months it will only take 200ml. I also have a weep in the head somwhere. It is at the back of the engine and I can't find the hole. The Commodore leaks from the Powersteering box somewhere and the rocker cover gasket and the sump gasket. The Valiant leaks from the auto gearbox. My garage floor looks like as patchwork quilt !!! Once in a while I get some degreaser and wash them all down and they stay clean for a few days :-)

Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 25888

Reply By: yarda - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 12:49

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 12:49
Oil top-ups are cheap compared to those electronic rust prevention systems !!!!!
Brad
AnswerID: 25890

Reply By: marcus - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:02
Well my td5 doesn't leak oil and never has.It also has the power, the grunt and the economy of a corolla,the pistons havn't cooked causing the engine to blow and fifth gear hasn't fallen off unlike some other unhappy individuals of a jap model.I reckon i don't have too much to complain about. mark.
AnswerID: 25892

Reply By: Michael - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:31

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:31
HI all, Do the Landrover dealerships still give all new car buyers, six bags of sawdust or was that just a end of year 'runout' deal????? Michael
AnswerID: 25897

Reply By: Alan H - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 14:05

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 14:05
I've just sold a 300 Tdi Discovery which always leaked from the rocker cover, but nowhere else, so I was pleased about that.
My Td5 Defender lets dust in, but luckily leaks rain in as well, which washes some of it out!
And the wifes 12 year old Camry is still as oil drip free as it was when new!
But I'd still rather have a Land Rover.
AnswerID: 25901

Follow Up By: F.M. - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 19:56

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 19:56
Gday Alan
Just wondering how you find the TD5 regarding performance and economy compared to the 300.
Mick
FollowupID: 17611

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 20:20

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 20:20
Voxson,
I have a Rangie, it leaks, as mentioned by others it stops the rust so I've given up trying to fix it. Stops people tailgaiting the smell gets to them after a while the oil burning off the exhaust...............Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 25930

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 21:09

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 21:09
wow,, so everyone that has a leaking landrover seems quite happy.......... so there must be something in that?........

Maybe i will go and buy a driptray after all........_____________________________________________

Reply By: joshinthecity - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 21:33
For what it's worth. I have a 14,000klm GU 3.0 that doesn't leak a drop. Matter of fact, it's perfect in every way. Apart from the fact that I can almost not remember what colour it is under all the mud, crud and crap all over it :-)

Josh.

AnswerID: 25938

Reply By: Old Jack - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 12:24

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 12:24
Had a Series 1974 SWB III landy (original 4cylinder)that used to belong to the foresty commision originaly, went every where, did everything ever asked of it without the slightes bit of fuss! oil leaded from main oil seal and afew other places, then again after 250,000+ miles most stuff leakes after a while! for all the comfort of my newer 4Wd's I miss the old pommy truck, don't know what it is but other than the things that usually wear out like brakes(not that they every worked that well) a couple of clutchs & the odd wheel bearings the old beast never broke down, never broke any thing other than a side Mirror off the thing, I still visit the old girl, it's retired to a farm where it is used every day to drive around the paddocks! the cruiser my cousin bought at the same time is the pile of rust on the side of the hill, where it has sat for the last 10 years......
who cares if it leaks if it still goes!

AnswerID: 25995

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 18:31

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 18:31
theres an old saying about landrovers.
if it aint leaking oil theres probly none in it.new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
AnswerID: 26029

Reply By: Slunnie - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:48

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:48
I've got a TD5 Disco that didn't leak, right up until my last venture. Now the 2 diffs and transfer case leak. Warranty will tighten the nuts though.

Slunnie
AnswerID: 26048

Follow Up By: Alan H - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 12:48

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 12:48
F.M asked about the difference in power etc. between the 300 Tdi and the Td5. Well the Td5 isn't as fast as the Disco 300 but has more grunt and certainly pulls my van weighing approx 1.5 tonne easier. Haven't had it long so still trying out with fuel economy, but it's certainly as good as the 300Tdi. More comfortable in the rough as well.
Once I get the lousey assembly faults put right I reckon it'll be a great vehicle.
My sister in law has had a new Range Rover every year or two for the last 20 years, and my brothers comment is the "They MAY be the best four wheel drive, BUT they're put together by monkeys"!
I believe that and the couldn't care less attitude of certain persons including some main dealers, is the worst part about Land Rovers.
FollowupID: 17769