Interior Lights

Submitted: Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 00:41
ThreadID: 6162 Views:2797 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Well Im lookin' for somethin to replace the crap std thing.
Anyone got ideas where and how much to find these things??

Something like these

but somethin that looks good, these look like a reject out of a 1954 caravan.

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 00:44

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 00:44
have you thought of the led that can fit standard light connections?
or go the hog on a console
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 25866

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:48

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:48
I have a roof console now, its just the standard light is as bright as George Bush and as popular as Tony Blair...

Also thinkin of a couple of fluros for down the back.

Thanks for the idea too!
FollowupID: 17572

Reply By: Jack - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 06:34

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 06:34
Hi Truckster:

I have installed some Luxeons in my 80 series which are terrific. They just replace the globe and are so much better and brighter than the normal ones. You can see them at :
http://www.geocities.com/george_tlc/led.html

Jack
AnswerID: 25872

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:47

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:47
Yea should have thought of Georges site!

I'll look further into it.
FollowupID: 17571

Reply By: Member - Jo (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 08:23

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 08:23
I just got some lights from Narva. They are heaps good. Just ordered them from Repco and got them 3 days later. You could replace the globes with these led kits from Jaycar.

Johttp://www.pad.no/
A viking in a desert :-)
AnswerID: 25878

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:49

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:49
Was lookin at the Narva site last night, and jaycar site, but was only searchin for Interior.

Will have another lookon the Jaycar site.

I also looked at Hella..
FollowupID: 17573

Follow Up By: Member - Colin (ACT region) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 00:59

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 00:59
Glad to see Jaycar have these PCB's now. I have made a 3 LED 'board' myself to replace a 31mm globe - I bought a interior light fitting from a wrecker (from a Corolla I think - looks the same as a Landcruiser light) which I mounted on the inside of Forester's wagon door, so it shines down onto cupboard/frig etc. The 3 LED's are the minimum - might try one with 6 LED's. and make one for under the bonnet !(not that a Subaru bonnet needs to be lifted that often !)
That 'george' bloke makes a light with a single 'large' LED ?? - not sure whether Jaycar sell these.
Anyway, for me I enjoy trying to make these 'thingameejigs' - being electronically challenged!
Hella also make replacement LED lights for trailers etc.Colin - Subaru Forester
- size isn't everything ! -
FollowupID: 17628

Reply By: Gerry - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:14

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:14
Hi Truckster
I got both the front map light and also the centre roof light (which also incorporates 2 map lights) from a Mitsubishi Magna from the wreckers, made up a couple of mounting boxes and mounted one adjacent the rear view mirror and the other to replace the existing dome light. This has made an enormous difference for a bit of mucking around and $15 for the bits. Mt truck is also a GQ.
Gerry
AnswerID: 25882

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:47

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 10:47
Any photos Gerry??

thanks for the idea!
FollowupID: 17570

Follow Up By: Gerry - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:12

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:12
No photos but maybe I can take some on the weekend for you.
FollowupID: 17583

Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 14:22

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 14:22
A bloke I know uses the Magna Lights in his Triton.

Work pretty well, and look good.

Cheap as, as well.
FollowupID: 17592

Reply By: Member - Fred - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:11

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 13:11
Do George's Luxeon kits fit the small festoon globe holder as in GU patrol?
AnswerID: 25895

Follow Up By: george_led - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 01:43

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 01:43
Well, let the horses mouth tell you directly ;-) Hope this doesn't sound like an Ad - I'll just supply the facts.

They fit a standard 1 1/4" festoon socket. I know they fit an 80 cruiser (what I have), they also fit a GQ patrol (mate), they also fit the Prado (another mate), and a 100 cruiser (yet another mate).

The Luxeon Star (1 watt) that I use is about the equivalent of 12 to 20 premium 5mm white ultra-bright leds. My circuit will run from about 4V to 30V - I have one in my old MQ patrol in oz with the 24V system. The Luxeon LED has a nearly 180 degree light output, unlike 5mm LEDs - so it really lights things up nicely in a dome.

It has a switching current regulator as the core - so from 12.8V it draws about 110-120mA. From 24V it draws about 60mA.

My original incentive to design it was to reduce the current consumption when doors are left open, especially with kids. I was fed up of either closing the doors all the time or running around and flicking the domes off during the day and back on at night. With the Luxeon modules, if both are running then in 24hours you suck about 6Amp/hr from your battery - compared to 36Amp/hr for the original 2 incandescents. The light output is considerably higher and it's WHITE. You will never have to worry about the lens/diffusers slowly turning yellow over time due to the heat of the incandescent bulb.

The one downside is the cost - the Luxeon is pretty pricey and the electronics I use have top quality components. Then throw in the US-OZ exchange rate and you're up to about oz$38 per module. They will last a lifetime though... I've had one in a modified garden light - been running for 8 months now - all night, turns off in the day.

cheers,
george.
FollowupID: 17631

Follow Up By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 02:29

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 02:29
how would I order 1 or 2 for an 80 series?so many places, so little time !!!
FollowupID: 17632

Follow Up By: george_led - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 02:40

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 02:40
Just visit my website - www.geocities.com/george_tlc/led - you'll find my contact info there - send me an email and I'll forward you my mum's mailing address in Perth. That way you can pay in oz$ - no mucking with international money orders etc.

cheers,
george.
FollowupID: 17633

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 15:03

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 15:03
George... Love ya work son!

Would you do a better price for 10 of them??

Not in it for profit, just would save on postage, thats Allyn wants 2, I want 2, and Im sure theres another few that would like some.

You interested in doing that Allyn?? Get a pile and then could ship them out from here or your place???

mail me vfr750fv at yahoo.com
FollowupID: 17726

Follow Up By: Janset - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 20:56

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 20:56
George.

So to cut to the quick. If I were to order an interior dome light for a 75 series Troopie (do you have one for that model, I think you have a similar looking dome light on your web site for another Toyota?) and I was to pay you mum here in Perth, what would the total cost be?

FollowupID: 17746

Follow Up By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 21:15

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 21:15
Janset
2 units delivered will cost me $80.
I think there's a currency converter on Georges website.

Truckster, I've already ordered but reckon I could scrape up a few more customers once mine are installed. Freight to the NW would possibly make it a non event though as it would probably be just as cheap to deal direct for us. Let me know and I'll see what I can do.so many places, so little time !!!
FollowupID: 17747

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 22:30

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 22:30
Allyn,

Im going to try the Jaycar LED replacements first $4.95 ea..
www.jaycar.com.au

The LED replacement lights are for interior lights are
Part KC-5334 for 31mm Festoon replacement $4.95!!!
Part KC-5344 for 41mm Festoon replacement $4.95!!!
PART KC-5349 for Bayonet Replacement Globe $8.95!!

If they dont work, its only $5 gone, then will go with these little later on.
FollowupID: 17751

Follow Up By: george_led - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:43

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:43
Truckster, give me a couple of days - have a chicken pox reoccurence (shingles) and am typing this with one swollen eye shut - YUK - bigtime! Definitely can save you one the shipping to oz - I charge a fixed US$5 to cover the pain of visiting the P.O. each time with a customs declaration form etc. I can probably shave a few $ of each one too - just finished a deal to buy a large lot of Luxeons at reduced prices.

I'll tell you you'll be unhappy with only 3 x 5mm leds in the dome. I made up a prototype with 6 that was kinda ok. The Luxeon blows it away of course. The Luxeon is a single LED - but runs at 350mA compared to a typical 5mm LED at 25mA - unless you've seen a Luxeon in action you have no idea how bright it is. The other beauty of the Luxeon is a near 180 degree beam width - so all the light is nicely pushed out one side only - perfect for a Dome light. Lumileds also makes a 5W Luxeon (and are releasing some at 3W soon). The 5W is basically 4 of the 1W's put together on one die - series/parallel so it runs around 7V at 700mA. Though it gets very hot (5W remember) so it needs more heatsinking than is possible in a drop in dome module - but BOY is it bright. I replaced a 12V fluoro in the back of my old MQ and the 5W Luxeon is a LOT brighter for 1/4 the power - but there I had room for some sheet aluminium as a heatsink.

Anyhow, back to bed for now...

cheers,
george.
FollowupID: 17792

Follow Up By: george_led - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 12:42

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 12:42
Janset, 75 Troopie, I don't know. If it uses a 1 1/4" or 32mm festoon bulb then very likely my module will fit assuming the space for it's 7/8" width. From the pics on my website you should be able to figure out if it can fit. Cost at exchange rate for 1 dome and shipping is oz$45. For 2 domes and shipping it's oz$83.

george.
FollowupID: 17936

Reply By: Brian - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 15:14

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 15:14
Truckster I often look in Ships Chandlers shops/ Yachtie shop. They have a wide range of stuff that will suit 4WD aplications some even have online catalog
ie link text
I find that it is mostly more 4WD robust, as it is meant for marine conditions.
I also just like looking at neat stuff and saying "what can I use that for"

AnswerID: 25902

Follow Up By: Brian - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 15:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 15:16
Whoo hoo got the link to work!!!!
"It's the small things that make life worth it"

FollowupID: 17598

Reply By: ramp - Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 18:42

Friday, Jul 25, 2003 at 18:42
yeah truckster, give ansett a call they should have plenty on the ground.could even get some air con at the same time.
AnswerID: 25918

Reply By: Lyds - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 16:13

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 16:13
Truckster,

The lights in that console, as ugly as they are, are very bright - no need for IPFs just turn 'em outwards.Cheers,
Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
AnswerID: 26008