Blankets, Inner. Troops for the use of,etc etc. OT.

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 02:53
ThreadID: 61623 Views:2866 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Fellers, thanks eh,
I still sleep in the old silk on occasion, used as a hammock. Not much sign of wear;
[ huh; unlike it's old man.]
Can one of you fellers tell me what to ask for next time I visit Spotlight (or wherever) ? I've taken samples in, and been shown crap. It can't be that hard. (Or has Defence taken over yet again?)
Sorry.
Returning to the serious. The Lady who posted prior to this needs to ensure that the ground-body insulation is adequate in cooler areas. I guess any self-inflating mattress would do fine.Failing that, grab whatever and put beneath; newspapers are good, $50's pfft. Not ideal. But acceptable.
Bed time eh.
Jessie.

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 09:51

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 09:51
Jeff

What is a Rough Diamond like you sleeping silk for?

Cheeeeez............. the Aussie blokes are getting soft.....LOL

AnswerID: 325049

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:15

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:15
Hey Willem, if you said that to me, i would've flatten you! But i know it is in good spirit and takin the bleep sss outta JeffH!!!

Now where did i leave my hand moistureriser!!!!

LMAO
FollowupID: 592295

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:54

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:54
Willem,
One of my soles is soft, (so that excludes the feet, eh).
Arrrso the question , the question.
(You don't miss too much do you, King Billy. Strewth. Watchim L'il mate, watchim).
The question related to my shortcomings as a seamstress, (Not that I'd admit to possessing - oh, never mind.
And as for Young(ish?) Christopher P.

CHRISTOPHER, pig fat as a skin conditioner is unequalled. But this is true.( As is all that I post). I bought moisturisa [see I can't even spell it. No wonder it took so long to find it: mixed up with KY stuff'n condoms at IGA. Streeewth, I was getting desperate, I can tellyer; and the Missus 12 hr drive away....
But enough.( Elizabeth Arden, if you must know, Dharl).

Talk later Willem. I believe Gramps deserves a word.
Travel safe eh.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 592428

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 10:33

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 10:33
When i sleep on the ground, i use a piece of 3mm rubber and then anyting i can find. I use my other son's self inflating matress that has two big holes from Rocky (bloody great big dog) having a good time in the shed.
Little Wes also uses a piece of rubber under his little tent.
It stops the moisture coming up into the bed clothing.
I havent tryed silk yet as it is not on my list of things to do.
Murray
(day off)

AnswerID: 325055

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:31

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:31
Muz,
Can you mend the holes? Have you tried blowing it up (at a servo if need be. Stuff the smug comments, eh). Plenty of good adhesives around.
Crikey, I've seen your name here for so long.
When you say holes, you mean like bomb craters, Yes?
Hmm. Difficult but fixable.
Thanks for your contributation eh. More ways to kill a cat than by choking it with milk.
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 592433

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 07:41

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 07:41
Gday Jeff
I do have that technology,thats the sad thing about it all.
I have to aquire some foam and then the holes will be covered with 3mm sticky back neoprene , the same stuff that skin diving suits are made from.That is my next project, as Little Wes and i are away next weekend and i may need to sleep out .
As you say, they are bomb craters.
Murray

FollowupID: 592450

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:48

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 12:48
Gday Jeff H
Wel its a quiet day here , so i have repaired the self inflater and hope that the weather is good enough for an old bloke to sleep out.
Its just blowy here and overcast.I hope that the big bloke can see his way clear to tidy things up by Friday.
Murray

FollowupID: 592469

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 11:19

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 11:19
Jeff,

I hope the child bride does'nt hear about you sleeping around with old silks. Did'nt think you had much time for the legal profession :)))

AnswerID: 325061

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:30

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:30
Gramps, I guess some of the silks around your part of the world just havn't been choosey before Jeff. They have improved their image perhaps?
FollowupID: 592297

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:41

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:41
JohnR,

LOL I'd hate to think Jeff had let his standards slip.

FollowupID: 592298

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:12

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:12
Gramps,
Now you really have placed my foot squarely on a Jumping Jack. Do I stand here and hope for help, or simply surrender to the inevitable? Stuff it, let's run - it may be a dud.

Yes Al, as it happens, one of the CB's best friends is an old silk. Mate, we may or may not have shared a room - that is for me to ponder. Hahahaha.

Now come on John R, let's not plough common ground, shall we? Enough!
Regina.
FollowupID: 592432

Reply By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:39

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:39
Some of that house insulation paper ( blue/silver ) works reasonably well. Just needs some duct tape round the edges to prevent tearing.

Roills up in the bedroll but is not a longterm item.

Stretcher with a swag is now my preferred system.
AnswerID: 325073

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:42

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 22:42
Thanks OzT.
I reckon your comment/solution shows that ingenuity/common sense will rule. Stuff advertising as a fix-all.
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 592434

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:19

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:19
When we set the bed up, we use a tarp under the tent, then a removalist blanket, airbed and another blanket, sheets and then a heap of blankets, then your nice and warm and have no issues!!! looking to get a self infalting mattress soon as airbed suck big time wih holes and what not!!!
AnswerID: 325180

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 23:03

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 23:03
Chris,
Sorry.Issues with Server.
Mate, forget blankets - go sleeping bags.Wait for their half-price sales, and they should be here in buckets, as winter is (officially) over.
Send an MM if you need more eh.
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 592437