Dogs on Holland Track WA?

Are Dogs allowed on the Holland Track? Is any of the track National Park? Thanks for your help.
Matt

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:10

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:10
Matt

we took ours OK the only place is at the top NP Victoria Rock.

AnswerID: 325065

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:47

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 12:47
Thanks Richard!
I can miss one park. That's fine. Just didn't want to put him at risk with baits(even though he will be on a lead) or get myself into trouble. Thanks again.
Matt

FollowupID: 592189

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:00

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 13:00
Matt

I sure there are many baits, we have a bait management plan and stick to it.

She is always on a lead
We carry a grass rake and rake up around camp
we have a ground sheet at the back of the Troopy and tent and she knows not to leave it.

if something happen we hope we can live with our selfs.

FollowupID: 592191

Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 14:18

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 14:18
Hey Richard, If you were to do a good few months trip, (can't give specific places, don't have them, but say you are going to travel and do the usual Birdsville, simpson etc, then maybe hook onto one of the highways else where to travel.
Could you do a few months travel with your dogs or not? like say you were travelling through the simpson, are you allow to have your dogs there or is that not allowed?
FollowupID: 592194

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 18:30

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 18:30
Jo

We travel everywhere with the dog she was been to Birdsville but not Simpson, (don't like to push it). One thing I've Lent is the leas questions I ask the less things I get told that I don't want to hear.. LOL

As below we have been told and sometimes no other way to travel through NP, NR, & CP the dog (pet) is OK in the vehicle and if you have to let them out, keep them on a lead and close to the vehicle.

FollowupID: 592220

Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:06

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:06
Thanks. Unless I knew someone who was willing to take care of them for a period of timeI couldn't leave my dogs behind. Ok the trip would be easier without them but who's gonna look after them? and I certainly wouldn't put them into a kennel for months on end.
FollowupID: 592292

Reply By: balko - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:30

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:30
I spoke to a ranger in the Flinders Ranges who told me you could travel through any NP with a dog and if you had to stop (put it on a lead and stay close to the car) and no worries. So if your close to your pooch take him with you. Just spent a few weeks fishing in Lakefield Np and saw heaps of dogs travelling with people Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 325103

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:51

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 16:51
A couple of years ago I stayed for one night in a fee campsite in an NP (trust me - there was a very good reason to get me away from bush camping), when checking in I said to the ranger "I have a small dog with me, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, is that OK?". He said "Dog? What dog?" :)

PS. Cavs are not well known for their killer tendencies :)
FollowupID: 592212

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 22:20

Saturday, Sep 13, 2008 at 22:20
Hey Matt,

Neo loved it, didn't let him wander, didn't let him pick anything up, no probs.

Cheers mate,

Ross.
AnswerID: 325148

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 02:08

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 02:08
Hi Ross,
You comming on the trip?
Matt

FollowupID: 592285

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:34
G'day Matt,

Sorry mate, no can do, we're heading off to the Flinders (may make it to Innaminka depending on travel time with the little one) for four weeks from the 11th, so will be real busy getting the last of the packing done. One more body this year so working everything around roof racks for the first time.

Hope you guys have fun though, we did it Easter last year, little moist in some places, but some really nice camping spots along the way.

Ross.
FollowupID: 592419

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:34
G'day Matt,

Sorry mate, no can do, we're heading off to the Flinders (may make it to Innaminka depending on travel time with the little one) for four weeks from the 11th, so will be real busy getting the last of the packing done. One more body this year so working everything around roof racks for the first time.

Hope you guys have fun though, we did it Easter last year, little moist in some places, but some really nice camping spots along the way.

Ross.
FollowupID: 592420

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:35

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:35
Site seems to be having troubles at the moment...
FollowupID: 592421