what to do with the four legged friend when acting the tourist??
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:17
gonebush SA
hi, we were looking at the things we wanted to see when we go on our next trip and one thing is worrying us, there are some
places we would like to go but as we are travelling with our aging
well behaved small dog, we aren't sure we can see eg- Dubbo zoo, she is fine to be left on her lead at caravan parks for an hour or two but most caravan parks don't like you leaving the dog behind, and understandably so, i have heard those dogs that have been left all day and bark continually (not good), not that she is one of them. I'm sure others out there must have the same problem as us so is there any answer?, i have thought about putting her in a kennel just for the day while we look around, but don't know if that's possible.
we can't leave her home and can't think of anyone to dog sit her for a month and think she would fret if left in a kennel for that long, as she's a bit spoilt. and as we are travelling through out November it would most probably be to hot to leave in the car even for a short time.
so does this mean that we will have to just see these things on another trip when we haven't got a dog travelling with us?
Chris.
Reply By: Redback - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:35
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:35
We take ours with us, if we go into a NP where dogs aren't allowed we keep them in the car and we don't
camp where dogs aren't allowed of coarse.
Of coarse there are times and
places where you can't visit with the dogs, those
places can wait for trips without the dogs.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:38
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:38
We have started going
camping / holidaying without the dogs for the same reason.....its just getting too hard.
Its a pitty as our dogs are part of the family and they have never caused any trouble but too many
places dont like dogs.
We have two bigish dogs and plenty of good neighbours/mates who are willing to feed them, so leaving them home for us is our best option.
Hairy
Reply By: Big Al. Gold Coast - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:41
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:41
Some years ago we found that Dubbo Zoo had kennels for dog's and cats.
You can also try the local Vet. Some will take animals for a short stay for a small fee.
It's the price you pay if you take a dog or cat on holidays, but there is still a lot to see .
Do a search of this site and others for more info Re. Ticks & baits Etc.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:46
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:46
You don't hear of many people taking cats on holidays. We never see any up the river. Mind you, a cat's life is one big f*cking holiday IMO... LOL
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:44
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:44
I think this is always a dilemma when you have a pooch. But not only when
camping, etc.
When we go to our holiday house on the Murray we constantly have to pick up doggydoodoos off the lawn because some people don't give a rat's toss bag about where their dog goes or where it craps. I'm not suggesting that's what you do BTW so don't get me wrong, just getting to a point.
So my point is? Traveling with Rover is sometimes difficult and maybe sometimes you gotta leave him home, as hard as that can be. When I was a kid one my best friends was a Border Collie. I'm still a sucker for a wagging tail. We are rarely home, with sport and lifestyle (and work) and that's why we don't have a four legged friend, as much as we would like one.
Reply By: Tenpounder - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:45
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:45
Hi there. No, it's not easy, but we've a few suggestions that may help.
Some council operated dog pounds will take dogs on a short term basis for a small charge (daytime or even overnight). We used this at
Exmouth WA this year, and we've seen other references.
Secondly, RSPCA may be able to help (We've used RSPCA at
Broken Hill a few years ago, and in
Alice Springs this year, for example.)
Thirdly, some vets will help (I suspect they simply use the holding cages otherwise used for paying customers!). We've done this in Queenbeyan, for example, on more than one occasion.
There's a smattering of references on the net, including kennels that take dogs short term as
well.
We always carry the book "Holidaying with Dogs" which has quite a few entries (but not enough locations) too.
Also, finally, we have found that some
Tourist Information centres have listings eg
Kununurra in WA.
Hope this is of some help.
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:13
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:13
thanks for those tips, that's something i wouldn't have though of, we will certainly keep that in mind. chris.
Reply By: Ford_Rodeo - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:01
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:01
We travel every year for around 2-3 months and have taken 2 furry children on every trip for 18 years. I have found it hard in some
places but wouldnt leave them home for quids. Most vets will look after them during business hours for a day, kennels for overnight stays if you need to do something without them. National parks, they stay in the car (ute with canopy) and we dont
camp there. There are plenty of
places to see that ARE dog friendly.
I say take her and enjoy.
Phill
Reply By: gonebush SA - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:23
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:23
hi, i had what i thought was a good idea about 2am this morning (couldn't sleep), that if
places like Dubbo zoo or those
places that it takes a few hours to see, if they or a local charity group were to build a couple of dog runs that people can leave their four legged friends in while visiting and pay a small fee perhaps to a charity eg- flying doctors for leaving their dog in there and when getting the dog back out make sure you clean it up again ready for the next person, that this would not only make funds for the charity but allow people in our situation be able to see more and in turn spend more money in the town. yes i know you will get those few that don't clean it but i'm sure most would, i suppose as usual a few rotten apples could spoil it for others.
well i know that if this was available i would use and clean it.
chris.
Follow Up By: Ford_Rodeo - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 20:32
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 20:32
Last time I was at Western Plains Zoo (Dubbo) they had dog pens (free, I think?) to put your furry childen in while you see the Zoo.
Ace Zoo.
Phill
Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:15
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:15
hi, i email the Dubbo zoo to ask about the dog pens and they said that they don't have them and that animals aren't allowed on the property at all because of risk of quarantine threat, thanks any way, Chris.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:32
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:32
I'd never dream of taking away my dogs on hols, but pretty much do the same thing day to day.
I've got a working collie and a jack russell. They travel between blocks and around the farm on plenty of occasions, spending most of the day with me. Bit like hols.
Sometimes I'm in town shopping for maybe two hours or more. Even on the hottest of days, if you leave the windows open a couple of centimeters, and in the shade it doesn't heat up.
Depending on your transport, you could have a special dog box made up,
well ventilated etc. They even make a version that fits onto your towball.
Cheers Royce
Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:56
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:56
Hi Royce- just a friendly word of warning- leaving your dog in a car in the shade in an area like
Karratha - you will very quickly have a baked rover - even in 'winter' .You might be ok where you are, but when out and about travelling-especially the northern parts of Aussie- its a definite no go. We see dogs getting 'cooked' just going for a quiet stroll after dark up here- it gets so hot, and the temp doesn't drop much at night during the summer.doc.
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 14:06
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 14:06
Yep.... certainly didn't mean that it was okay in extreme heat conditions...
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:29
Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 19:29
We did a 4 week trip with our teenager Rottweiler from
Brisbane down to Tasmania and back without any dramas. We had the Camps 4 book which tells you all the dog friendly parks and planed our stays accordingly. We would do it again no worries.
Some
places we couldn't visit but still heaps to see and do with your dog. Remember People with pets live longer :-)
Reiner