I'll Stick Up for Ebay.
Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:46
Member - Oldbaz. NSW.
Plenty of anti Ebay sentiment of late. I wonder how much of it comes from those who have never even had a bid. Sure you can buy rubbish there, but you can do that anywhere. I have found Ebay to be a great source of good value gear, & have over 200
transactions without the slightest problem with the seller or the
goods, or PayPal. I have purchased C/t tops, cameras,
camping
gear,
inverters,
wheels & tyres, auto parts, tools, audio gear &
so on. When I am in the market for just about anything I go
straight to Ebay first. The small number of problems make up
a very small part of the millions of transactions that occur daily,
& to dismiss Ebay as risky on that basis cannot be justified. If you
do your research, know what you want & what it is worth, you
can make big savings on Ebay. If it frightens you ,stay away, less
competition for the rest of us..........oldbaz.
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:54
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:54
Whist I have been wary when using E bay I have never had a bad run yet. Bought many things in the last couple of years and had no trouble. Paypal for me is easiest.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:57
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:57
I just wish I could ban the Mrs. from it!
Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:03
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:03
G'day Hairy, perhaps I should have made it clear it is really just for "blokey" stuff.....cheers...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:19
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:19
Yeah I agree...nothing wrong with buying Car/Bike parts,
camping gear, fishing gear, Harley memorabilia and all those sorts of essentials on ebay.
I just get the bleep s when the Mrs starts looking for things she wants ( total waist of money I reckon)....
Cheers Hairy
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 23:04
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 23:04
"Car/Bike parts,
camping gear, fishing gear, Harley memorabilia and all those sorts of essentials"
You got it all worked out Hairy. Best way is buy stuff thats close to home, pay cash, then the missus doesn't know.
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:50
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 17:50
Generally agree. A couple of used items I bought were duds but basically those buys were measured risks for me. Otherwise Ebay has been overwhelmingly positive for me.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:38
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:38
As on of the recent posters on this subject I have had over 130 Transactions and only about 5 of those went bad.
Total amount lost is about $300
One was due to me not checking some tyres I bought and they
had knife cuts in the sidewalls. $212 down tha drain.
Other minor ones as
well.
Best buy was a new Nikon camera and lens for $500 under retail from an Aussie Nikon agent.
So generally as said above
Be Careful
Do you homework and it can be a pleasant experience.
Buy on impulse an you may regret it
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:45
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 18:45
Same here Oldbaz,
We've had a pretty good run. Of all the stuff we've bought, only had one dud. Last year Fysh purchased a second hand digital camera for our 7 year old daughter. She had to have one just like her older sister.
It chewed through batteries like nobodies business. Even the rechargeable ones would not last but a few pics. We have since bought her another with out any dramas.
We've saved ourselves hundreds of dollars over the last couple of years. We research everything thoroughly first., and stick to a price.
You've gotta know your product.
Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 19:05
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 19:05
I've had no problems buying through Ebay, recently bought a chainsaw and it's the best chainsaw I've ever owned!! Showed it to my next door neighbour and he said it's a Stihl with another name, sure enough when we compared, it was, and at a fraction of the price.
You do need to know your prices for whatever you're buying and buy from those sellers who have a top rating. I won a SS BBQ about 12 months ago for $800 saw an identical one in a
well know BBQ store for $3,000.
There are saving to be made if you are carefull. For obvious reasons retailers don't like Ebay. But there are retailers who do put items on Ebay, good on them too.
Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 19:06
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 19:06
I've had no problems buying through Ebay, recently bought a chainsaw and it's the best chainsaw I've ever owned!! Showed it to my next door neighbour and he said it's a Stihl with another name, sure enough when we compared, it was, and at a fraction of the price.
You do need to know your prices for whatever you're buying and buy from those sellers who have a top rating. I won a SS BBQ about 12 months ago for $800 saw an identical one in a
well know BBQ store for $3,000.
There are saving to be made if you are carefull. For obvious reasons retailers don't like Ebay. But there are retailers who do put items on Ebay, good on them too.
Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 20:08
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 20:08
I have been buying heaps of stuff from eBay for 5 years or so now. Right now is my first problem with a non-delivered item and I will be reporting it tomorrow to eBay and PayPal if the seller does not respond.
First deal in probably 100 deals, not really happy but will still us eBay.
Stevesub
Follow Up By: stevesub - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 10:06
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 10:06
Got a refund today so I am annoyed with the seller but still happy with eBay
Stevesub
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:10
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:10
I've used ebay several times and have always tried not to use paypal. However, I recently purchased one of those Coleman North Star lanterns which retail in the stores around $228. I won it for $117.50 plus $15 postage. Thought I'd bought a bargain. Although the communication with the seller was very good, the item hadn't turned up after 9 business days and I was beginning to think either I've been jipped or someone at Australia Post had decided they wanted a new lantern. Fortunately it turned up on the Friday almost a fortnight after winning it. Looked at the postage date and sure enough the seller had mailed it on the Monday immediately after winning the item on the Sunday arvo. It was just a case of snail mail with Australia Post again.
Wrapped with the lantern.
Oh, I should have mentioned, the lantern was brand spanking new and still in its box. I think the seller is a retail fishing/
camping outlet up near Noosa.
Touch wood.......I've never had a dud purchase though ebay.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:34
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:34
I've only had 2 bad experiences. 1. sold some SLR camera gear. Ad said old lens, not been used for many years, condition unknown. Guy bit way to high and complained about it when he got it. So I gave him a refund of purchase price to keep the peace. 2. sold some classic car parts. successful bidder never contacted me back re payment to this day. Lodged an Ebay dispute. Still have the parts under my desk. Probably worth $100 more now.
I've read some cracker feedback. Dude buys a Super Neutron Particle Accelerator from China for $0.99 + postage then posts feedback "item is junk, seller is a jerk - what a ripoff!"
Er derr, what'd you expect for 99 cents, a new Merc?
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:35
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:35
BTW, bought my 4Runner off ebay. Great car.
Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:41
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 22:41
There are plenty here that seemed to be scared of their own shadow!
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 19:00
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 19:00
The probability of getting ripped off seems to depend greatly on your ability to assess the risk of a purchase, before you send your money.
Reply By: TD100 - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 20:36
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 20:36
i have bought many things off EBAY over the last few years from $10 to $4000 and no dramas with anything even paypal. Paul
Reply By: MartyB - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:18
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:18
I am overall satisfied with Ebay. Bought plenty with no problems.
The one problem I had I contacted the Police. It took a while but she was found guilty of fraud, pity she only got a $500 fine plus had to pay back who she stole from.
from Marty.