Membership

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 13:43
ThreadID: 61719 Views:2608 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Happy now, just got my membership. To all in the past who have helped "the visitor" and to all in the future who will help "the member" many thanks.
What a great site.
Tasrat (Paul)

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:49

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:49
Congratulations and welcome to the funny farm.

AnswerID: 325579

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:01

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:01
Thanks Pete, it's been good so far. A good balance of common sense (not so common these days) and lunacy.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592756

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:20

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:20
Goodonya Paul, hope you can sort the difference between the " common sense (not so common these days) and lunacy" There is plenty of that around here.
FollowupID: 592870

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:50

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:50
Welcome aboard - Would be good to see a picture of your rig & description on your profile. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 325580

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:05
Thanks for the welcome Tony. Off up the Googs track next week so will do the profile later. Have two "rigs" My Adelaide based cruiser 60 gas /petrol for real bush(can't kill it) and Gu 3.0l patrol for day to day and tooling around Tas.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592757

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:55

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:55
Well Fiona and I are headed down to Tassie in March 2009, for 4 or 5 weeks. As you are a local down there Paul, any suggestions as the chief has been hassling me to go there since her first camping trip just over two years ago.
The other option was to go in September/October - any suggestions as my intention is to keep the chief happy so I can get on with my keeping the rig pointed in the right direction most of the time.
Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 325581

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:16
Nice to "meet" you guys and thanks for the welcome. From Alice originally but been down here for some time now. Seems a bit cooler!
It's a very pretty place and well worth the visit. 4-5 weeks is a good time frame, most seem to think a weekend will do it.
As for the timing,weather is always an issue down here but would definately go with the March idea.
Weather starting to warm up in Sept but usually blows its tits off this time of the year.(just started in the last week or so) East coast perfect for your rig.Some of the out of the way tracks on the west coast you would find impassable with a subie and van.
That said, you have to go there as it is quite spectacular and the main roads more than fine for you.
I'm hoping to take my bike up the Kimberly about then (march) but keep in touch

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592760

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:01
Thanks for the feedback Paul, good info re the west coast and I know that the Subie lacks a bit of low end oomph sometimes, so we park the trailer when we go a bit remote (photographer) and I walk the rest, just as long as I'm not too far from the chief.
Would like to catch up with you womewhere, and we will at some time, so we will keep in tough. Fiona hardly lets a day go by without dropping some hints about a Tassie trip.
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 592858

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:31

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:31
Hi Paul

Welcome from Daza on the Gold Coast.

Daza
AnswerID: 325589

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:18

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:18
Thanks Daza, This is a good site.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592761

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:18

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:18
Hey Paul welcome mate, any Tazrat is a mate of mine

AnswerID: 325594

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:23

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:23
Hey Bonz thanks for the welcome. You from Tassie originally?
Great photo,nearly got lost in Vic when I did a tour on my bike a couple of months back so I can see why you would want 28 gps units.Batteries must cost you though.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592762

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:53

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:53
Welcome Paul ,
I will see you in Tassie soon I hope .
Willie .
AnswerID: 325603

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:25

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:25
Thanks for the welcome Willie. Be a pleasure to catch up, stay in touch.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592763

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:54

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 18:54
Welcome to the site, good to have another Tasmanian on board
AnswerID: 325604

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:27

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:27
Thanks Nick. You a northerner , southerner or somewhere in-between?
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592764

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:23

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:23
Top centre of state, Chudleigh to be exact.
FollowupID: 592978

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:40

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:40
Not bad place to be Nick. Maybe we'll catch up sometime. I'm just your basic Hobartion.
Nice looking rig by the way!
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592982

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:47

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 18:47
Yeah thanks.ATM inm fitting up the I/C Turbo so carnt wait to get it back on the road.
Us TAssie members will have to have a "gathering" sometime
FollowupID: 592987

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:29

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:29
How many Tassie members are there do you reckon?
FollowupID: 593000

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:36

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:36
29 according to the site.If you look at the members heading at the top of the page and then look at the tassie members you can check out all their profiles
FollowupID: 593002

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:33

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:33
Gday Paul,
Just between you and me...Ssshhh!!!
There are a few people on this site you need to be a bit weary of.....
Now...I didnt tell you this OK?

But...
Willem
Kim
Footloose
Gramps
Kim
Handy
Jim
Did I say Kim?
Borgy
Thats the old and young Borgy
Did I say Kim?
Oh yeah Doug
But especially KIM

Just watch them Mate

AnswerID: 325656

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:32

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:32
I aam juust a good ol country boy at heart but thanks for the tip.
Was that be weary or wary?? I don't need any more afternoon naps. I'm from Alice originally, where you at.
Say g'day to Kim
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 592765

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:25

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:25
Gday Paul,

Yeah mate .....Alice too.
When did you leave?

FollowupID: 592803

Follow Up By: Member - Paul O (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:38

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:38
Long time back now mate. Early 70's.My father ran Anningie station for awhile NW of Tea Tree. Was a great way to grow up.
FollowupID: 592805