snorkel socks- good or bad?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 20:40
ThreadID: 61735 Views:15390 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
gday all

2morrow i'm getting fitted a genuine nissan snorkel & was just wondering about those snorkel sox (i think that is what there're called)

anyone had good or bad dealings with them?

thanks in advance,cheers.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 20:47

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 20:47
I think they are made by Airtec so have a look on their site perhaps
AnswerID: 325624

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:37

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:37
Hi Mark, I thought I had a major oil leak in my turbo after fitting one of the Unifilter socks to my snorkel when I first had it fitted. I also had a Unifilter main air filter, with the turbo sucking heaps of air or trying to it started to suck oil from the rocker cover, which the hose goes back to the intake from the air filter box to the turbo. So I had all this oil running out of the turbo. I had a talk to a turbo specialist and was told not to use oil base filter with a turbo especially two of them.

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 325640

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:39

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 21:39
Gidday Mark

why would you want to put a sox over an air filter? Unless you're intending to work in an area that needs something like a Donaldson.

Kim
AnswerID: 325641

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 14:25

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 14:25
gday Kim

not actually over the filter but over the intake of the snorkel ,cheers.
FollowupID: 592785

Reply By: Rod - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:19

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:19
I've used them, mostly on the cape. Great idea cause it kept the main filter cleaner and was easier to clean the sock than the filter.
AnswerID: 325652

Reply By: itsdave - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:25

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:25
I have a Nissan Navara with a snorkel and use only a K&N filter without a sock. Have just completed a 17000 km trip around the top end through the usual dust etc up there without a problem. Had to clean and reoil it 3-4 times but find this very easy to do. Friend with us had unifilter sock and air filter which seemed very messy to clean and reoil.
through my experience I think I'd go with a K&N air filter only and forget the sock
Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 325654

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:07

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:07
I have a K&N filter on my truck that was fitted with the turbo, and I did think about the sock for our recent Birdsville trip, but fitted a Donaldson instead. I had been told that the sock fills up rather quickly which can lead to other problems..... the Donaldson does the job nicely!

AnswerID: 325675

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:20

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:20
...........cheers for all the replies,thanx guys :-))
AnswerID: 325678

Reply By: Heefers - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 09:04

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 09:04
Just for information guys, I've done a little bit of internet reseach on this and it is general consensus that the good old paper type filter will filter out finer particles of dust than any of the "high performance" foam jobs. The foamies do allow greater air flow and therefore possibly better power and economy so are ideal to run on road where the air is cleaner but off road in the dust it is better to whack in the old paper filter again.
AnswerID: 325688

Follow Up By: feraldisco2 - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:16
the idea isn't to replace the standard paper filter but to supplement it with a foam pre-filter placed in the snorkel which can be cleaned properly unlike the main paper filter. Personally I prefer a snorkel head foam cover (only really suitable for Safari ram-type snorkel heads) than the internal snorkel socks - the former can be put on/off very quickly and therefore just used for dirt/offroad sections.
FollowupID: 592860

Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:41

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:41
Understood mate, was just throwing it out there for those who may not know the facts about foamies and have been running them in dusty conditions. Totally agree with your intentions of running a paper filter with the foam pre filter, I'll get around to getting a ram head filter cover one day soon. Cheers.
FollowupID: 592905