Garmin help line - fantastic, But, But...
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:51
Member - Jeff H (QLD)
Bought the Nuvi310 recently, on D'nD's advice. ($244 delivered, or thereabouts).
Now, I know sfa about this nonsense, so called Garmin help line to load current version of city nav, or whatever.
After, dunno, 20 mins? this amazingly patient
young'un, (Katie, as I recall), did the update for me.A very personable human being,and would steal both her and her future kitten were I unshackled.[Her very fit
young partner with the Large Dog may offer resistance, but hey....]. Ahem
Alas, crudd set in later. We (My wife, actually), completed the "event" at 5PM local time. We'd been in contact with Garmin for 6 hours!! Kind of skewed my day.
Verdict?
GARMIN AUSTRALIA, GIVE SUPPORT OR LOSE . YOUR CHOICE: You CANNOT leave customers on hold for several hours.YOU HAVE GOOD STAFF. TIMES THEM by TEN, or vanish.
One bleep -off customer.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:59
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:59
Did you ask them if the TTS volume can be increased?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:37
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:37
No mate, please explain.
Poorl.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:27
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:27
The volume for the spoken street names etc, TTS (text to speech) is very low & almost inaudible in normal driving conditions.
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:56
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:56
What problems did you have Jeff?
I bought the same unit and registered, downloaded the free map upgrade with no worries at all.
The download was big at 268Mb but with broadband that isnt a big ask and the download speed from Garmin was great. Didn't take very long at all.
My one complaint is that the Garmin units dont come packed with the warnings for red light, school zones and speed zones like the wife's NavMan S30 did, out of the box.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 02:43
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 02:43
Wayne,
As implied, I'm a Luddite. The girl from Garmin ( Katie, perhaps)guided me through the steps required, as would a pilot in reefs off
Cairns on a black moon.She was bloody good mate, - very patient, very compassionate, and disarmingly efficient.
Unfortunately, once the programme had downloaded, Garmin did not re-engauge, and despite numerous 1800 calls to their help line, zilch! For about 150 minutes.
Because we're over the limit on Bigpond , dollars start to count, and I reckoned we've paid $60 for the free Garmin update.
So I got my Missus to push the buttons, and it's all good. Had she stuffed up, we may
well have been out of both dollars and 2009NT.
Waynepad, I reckon Garmin America have under resourced Garmin Australia,(launched early July, True?) and unless they get their act together very, very quickly, a valuable segment of their Australian market may
well decamp.
Just my view as a slightly jaded customer.
Jeff.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 03:33
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 03:33
Wayne,
As you could down load the programme with your current skills, I reckon you'd be very content. Unfortunately I lack those skills.
To my joyous amazement, Garmin supplied an agent possed of both technical and cultural skills. Alas, she failed to respond when the transfer was complete.
Mate, I spoke with Katie for some time as the process unfolded.
She's worth a million dollars for Garmin in Australia. I suspect that they (Garmin)haven't caught up with their potential market.
I stop.
Jeff H.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 00:53
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 00:53
It's a pity Jeff that you had a bad time of it.
Generally I have had a good run with the Garmin Map 60 GPS and so far I am impressed with this Nuvi 310. Despite of a couple of omissions like installed POI's and the speed monitoring mentioned. Their equipment is good quality stuff.
All i can suggest is that you learn to do the basic stuff like download and install or have someone on hand that can, because having these skills can save a lot of frustration and money.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:10
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:10
You could have saved yourself time and money as If you looked they have a CD of it available for I think it was $5 postage and then you could play at home when it arrived.
I downloaded and installed it in about 15 mins. It did it all automatically with only a few clicks on the screen.
My only gripe apart from agreeing on the volume is that you cant show your speed when in navigation mode.
It only appears if you have the map running but not actually guiding you.
Have you got your fuel discount yet.
Took the cruiser and some jerrycans and got the full 150 liters.
Son took his car and a mate and some cans and got his full amount as
well.
After getting all the bits the unit actually costs $85
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:44
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:44
Graham,
I did ask Garmin's adviser about the CD of City Nav 09.I think the cost was around $190 - almost the cost of the GPS; or did I miss something?
Off to WA within the hour, and expecting good things from the newest toy, paper maps not withstanding.
Safe travels you mob.
Jeff H.
ps. The fuel card is snugged away, ready for use.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:08
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:08
Dont snug it away too long as the 40c a litre only lasts for a month and then u lose it. Look in your account on everydayrewards.com and it will tell you when it expires. U also have to use as much as you can in one go as if you only take say 60 litres you lose the rest.
It says in the conditions that they use the largest first then the oldest so dont wait too long