HOT Jeeps

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:06
ThreadID: 61796 Views:3632 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
Jeep are not going to be happy with the stories being told on TV .

Burning Jeeps

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:55

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:55
Its ok Doug....its just a jeep thing ....lol

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 325956

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:31

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:31
Must be a Yank thing,
I have a copy of a Recall Notice from Ford, re: the Cooks old
Ford Exploder, it goes on to say,Owing to certain circumstances, the
Underhood Speed Control Deactivation Switch mounted on the
Brake Master Cylinder, it may leak, and Brake Fluid contamination in
the Electrical Connector may cause the wiring to Overheat, Smoke
or Burn, which could result in an UNDERHOOD FIRE,
might be the same as Jeeps.
FollowupID: 593027

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:28

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:28
I dont see a problem !!!!, "there is only one Jeep" and when the bit*h has gone things only get better.LOL

Disclaimer: this was just a wise crack, not intended to incite rage from poor Jeep owners.
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 325965

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:08

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:08
Dont stress Col,i razz my side kick daily about his grande,every time it breaks something it cost him a grande!! hahaha TIC Paul
FollowupID: 593037

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:35
Paul W
I like it LOL!!!!!!
Colin.
FollowupID: 593046

Reply By: Nickywoop - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:40

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:40
Doug, this is to you (and any one else who wants to comment!!)

Tonight on "Today tonite" in your home state, there was footage of several drama's and interviews with the owners of Jeeps that have (my words) "just all of a sudden ignited".

Even before seeing this footage, the country people down this way have never bought Jeeps, because I beleive they are mainly bitumen road 4x4 excepting an offroad blast once in a while, and no doubt they do perform.
We are mainly Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi owners down here, and most of these vehicles work hard work daily. Toyotas would hold the majority of the market, but I have a Patrol and a Landcruiser in the stable at present and they both serve us very well.
I must say though,that if I need to do a long trip, I always jump into the Toyota , sorry Patrol folks, but there is no comparison in comfort, nothing to do with fuel consumption or reliability etc.

The Jeeps we usually see down here in (SE-SA) being put to the "test" are generally owned by city people on a big 4x4 holiday to try out and enjoy their vehicle on the beaches and Canunda N/P driving a vehicle sold to them (I think) by a smart inexperienced 4x4 er salesman. Many of these people have a very good time with no dramas. We meet Jeep drivers in the pub sometimes and all have been lovely people, until one asked us (one person in particular) "How come you guys all drive Nissans and Toyotas" Then his tanned mate in board shorts said "They live 500 k's from the city, they are so far behind they would not know what a Jeep was"

Just walked away, shook me head, bought another Coopers and let them feel proud of their "Rolls Royce Jeeps parked amongst real working 4x4 's Nissans, Toyotas and a Mitsi.

Hope I do not present as being biased - "I am old, been around like Doug, and seen a bit with vehicles, and started with Series 1 Landrover"

Nick (who needs a 4x4 to work and travel daily.)

(Thank Christ Mr. Fielding got a rebate for people that need a 4x4 to make a living. Thats the Mr. Rudderless flash vehicle tax for vehicles over $57000 I'm on about)
AnswerID: 325996

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:11

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:11
"just all of a sudden ignited". Nicky is that like "just all of a sudden" the 3 L Nissan engine blew up (again) for no apperent reason or "Just all of a sudden" my front diff blew on the Toyota (for the 4th time ;-))
The Jeeps we see in Victoria come in 2 varieties. The first is as you describe, city folk using as a daily driver & a fun weekend getaway. The second group are normally shod with 35" muddies & tackle the tracks Toyota's & Nissan's fear to tread :-)))

Cheers Craig.................
HZJ105.
JK Jeep.
FollowupID: 593060

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:19
And just for something different ... Used a TJ Jeep for nearly five years as a tourer and had no mechanical problems with it apart from fair wear and tear for for the mileage. Was a pleasant surprise compared to the two toyotas I've owned.
FollowupID: 593062

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:04

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:04
Interestingly Nickywoop .... if the Govt of the day didnt pander to the needs of japanese vehicle makers back in the 80s ..... The XJ Jeep Cherokee, that was not allowed to be made in aust due to govt restrictions on veh manufacturers in aust .... could have been developed into a very suitable vehicle for aust conditions ..... It was certainly well advanced in looks, capability and comfort than anything else available apart from a rangerover.

As with toyota, nissan and the others , it wouldn't have taken long for some " homegrown " improvements to be implemented in the design.

Hopefully, that recent 35 million dollar donation to the worlds biggest veh maker ... toyota ... was the final installment of the Button Plan.
FollowupID: 593073

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:12

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:12
Nickywoop
Go to any mine and see what they're using , the office pen pushers might be using Nissans ,100 series, but NO JEEPS, go where the work is and all you'll see id Landcruiser Traybacks and Troopy's.

FollowupID: 593074

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:23

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:23
Doug Jeeps aren't for work, they're for play. You buy one to have fun :-)
FollowupID: 593077

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:33

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:33
Crackles
Well of course, I coulda told ya that, but ya didn't ask.

FollowupID: 593078

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:47

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:47
Mwaaaahaaahaaaa .... LOLOLOL Doug T.

Great comparison ....... Chrysler make and sell trayback / troopy Jeep equivalents for sale in Australia do they ..... ?????

Oh and btw .... hows the sales on topsy turvy cruisers with the mismatched axles going ... Last I heard the navaras and hiluxs were getting a sales boost.

You ought to put in for a job as the Territories roving correspondent, for that hype and drivel Today Tonight programme.

Not to worry ..... Eventually there will be a person in a toynisspajwhatever, who driving a vehicle not even run in, leaves the electronic suspension control in the wrong setting, doesnt deflate the tyres and doesnt heed the transmission warning chime for overheating .... wondering why their japanese marvel has gone up in flames.

An old saying ..... its a poor tradesman who blames their tools ... applies to drivers and their vehicles too .... regardless of brand.
FollowupID: 593081

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:58

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:58
You're a bit of a stirrer Doug, you're raising something that happened in 2007. How many incidents since?

I've seen a tojo burnt out from a suspected faulty fuel line.

I also notice on this forum that there are regular issues being discussed with the other brands, haven't seen any about Jeeps though? maybe I haven't seen any yet, I'm sure you will correct me if I'm wrong though.

That reporters story is clearly bias because Jeep wouldn't talk to him, Jeep's response in relation to the report is no different from any other car manufacturer who has an issue.

Has the same reporter done a report on recalls made by other car manufacturers, doubt it.

The Jeep concerned was a 5.7l V8 and my understanding is that the fault was with the vapour line due to a fault with some of the clamps used. Jeep did recall all those vehicles and replaced these clamps, did find some that were suspect. Got that from the Service Manager at the dealership where I have my jeep serviced.

Anyway you got the reaction you wished from Jeep owners, and I couldn't let the chance go by to have a dig back at you. Jeeps Rule!!! :)))))
AnswerID: 326059

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:02

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:02
Noticed in 4x4 Monthly (subscriber) recently the 100 series (mainly) Toyota that the owner had the front diff replaced by a renowned tuff Nissan Patrol one as some folk reckon the OEM front diff is light duty for that size vehicle (Hilux?) He wanted to actually go off-road. Of course, as with all Kindy Cars, the spare located under the rig has to be re-located (app $600+) out back. I went on one of the legends (Geoff Portman) last 4x4 High Country adventures. The flyer he posted to us all stated that all vehicles would have no running boards or 'Spare Wheels' under the vehicle..The four Nissan Patrols were ok stock standard. All the Toyota 'cruisers had to spend big bucks plus down time (some of us work) to put the spare where it should have been from factory. Oh what a feeling!
AnswerID: 326070

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:39

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:39
Good one RockyOne, stick it to them!!

They also forget that Jeeps rule the roost when it comes to off road capability and grunt too, we don't need air lockers Quadra Drive II, better than lockers is standard.

And power, Grand 3.0l CRD 160kw and 510nm of torque; Cherokee 2.8l 130kw and 460nm of torque, They don't need chipping.
FollowupID: 593139