Helping a fella out. Thread 61760

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:44
ThreadID: 61809 Views:2524 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Len rang me today. We had a bit of a chat about Off Road trailers to carry gear around (without the tent section).

Do any of you fellas have a mate in the industry up in Brisbane who'll build him a trailer for a fair price? He can't afford some of the ridiculous prices quoted.

Bit like me, he can't lift heavy stuff on and off the roof rack anymore.

So if can help a fellow Member out, I reckon he'd appreciate it.

Kim

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:40

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 23:40
Gday Kim,
Do you know what's a bugger about being a welder now?

Hahahaha....Nothing! ( and I got a few years left in me yet!)

For years ...tradies earnt JACK.
Now!!!! They are charging nearly half as much as the real hard workers!

Sorry mate...just had to throw that in......

Get him to draw something up and take it to whoever rather than asking them what they can make. It will make a lot of difference in price.If you need a hand with that ...email me
Id love to help, but a bit far away..

AnswerID: 326026

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:10

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:10
I am in Brisbane -South Side, I have made around 40 trailers,privately. I may be able to Help. Jusy finished one that I can E mail photos of to you but still ,price was around $1200 bucks without rego. trevor.webb@ausenco.com or mobile 0438 602533
AnswerID: 326049

Reply By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:08

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:08
Kim and members,

Again, thanks for the offerings. I will certainly be following up on some of the comments.

Nice to chat with Kim, and swap tales about travelling about the place. Just came back recently from camping for 6 days at Carnarvon Gorge and Girraween NP, and ready to go again - without the bloody roof racks though!

Cheers......Len
AnswerID: 326062

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:37
I solved the problem of the roof rack, just get the handbrake to do it. No problem.
I agree with you Kim getting that 2nd spare of the roof is a task and a half. I leave the damn thing up there now (used to put it up and down for every trip) We went for a camper trailer to make life easier after 40 years of camping and have just joined a couple of 4wd Clubs in Melb and damned if they don't do some trips where you can't take the camper. Ahhhhhh so frustrating.
Hope you get someone to help your mate with a trailer.

AnswerID: 326140