Submitted: Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:56
petermuller
G'day RodneyB
I have recently purchased my Olypus E520, I looked at the Nikon, Canon, Pentax and Olympus. They are all very good cameras and very similiar. I chose the Olympus as it was lighter and smaller, we do a lot of bushwalking and that was a deciding factor. I'm very happy with my Olympus. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the cameras
well known SLR cameras, get one that suits your needs. I still have heaps of learning to do which I am still enjoying. Have fun. Peter
Reply By: Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 06:20
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 06:20
I am currently looking at the canon 450d and a Sony about the same specs.
I hadn't factored in the Olympus, i will do some reading on that one.
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 15:00
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 15:00
Hi Peter, I also got an Olympus for my birthday extra lenses etc. Heaps to learn, heaps of features. I did have myself booked into a course that a few people on here recomended but due to work only went here and there then stopped going so need to follow up. The only issue that annoys me is when using the flash (builtin) at night specially outside but still does it inside as
well even in a
well lit room is the thing will send out a heap of small flashes first before it takes the pic then some times it will flash heaps then take the pic and the flash has already gone off ??? My mate has the next model up from me (think the same as yours) and his does the exact same thing. We have tried them in auto/manual/redeye on/off changed a few other things but they still both do it (played around with the camera's last saturday night. We were told because its an SLR and need to get a better flash that sits up on top and this will solve the issue as the standard built in flash is not good enough especially if extremely dark, it cant focus first ?? A few of my neighbours have fairly good snappy camera's (not slr's) and when they push the button to take the pic it sends out a red light for a quick second (ours dont have) then takes the picture no problems, these are with camara's with non removable lenses. Do you have this problem with yours ?? Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:20
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:20
Hi Petermuller
I looked at the Olympus and agree that it was much lighter and compared to my new Pentax K20D it was a significant difference. The handbrake and I walk but not significant distances so I didn't think the weight was really a worry. Having played with the camera for a few days,Image Could Not Be Found I wonder whether I will be able to do it justice. I took this photo on day one straight out of the box, just sitting on the couch reading the phone book size instruction manual but already I can see a huge difference in what I used to take with my old point and shoot digital. The 70-250mm lense is awesome and last night I started to photograph our slides (some go back 45 years) and the colour control and focus on the slides is brilliant (I have to say this to justify the cost). Had the camera store had the Olympus in stock I would have walked out the door with it last Saturday but I waited until Tuesday and he still didn't have one so I bought the Pentax. Don't think I will regret it.
I would be interested onyour comments in a month or so on whether you have mastered it. Good shooting
Cheers Rod