Maybe O/T - Darling River Levels

G'day all, there has been quite a few posts recently concerning travelling along the Darling River.
Questions have been asked about how much water is in the river at various places.
Here is a site that lists the river levels in the Barwon Darling system daily.
Look how many places have zero reading, or under a metre depth.

Barwon Darling River report daily

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:57

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 08:57
Don't worry . The Feds have just spent millions buying some farms. Thats sure to fix it all up. And kill a few outback towns but hey, you get that I suppose.
AnswerID: 326069

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:20

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:20
Footloose

Queensland takes 4,000 gltrs of water a year from the Murray Darling system mostly for cotton farms.

110 gltrs of water passes over the border into SA.

Some of the cotton farms in QLD use more water than the amount that passes over the border into SA.

If the Australian Government bought only one of those farms it would double the amount of water going into SA.

Cotton should not be grown in Australia. It uses extremely large amounts of water and pollutes the river systems. The outback towns could grow an alternative crop that was suited to the Australian environment.

There are towns in Australia that are dying because of the lack of water in the Murray Darling system. To leave things as they are would be to destroy the whole river system.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 593112

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:45

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 09:45
Kumunara, according to the manager of a farm adjacent to the first one the Feds bought, he doesn't see the initial purchase as providing as much water as was publicized...by a long way.
I'm in no position to speculate but I thought his comments from the coalface interesting.
FollowupID: 593116

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:14

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:14
Footy, do you think there is half a chance the adjacent farmers view is a touch biased?

FollowupID: 593119

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:52

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:52
Kumunara,

I wouldn't go as far as saying that Cotton shouldn't be grown in Aust. Plenty of dry land cotton farms in Australia that only rely on what falls from the sky.

Don't put all farmers under the same banner.
FollowupID: 593126

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 11:02

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 11:02
Dave, possibly. But I took him at face value, as being someone who knew what he was on about. His comments were public, and I couldn't see him being able to live in an area where the locals thought he was talking through his hat.
As I said, I'm not in a position to know the real story.
FollowupID: 593127

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:05

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:05
Hughesy

It is not just the water cotten uses. It is the chemicals - fertiliser that pollute rivers. Have you seen the colour of the Darling River?

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 593134

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:18

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:18
Kumunara,

Yeah mate I lived within 100km of it. Its always been brown unless the water is stagnant at which time it can turn any colour - just like lakes in capital city parks can.

There wouldn't be a single crop grown in aust (except the 100% organic ones) that don't use some sort of chemicals. Admittantly cotton has got a reputation for using more than most.

But again all farms aren't sitting beside creeks and rivers. Only a very small percentage of farming ground would actually be close enough for any of their run off to reach a major creek/river. With a shortage of water around, farmers hate any water leaving thier properties!!

I know where your coming from and agree in part with you, but be careful with very broad generalisations.

I know we don't like being painted with the "environment wrecking, arogant, littering, yobo 4wder" brush that a lot of the general public thing we are.
FollowupID: 593136

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:35

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:35
Was at Narrabri last weekend, and called into the Australian Cotton Centre. Was told that all the cotton farms in that district were now functioning as dry land farms (relying on rainfall) although infrastructure is there for crop flooding. The poor old Namoi River is as dry as, but after recent rains, many dams appeared mostly full, and the country side looked sensational. Learnt that 97% of OZ's cotton is exported as raw material. Very interesting place to visit if in the district.

Fred.
FollowupID: 593163

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:17
Rice is another crop that should not be grown in the driest contintent. Buying that very large farm is a step in the right direction.Heard from a fishing mate who was out on the Darling , fisheries advised them not to eat any cod because of pollution carried down in the floods last summer. Not good
FollowupID: 593213

Reply By: Honky - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:03

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:03
Pardon my stupidy but there has been nil or only a small allocation of water allowance in the Murray Darling basin anyway.
This would mean that doesn't matter how much water your licence allows you only get say nil or 10% whichever the water resouces says.
You are still required to pay a very large licence fee even if you do not get any water at all.
This is to pay for the infrastructure costs or as the terms local councils use " a availability charge".
If the federal government is exempt from this charge than it must be born by other users.
Also the feds may be exempt from reductions in allowance there this reduction must be met by other users.
Better get a bit of wood to bit down on.

Honky
AnswerID: 326081

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:21

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:21
Honky their was very good flows in the Queensland rivers last summer, a small portion made it into the darling.
FollowupID: 593215

Reply By: maf - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:47

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:47
Hi everyone, I am not a common contributor to this forum but
I couldn't let a few mis-truths go by.

As a Queensland Irrigator, I would like to point out the fact that Queensland only uses 5% of the total irrigation water used in Murray Darling basin. Most of the queensland water ends up in shallow lakes, such as the Menindee Lakes, and evaporates.
The recent purchase of water at Bourke will do little for the end of the Murray.
The lower reaches of the Murray are also a huge evaporation pan. Man made barages along with freshwater are trying to artificially maintain parts of the river as freshwater which alternated between salt and freshwater before white man.

The other point I would like to make is that most Irrigators on the floodplain are protected by levee banks, which stops floodwater flooding our crops, but also prevents water running off our paddocks entering the river. There are many causes of the dirty water. Some of it is natural and other things such as dryland farming, overgrazing and carp add to the condition of the river.

We have had some South Aust. politicians in our area recently, and they took home a different perspective to which they came with.

People are welcome to come up to the 'good country' and have a look for themselves, instead of beleiving all they read in the southern newspapers. Perhaps next years gathering at St George will be an opportunity to get some facts first hand.

Cheers mick.
AnswerID: 326153

Follow Up By: maf - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:53

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:53
The other point I forgot was that we are Irrigators and we choose to grow cotton. It provides the highest profit for the water used of all broadacre fieldcrops. Even if you could ban cotton growing (which you can't), we still have our water and would be forced to grow less profitable crops.
FollowupID: 593176

Reply By: JR - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 09:20

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 09:20
Get a bit sick of people trotting out this complete cr@# about what we should and shouldnt do in Australia
Shows they clearly dont understand the dynamics of water in the MDB. Irrigators arent sitting there with dams full of water

Theres been very little water in the catchment for the last 5 or 6 years. Any water that is extracted from the river CANNOT reenter the system so any colouring in the river isnt due to irrigators. here has been no irrigation of cotton on the Darling for some years so again they cant be the cause of the water quality problems in the Darling. These rivers regularly stop running history shows periods of years where there wasnt water availiable for stock

Generally broadacre irrigated crops operate on low security water, that is they dont get any till all other uses are accounted for. Including towns, the environment, high security users etc etc. They havent had any allocation for 5 years or more.
Sections of unregulated rivers (Qld and NW SW operated on water even below this level, they are high flow users, they can only take water once the river is in flood condition. Water authorities say when and how long they can take water for.

If these balances need alteration then so be it - make a plan to buy back the water. Problem is without water these farms (millions of hectares) are worth nearly nothing as are the towns and businesses they support.

The cost of this will be many Billions of dollars, and the cost in human terms would also be huge, question is can we afford it.
To say that a purchase of a few farms will solve the problem is simply wrong. As mentioned the politics of water in Australia is absurd, the lakes loose staggering amounts of water that could be saved except we cant interfere here due to the impacts the changes would make in these areas

Buying a property on an unregulated river can only contribute some HIGH FLOW water to the river system - keep in mind this water doesnt currently exist!!!!

Cotton and Rice dont use more water than many other crops, its just theres a huge area planted if thre is water availiable. The last few years have seen these industries nearly disappear and have used very little water.
Pastures for Dairy infact are the highest user per Ha, and return one of the lowest $$per Ml, Almonds use more water that cotton.

As a person living in Regional NSW find it amusing that people living in the most appaling display of human caused pollution to the environment- major capital cities, have a so much to say about what damage others to to their environment

Anyway - rant over, moral is comment on things you understand

JR
AnswerID: 326235

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:49

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:49
It is interesting the way this thread has developed into a discussion on the pros and cons of irrigation.
I initially posted this thread to indicate there was a link to see where the water was in the Darling River for those planning a trip along that area of Australia.
I find it also interesting for the attempts at justifying the practises of the irrigators.
'Only 5% of the total irrigation water of the Murray Darling Basin is used in Queensland. The rest of the water goes down to huge evaporation areas in other States'.
I have just looked on Google Earth at the size of the storage dams around various areas of the irrigation areas in the northern part of the catchment area, and many of the storage dams are many kilometres around the perimeter. Just use the measurement tool in Google Earth.
Given the topography of those areas, I doubt that the storage dams would be more than a few metres deep, which is roughly the same as the Menindee Lakes and other storage areas downstream.
I assume the hot sun that fades curtains in Queensland doesn't really evaporate any water in those storage dams in those northern areas.
I understand the implications on unemployment in the northern areas if these big farms are restricted, but there is a much bigger population down south with the same unemployment problems with the low flows and irreparable damage to soil quality with the salt.
Where I live, our rubbish dump is full of air conditioners, hot water services and washing machines that have been rusted out by salty water.
Not many people can afford to run out and get a new air conditioner and other appliances all in a short space of time.
Some environmental flow down the system is imperative to stop millions of people living in a wasteland downstream.
If any irrigators would like to invite the people going to St.George for the gathering, I am sure there would be a few interested.

AnswerID: 326246

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:01

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:01
Dave,

The for Gathering in St George, I was already canvassing a cotton irrigator to do a farm tour (I went to school with him) as well as a guided tour of the Beardmore Dam complex by a Sunwater employee.

I have not included it into the Gathering notes as yet as I am still trying to confirm it.

FollowupID: 593281

Follow Up By: maf - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:02
Hi Dave, The last time I looked up our farm on google earth, it was years behind. I suspect that the picture was taken around 2000-02 after there had been good flow.

As for the 5% thing, I was only trying to point out the small effect that Queensland has on the lower reaches of the Murray.

The Menindee Lakes currently have 710 gig (35%) of water stored, much of which came out of Queensland last Janruary. The maximum depth of the lakes when full is 4-5m. I don't have the actual figures handy, but i seem to recall the average depth when full was <1m. (I stand corrected if I'm wrong)

At 35% full, water evaporates at the rate of 1.6 gig a day (632 gig a year) Queensland irrigators have extracted and average of 490 gigs over a 13 year period. Compare this to NSW, which extracted 6225 gigs for the same period. If Queenslanders stopped extracting water completely in the Murray Darling, it is estimated that only an additional 24000 megs (1gig =1000 megs) would reach the lower Murray for the loss agricultural production of $600 mill a year to Queensland.

I'm not looking for an interstate fight, but I'm sick and tired of the hysteria from the south. Just google Queensland and Murray Darling and the figures are all there.

The drought is the cause of most of our problems and nobody has control over that.

cheers mick.
ps- happy to show interested people around.
FollowupID: 593291

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:32

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:32
Mick,

Where in QLD are you located??

FollowupID: 593293

Follow Up By: maf - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:15

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:15
Hi kev
between goondiwindi and St George on the McIntyre/ Barwon
cheers mick
FollowupID: 593301

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:23

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:23
Mick,

I am sure a few people would travel out to your place for a tour.

Did you get any of the rain the St George area got in the past few weeks??

FollowupID: 593303

Follow Up By: maf - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:21

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:21
Yes we got 38mm. We have had a good run since last november and the crops are looking good.
We are 120km from St George and if a few people are keen we can sort something out. cheers mick.
FollowupID: 593330

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:03

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:03
Mick,

There is SFA cotton going in this year by the looks of it around St George as there is watered grain crops where cotton is usually grown.
From what I heard last weekend is that they (the farmers) needed to have an income so planted winter crops just to get by. There wil be very minimal cotton grom there this season.

I am sure there will be a few members who will want to visit your property next year.

FollowupID: 593497

Reply By: JR - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:11

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:11
Menindee lakes is a terrible waste of water but in a critical location Of the Four or five lakes would be hundreds of thousands of Acres of water when full. When I lived there, a huge portion of the water wa held in there expressly for SA supply. I would be very suprised if any of the lakes were more than 2 m deep unless full.
When the main lakes dried up in 2000, there was a massive amount of water which was unrecoverable - Gigalitres. National Parks - which manages the area around the lakes wouldnt allow earthworks to drain this remaining water.
There are also 2 lakes joined with a thin creek, if a regulator was built here one lake could be kept deep and the other drained saving massive amounts of water in evaporative losses, cost in 1999 was around 7 million, Again NPWS wouldnt allow it. something like 30000 Ml were allowed to evaporate

These lakes are under the combined control of South Australia at some heights reverts back to NSW once it reaches a cerrtain depth, and the land is managed by NPWS - what hope is there for reasoned management?

In terms of water supply for SA the Darling is considered by State and Fedral departments as unregulated and variable. Most of the water is high flow and therefore cannot be controlled, the bulk of secure water will always have to come via the Murray

JR

By the way the river levels site is a nice find and surely useful for travellers
AnswerID: 326367

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 12:33

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 12:33
Your right about the Menindee lakes and the National Parks JR.
At the moment, only Weatherall and Pamarmaroo have water in them, and according to the river level site, Pamarmaroo is overfull and Weatherall is close to full.
Pamarmaroo is about 5 - 6 metres at the deepest points if I remember right. Weatherall is a bit different because that incorporates the River too.
I think they are anticipating some water from the Paroo soon,(maybe a month or so, the water takes 2 months to get to Menindee from Bourke). So, they have released water out of Pamarmaroo through the Block Dam to give the river fresh flow.
There is not enough water available to open the regulator to get water into Lake Menindee.

FollowupID: 593490