tyre pressure recommendation - outback way

Submitted: Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 11:36
ThreadID: 61825 Views:10455 Replies:15 FollowUps:26
An interesting recommendation here outback way website

Quote "Along rough, rocky or corrugated sections of the Outback Way try to maintain tyres at or near
highway pressure so as to keep the tyre walls firm-hard and less susceptible to puncturing by rocks,
sticks and sharp objects."

Comments?

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:11

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:11
Supporting the local tyre sellers?
AnswerID: 326097

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:29

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:29
LOL!!
FollowupID: 593132

Reply By: dionbremner - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:35

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 12:35
We've just done a trip through the Simpson, Ghan to Alice etc and we found that there are a great variety of opinions out there.

Some say keep them tight (one guy recommended 40psi) on stones to protect the firewall.

Others say run them soft to keep the tyre flexible over the stones.

We went with softer, even down to 20psi on stoney sections (because I forgot to put them up at one stage) and didn't have any problems. But I'm sure there are others who keep them tighter and have no problems.

Dion
My Camp Gear
AnswerID: 326104

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:09

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 13:09
This is one of these stories that will get you a thousand different answers. I always prefer lower tyre pressures, the old balloon trick.
Half inflate a party balloon, then pinch it, it will not burst. Now inflate a balloon fully and try the same and it will burst.
The same works with car tyre pressures. A soft tyre will flex over the rough surface, a full pressure tyre will have no give and you will suffer tyre damage. Other so called experts will not agree, but it was always worked for me out bush.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 326112

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:05

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:05
Not really that accurate an analogy though is it?
FollowupID: 593144

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:09

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:09
sounds perfectly apt to me

FollowupID: 593170

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:47

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:47
Accuracy is lost as the balloon does not have to support any loads.

You can lower your tyres to SFA psi and they will flex much better but as a result will increase the chances of sidewall punctures dramatically. Tread area is thicker than sidewall area. Balloon does not have this.

Balloon does not contain plies. Too little pressure and therefore increased flex will also damage your tyre from heat buildup and ply seperation.

It is not accurate.
FollowupID: 593268

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:13

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:13
hey Off-track you're not a mate of Go_Offroad are you?

FollowupID: 593271

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:21

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:21
What are you suggesting?
FollowupID: 593275

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:22

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:22
I dunno maybe a weekend away or something

FollowupID: 593276

Reply By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:01

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:01
This came up about a month ago.

I run LC80 and now LC100 with BFG AT at 40-42 psi on highway....both tar and dirt. Many thousands of clicks on unsealed. 3rd set. Nil punctures.

Tread section is thick, more plies. Sidewalls are thin, less plies.

Works for me.
AnswerID: 326119

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 15:21

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 15:21
Agreed. I run BFG A/T also at 40 psi... not one puncture, including
Ood, Tanami & GRR. Also run 50 psi in sprayrig Hilux, no tyres destroyed in 100% offroad work. At 40psi or less I threw tyres away every week. That balloon thing is a furphy IMHO....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 593155

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:39
Hi tyre pressures? Your asking for trouble. Seems like luck has been on your side . To avoid fractures in the tyre you should run low pressures BUT! not to low where the bulge is to wide. The tyre will then flex over any gibbers etc.
FollowupID: 593220

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:09

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:09
Over the last 8 years, I have run Bridgestone A/T Duelers at 42 psi, I average 60000 km per set, 60 % of my driving is on corrugated dirt roads, with 7 fleet cars over 8 years and 14 sets of tyres doing 800000 km without a problem, I would say that higher pressures are not a problem.

That,s a huge amount of good luck hey.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 593251

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:29

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:29
Yes, you are correct. That is a huge amount of luck.

I use BFG All TerrainT/A 's on both home vehicles and on 3 of the work trucks (79 series ) carrying 3.2 ton all up, they have thicker side walls 3ply. Nice and strong, good for carrying extra weight good tread pattern.
I wouldn't even use 42 psi on the black stuff never mind on the dirt. Not much tread on the road with 42 psi. Think about the tread pattern you leave with 42psi, then think about the tread pattern you leave with 36psi.
You might get longer life of the tyre but I would prefer to spend an extra $ a little more often on tyres and keep the tread on the road.
This is a subject that has so many different opionions and I suppose what works for you ! As is what works for me ! This is not a subject that will ever win. But when your out on the Gibba plains and crawling through steep an rocky terrain I know what tyre pressures I wouldn't use.
FollowupID: 593255

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:37

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:37
Briar, your last sentence is where I would drop my tyre pressures. But not on a road, whether it's sealed or unsealed.
FollowupID: 593267

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:56

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:56
There will always be two opinions on this pressure thing. There is little point in telling me that high pressure will give me trouble...
it has been my salvation !!!!. After listening to all the "lower your pressure" theorists & doing just that, I destroyed new tyre after new tyre. Finally a Tyre Service operator said put 50 psi in, &
like magic , my problems ceased. Not one tyre destroyed & minimal
punctures. I operate from 1.5 ton load to .5 ton load. 100%
offroad, 10 metre boom spray rig on 10,5 by 31 on 8" rims. 2.8
Hilux with upgraded springs. 15 kph, 2nd low range. I would run
splits rags except traction on green grass is poor & bogging
frequent. Another problem with low pressure was that if I had to travel more than 50k on the blacktop tyres blew one after the other. Why? because of heat buildup in previous bruising sites.
You could feel the heat in small areas of the walls where stones
etc had caused damage.
I have read all the so called scientific theories espoused on this
forum about balloons, soft tyres rolling over sharp rocks, lower
pressure giving better traction etc & I dont subscribe to any of
them. Sand & Mud excepted. If your experience says lower is
the way, thats fine, my experience favours high. If you have no
experience the decision is yours to make. There is obviously no
answer that is right for all conditions.........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 593289

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:11

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 14:11
Used to do it, keep the tyre pressures up.
Now drop the tyre pressures about 5 to 10 psi for the dirt.

The milk doesn't turn to cream as quick on the corrugations, and the tins of beer don't rub through as quick either :o)
So it must be better for me too.
AnswerID: 326121

Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:22

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:22
Well Lex, after many years of driving on sharp rocks (we will leave the gidgee stakes out of this and stick to sharp rocks) I have found lowering tyre pressures reducers punctures quite a lot.

The fitter would pump the things to 50psi+ and I would promptly let them down to 35psi and that's having a 1t hiab in the back and carrying loads.

I used to get up him about the pressure because my back didn't like it at all.

Then I reminded him that our utes wear the tires to the wire with very few punctures, the other utes they would have to trough the tyres out when they were 70% worn as they would constantly puncture.

Before people get up me about running around on bald tyres these vehicles are off-road only.

22 cents worth (inflation)
AnswerID: 326136

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:32

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:32
Gidday Mate

Agree with you 100%

Kim
FollowupID: 593160

Reply By: Member - Porl - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:32

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:32
I want Willem's opinion on this, mind you he might inflate his new tyres to zero and by the look of the photos there may be no difference ...
AnswerID: 326139

Reply By: Mike - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:38

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:38
In my opinion this letting air out of your tyres as soon as you get on rough roads is a bit over done!........I have just finished a trip,7000kms to Mount Augustus, Millstream, Karijini, (on some real bone shaking roads) with My LC100 series and off road van, ran the tyres on both the LC and Van at 40psi all the time, just adjusted my speed to suit the road, no problems..
AnswerID: 326141

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:23

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:23
You've hit the nail on the head Mike, the speed on the road is far more important than the tyre pressure, although tyre pressure does play a part too

FollowupID: 593171

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:14

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:14
I agree Mike the compulsion these days to reduce tyre pressures then re inflate the moment the road improves is a bit over done but do you concede just maybe the ride could have been a little less bone shaking if you had let your tyres down 10 psi & driven at the same speed ???
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 593197

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:16

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:16
Craig 10psi!!!!!!!!!!! No way. 18 is as far as I let a tyre down unless you are in a Suzuki then maybee 8-10. 10psi is a bit radical. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 593272

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:41

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:41
Sorry Tony I should have been a little more specific saying 'let your tyres down BY 10 psi' (30) as apposed to 'let your tyres down TO 10 psi' :-)
25 to 28 is our normal outback pressure.
8 psi is as low as we go but only at very slow speeds to gain flotation over metre+ deep snow.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 593579

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:58

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 16:58
I have done all those roads without punctures towing the van.
Have always reduced tyre pressures to reduce stress on the shocks and the vehicle and van. Also found that in steep rocky terrain it helps the tyres to grip as well. So works for me.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 326144

Reply By: tazbaz - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:23

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 17:23
Having read the replies to this very interesting topic, I am totally confused - I don't know what to do now!
AnswerID: 326147

Reply By: notsogreynomads - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 18:30

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 18:30
Million dollar question, speed and tyre pressures go hand in hand, have a yarn to Neville at Over The Range tyres & repairs next to the Imintji roadhouse on the GRR he sees a few busted up tyres in the season and will probably never see you again to sell you another one. If you want to preserve yourself, tyres, your vehicle and the road, then lower your tyre pressures 8-12 psi AND your speed. Hard tyre pressures will not conform to the shape of on road obstacles as well as reduced ones. IE rocks can be punched through the tyres tread rendering them unfixable, logic behind this is the tyres steel belts are unable to flex if the pressures and speed are too great, where they are more flexible if pressures are lessened and less likely to be penetrated. Happy trails.
AnswerID: 326157

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 19:27

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 19:27
Well that's a convincing response.
FollowupID: 593189

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 19:51

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 19:51
I am one for the reduced pressures over the stoney stuff but you MUST reduce the speed as well or risk sidewall damage through heat buildup.

Why people have to belt along at 80 to 100 km/h all the time on outback roads beats me!

Muddy

AnswerID: 326180

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:25

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:25
"Why people have to belt along at 80 to 100 km/h all the time on outback roads beats me!'
Says he with a Rig Pic hitting water way too fast ;-) Pot calling kettle, come in kettle.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 593198

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:35

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:35
Okay ya got me there - that was a bit of a set up!!!

Muddy
FollowupID: 593201

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:21

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:21
the things we do for a pic doesnt bely what we do the rest of the time hehehehe

FollowupID: 593274

Reply By: Splits - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:44
That suggestion by Outback Way may not be as bad as it sounds. It says "at or near highway pressures'. It does not say don't reduce them.

I think the whole thing revolves around what you are bringing them down from. Are you at factory pressures to start with or are you way above them?

I just said in thread 61831 that I have had good results both on and off road with factory pressures in stock size tyres. That is 25 psi front at all times and 25 to 30 rear depending on load.

I do not reduce them below those pressures on Outback roads but I do reduce speed considerably. If I was to drop them, I doubt if I could do it by any more than two to three PSI without getting too low. If I did do that I would say I would still fall into the "at or near highway pressures" category.

AnswerID: 326193

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 23:04

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 23:04
really, this is just pretty basic physics, Have a look at what actually happens to tyres when you let the pressure down, not what you think happens. It has almost nothing to do with bulging sidewalls. Sit your vehicle on level hard (it has to be hard, so you can see what happens) road with the tyres at high pressure. Note the length of the footprint of the tyre, that is , the actual area in contact with the road. There isn't really much contact are, so all that weight is concentrated onto a small area resulting in a great deal of pressure anywhere on that footprint. Now let the tyres down to 25 or less. You will find that you get a much bigger footprint. This means that the pressure on any given impact point is much less so the chances of the object being driven through the tyre are much reduced. Especially note the direction of the increase in footprint. It isn't gained by the tyre bulging sideways very much, it is gained by a big increase in the length of the tyre running along the ground. Increased danger of staking through the sidewalls by reducing pressure is very minimal while the reduction of the chances of staking as a result of reducing impact pressure across the whole footprint is considerable. Lets face it, punctures are a lottery, so you play the numbers. While sidestaking is always a possibility, the chances of a puncture directly through the tread are much greater. You can always be unlucky, but the odds favour reducing pressure.
Remember those skinny old landrover tyres that could still get vehicles over terrain that defeated fat tyres? Those skinny tyres on low pressure had a much longer footprint, hence less pressure on the ground. Same principle. I don't think it has much to do with increased flex at lower pressures, it's a question of the amount of pressure on a given point.
As everyone notes, the downside of course is that lower pressure tyres must be driven more slowly. This isn't, in the main, because of heat build up from the sideways flexing of the walls of the tyre, most of the heat build up is from the longitudinal flexing resulting from the big flat area on the bottom of the tyre as it rotates.
AnswerID: 326204

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:01

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:01
Where talking about a dirt/gravel road here, not a rocky infested track. Theres not too many gravel roads around that will puncture the tread of a decent off road tyre.

When there are decent sized/shaped rocks then you drive accordingly (ie; reduce speed) and lower tyre pressure. In that order of priority.
FollowupID: 593270

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:55

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:55
The original post said ""Along rough, rocky or corrugated sections of the Outback Way."
On a simple dirt/gravel road, I agree with you.
It is worth looking at Jol Flemings site on this (you will find it by Googling). Also check his credentials to offer an opinion on this. I can't think of anyone better qualified on the subject. He has photos showing the different length footprint of tyres at different pressures. Radial ply tyres are made to flex sideways a bit but the real flex when you lower pressure occurs lengthways, not out to the side.
FollowupID: 593314

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:36

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:36
I read through his tyre tips but I have to say I found it a bit short on info and conclusive testing.

The flex bit is obviously true, but where is the correlating data to support the need for decreased pressure on dirt roads?
FollowupID: 593455

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 21:14
I don't follow you. Are we talking about straightforward dirt roads or roads where the surface (sharp rocks , stakes etc) gives an increased chance of tyre penetration? I am talking about the latter however it also applies to surfaces such as sand where decreasing the pressure on the vehicle/surface contact point is desirable because it gives more traction(at low speeds.)
What more correlating data are you looking for? In terms of distance travelled/ experience on these sorts of roads, it is difficult to think of anyone more qualified than Jol Fleming.
The actual physics is also compelling. "Sharpness" afterall is merely pressure. The sharper the point, the more the weight is concentrated onto a small area, resulting in a greater chance of penetration. That is all "sharpness" is. As the footprint gets bigger, the weight is distributed over a larger area and therefore the pressure on any given point is reduced and therefore the chances of penetration are lowered. Doesn't mean it can't happen, just that the odds against it are better.
FollowupID: 593589

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:20

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:20
Lex M,

As you can see from the replies so far this is a subject you will not get a consistent opinion on so it's one you're going to have to work out for yourself.

I made my mind up by doing a couple of tests. Get yourself a nice sharp stake or a sharp rock, they're the ones that penetrate sidewalls and remember that when pressures are down the sidewall is very exposed and, when it does come in contact with an object will be supporting a fair percentage of say a 2 tonne vehicle.

Get yourself a balloon, put 20 psi of air in it place it over your sharp object put a great deal of weight on it and see what happens. The test that Coopers do is flawed and does not replicate the true situation.

Then get yourself a case and run your fingers on either side of the roll near where the tread ends and feel how thick it is. Remember when you air down that roll is exposed. There's no tread or steel belt to help against penetration.

You get penetration there and your tyre is cactus it is illegal to repair in that area.

So you've just blown a $300 tyre and it's going to cost much more than that to replace in the outback, I know.

Talk to the locals and find out what the pressure are that they run. Also talk to the tyre guys in those outback towns and get their views.

Newman Tyres, Newman would be a good one to start with they are in the middle of stone country and service all of the mine vehicles who are operating in some of the harshest country in Australia.

I did all of these things because I got sick of following the norm and having to replace tyres. I use to air down, not any more and haven't had a puncture since.

The advice provided by that website is sound as is the advice given by Steve from Top End Tours. He provides tour services and he doesn't want to be replacing tyres all of the time, and it has nothing to do with luck.

AnswerID: 326263