Bware (Tweed Valley)
In light of a recent post about 'bogans' at campgrounds, I thought this
news item might be of interest.
Hope all your
camping days are full of peace and non-violence :-))
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:08
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:08
Bware
shovels @ 10 paces eh?
some people must find it hard to unwind and forget 'bout their probs obviously.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:27
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:27
Yes Mark,
Maybe the lack of peace and quiet is what they were fighting about LOL. I like that saying that goes 'fighting for peace is like f**king for virginity'
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:35
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:35
Bware
What disturbed me about that previous post you mention, was the ease with which some people trampled on others opinions.
We as a free society have forgotten that with that freedom of speech, thought and actions comes the responsibility of respect of others opinions, thoughts and actions, for without that respect we become a rabble, rather than a civilised society, and personal name calling is the first step in that lack of respect for each other, that tends to escalate a minor despute into something much worse.
I think it was Reginald Ansett that once said "the only tool in life we posses is attitude, we cannot change what is happening around us, other than how we react to it"
It is a cop-out to say "
well, he/she started it, so I continued it" that attitude makes us no better that the other.
IMHO.
Colin.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:41
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:41
Colin, I couldn't agree more
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:51
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:51
Makes good sense to me Colin.
It is a bit average when you just offer an opinion, or idea, that you get called names. Can't we diagree without the insults?
Anyway, forums can be like that at times.
Reply By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:37
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:37
Let me guess, one of the group would not turn the radio down.
That pis#es me off when
camping, I go there to get away from all of that and you hear someone with the music blaring. Never forget the time we were
camping a Boloumba
Creek Area 3 I think it was, at Kenilworth..Secluded site area, but not far from you was Charlie Moorland area.. Younguns over at Charlie had the music so loud that we could hear it where we were. Mark went over twice politely for them to turn it down, "nope.. we are
camping and we will do what we want".It was loud and getting to us real bad, I had to imagine what the other campers directly around them where going through!
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:55
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:55
Hi Jo,
Yep, know where you are coming from. The few times I've tried asking politely I have been reciprocated with attitude. These days I pack up and move somewhere else.
Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:01
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:01
I just read the original thread about this..
my reply that I just posted on there..
Now I would definately want to leave to not put up with their crap.. but the stubborn b!tch in me wouldn't let me leave... "nah, not going anywhere, they are not going to come in here and bully me and push me out! not going to let them win!"
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:59
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:59
I agree Miss Jo, it's hard, sometimes, to work out why people go
camping.
In one of the few times we went to a caravan
park it was to meet up with some friends. They had other people with them.
During the afternoon, when we went over to join them for nibblies and drinks, two other vans near us were trying to outdo each other with their music. Another couple were having a blue.
Just as I thought we were all ready to settle in and solve the world's problems our friend's travelling companions decided it was time to go in to their van to watch My Restaurant Rules !!!
Thank God for the isolation of the bush.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:17
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:17
GB, that's classic! Thanks for sharing that story.
Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:55
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:55
Camping and just getting in the car iand driving is my stress relief. It is the only thing that keeps me sane. At present, all I want to do is get in the 4by and head west or north west and never cpme back! I really struggle living in the suburbs, I hate it with a passion, but while Mark is still sick, living out of the suburbs and being too far away from the hospital is not an option.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:43
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:43
Jo,
I am still looking for a passenger to
the Pyrenees LOL
Leaving on
Melbourne cup day ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:34
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:34
Do it Jo, as the man says COME ON DOWN!
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:41
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:41
She won't do it Bonz..................Now that she is a Missan girl LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:36
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:36
I would totally love to..but will have to see bout work and if there will be any cash there,
Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:38
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:38
Oh and Kev...
That is Miss (Jo) An to you!
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:26
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:26
Weeeeeeell Missy it is SIR KEV to you hahaha
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: puttputt - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:33
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 21:33
You get 2 types of campers,
1st type out for peace and tranquality.
2nd type with hotted up V8 ute that can do burn outs, stacks and stacks of beer, BOOOMBOX, and a Bunnings GMC 2 stroke genny to power it, and a $50 Kmart tent in case they pass out at sunrise.
Unfortunately the two don't go together............
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:13
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 22:13
puttputt,
There may be a little bit of
grey area inbetween those two types but essentially I think you are right.
By the way, I think 'tranquality' is a cool new word :-)))
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:46
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:46
I think there is a fair bit of
grey area between those two.
Ive been guilty of of most of the above. Nothing wrong with any it of it in the right place and time.
It all about respect.......
People go
camping for different reasons.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:52
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:52
As has been said not everyone goes
camping to get away from it all, some go to catch up with mates, have a few beers, party on, fang around on dirt bikes, jet ski etc. Whilst the latter group should obviouslly respect the right and comfort of others, if you really want to "get away from it all" then a different choice of
camping location may be the only way. one can't expect to get away from it all at a polular scenic location that is going to attract other people.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:11
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:11
Well said Pat. Especially if the scenic popular location attracts others that are prepared to swing a shovel at people they don't like.
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:55
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 07:55
Bware
Sorry mate, I had no idea that the previous fude would continue here.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:24
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:24
No need to apologise Colin, you were only making an observation and I agreed with you.
Besides, we're all grown-ups here aren't we? LOL