Submitted: Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 00:48
unko
my old man just went to the
Gawler Rangers for a couple of days. Here's the dilemma we own a hilux with a canopy and it wasn't full so he couldn't stuff it between stuff. Ok it didn't fit in the draws BTW your meant to keep them upright. it wouldn't fit where the
water containers are no that safe in the foot
well. all he had was a swag the fridge and a bag of personal gear and some
water.
I was just wondering where u store your gas bottle/s safely
Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 02:33
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 02:33
I usually store
mine in a plastic milk crate and occy strap it the head board or anything substantial.
Keeps it upright and secure.
Dennis
Follow Up By: unko - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:20
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 11:20
thats a good idea going tri this out next time we go out
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 05:06
Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 05:06
Dennis
That's the way we do it
Everything is square, and can be tied down
Easy as !
Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 06:10
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 06:10
Unko. Ive got one on the back porch under the barbie. Ive got one in the shed under
the bench and I have got two in my camper where I made the effort to make a vented compartment for them. Just wondered why you want to know where I store my gas bottles safely ;-). Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: sweetwill - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:23
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:23
tony b.
your not right in the head mate ,IM still lauging cheers bill
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:11
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:11
Bill. Funny my wife says that as
well. But I answered the question didnt I? Sorry unko I have a sick sense of humor. Cheers Tony.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 08:34
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 08:34
What about getting a gas bottle bracket from a caravan place and fixing it into the tray area of the Hilux. We did this in our work van.
Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 08:37
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 08:37
I made a bracket and mounted it on the roof rake when I don't take the roof rake the gas bottle is on my camper have a look at my pics
Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 21:25
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 21:25
Same, on rack when solo ( see pic) if not on camper bracket
Reply By: ajd - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 09:12
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 09:12
This topic has been done to death.
Try using the search functions.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:38
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 10:38
Ive tried heaps of things over the years, but I found the best method to be......
1. You need a good supply of cats. (maybe contact Willem)
2. Once dead, dry, salt and stretch thier guts into long stands and let cure.
( save their skins as they make really good hats)
3. platt the cat gut into long lengths of strong pliable rope.
4. Use the rope to secure your gas bottle in the back of the ute.
if you have an issue with method one...try rope.
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff the chef (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 19:29
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 19:29
gday hairy,
got the same problem. Going to Fraser Island next month with the van. Got 2 bottles on the van,and taking 3 more in the back of the ute. How many cats i need?
thanks geoff
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:09
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:09
You never can take too much cat gut.
But if Willem has been in the neigbourhood and they are getting scarce.......you could always let the Mrs. sit in the back and hang on to them. The bottles dont get knocked around and the Mrs. gets to go...Win, Win I reckon, the Mrs and the Bottles are happy.