Great Central Road Feedback

G'day all!!
In the process of planning a trip across southern Aus to Perth, and back up to Uluru across the Great Central Way. Planning to do the trip in January, may sound stupid but its the only time we can go. Aside from the heat and the obvious precautions needed for both us and our rig, any suggestions about doing this trip in January? Much appreciated, Jason and crew.

Reply By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:58

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:58
Take a bible!!!

tessa
AnswerID: 326260

Reply By: Nav 8 - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:04

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:04
I used to live in Kalgoorlie and have travelled through that road a few times. Yes it will be a hot trip through there at that time of year but it is mostly a formed gravel road these days. As long as you have a vehicle in good mechanical condition, take plenty of water etc etc, you should have no trouble. The only hazard you may encounter at that time of year is a rain bearing depression from a northern cyclone that can close the road, however you will have prior warning of that.You will also require permits to travel that road, check this site for what is required. The Laverton police do random checks on permits on that road from time to time.
Regards,,,Nav.
AnswerID: 326267

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:38

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:38
G'dday Nav 8

your post quote "The Laverton police do random checks on permits on that road from time to time. "......is that a statement of fact?

my understanding is that permits are absoutley nothing whatsoever to do with police. Yes, I can well be wrong but I would be interested in hearing that is definately a fact

for the record I have travelled that road without a permit and will continue to do so.....for christ's sake we are travelling along a public funded road from A to B and at the worst pulling over for a camp o/night......its about time some commonsense prevailed with these stupid bloody permits
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 593305

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:28

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:28
This mob I was involved with didn't worry about permits,

FollowupID: 593310

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:46

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:46
Mate,,I am with you 100% with regard to permits, it offends me to have to get a permit to travel, or see any part of our country. It is also a condition of the permit that you don`t venture X metres from the road verge. To answer your question with regard to the Police checking permits. I was once asked at Docker river to produce my permit by the person in charge of the community. I have never been personally stopped by police to show my permit but have been told by police that they do check. Whether its a police matter or not I do not know but the fact is that the law says we have to have a permit and that being the case I would think it would be a police matter. When we lived in Kalgoorlie my wife worked for the Education department that administered the schools out there, they even had to have a yearly permit to travel out there. Also no travel was allowed on any roads out there during tribal lore, so there you go it`s not our country after all. I think all these areas that require permits are gazetted as private Aboriginal land. The above is just my understanding of how it is so don`t take this as gospel.
Regards,,,Nav.
FollowupID: 593313

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:58
Thanks Nav 8....

I think a significant number of members have an issue with these permits but maybe choose not to start a brawl on here over it....WELL my next comment will probably start one!

These damn communities take all from the "other Australian" communities and yet that same other community needs permits to go and assist and provide services to the said community.....that is if you want to come and give us everything we demand and expect from you will require our permission to do so..........!

If the vast majority of travellers simply choose a policy of public non compliance (public disobedience) and NEVER applied for permits I wonder what would really happen?...what are they going to do Set up Road Blocks?...prosecute evey traveller? what a waste of resources

I reckon the system would simply overload, implode and become redundant............

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 593315

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:05

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:05
Its not hard to do the right thing. Go on line and book a permit, costs nothing and takes very little time. Rules are rules, can not choose the ones we want or what would the world come to. Cheers Tony :-)
FollowupID: 593347

Follow Up By: Old Dave - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 19:17
Bungarra - Yes totally agree with you.

Isn't it time we were one land one people, surely we can still respect each others beliefs without having to have bits of paper to travel the land. We all pay taxes for the roads we travel.

And why should we have to pay to visit the likes of Standley Chasm when its our taxes that maintain the road access. "The Community" charge the fee to access the Chasm now do the community still get Government handouts?

FollowupID: 593369

Reply By: Member - Mark - Exmouth WA - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:34

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:34
Jason,
travelled the Great Central via the Gunbarrell and the Heather Highways, Great Central is a well formed road on the WA side, a bit ordinary on the NT side, although the grader was half way between Docker River and the Olgas, probably would not help you doing it in January.

Reference permits I had them but nobody checked for them in the areas I was suppose to have them. Permits are free not like on the Canning Stock Route where you pay some 4WD mob in Victoria, which I dont understand, would like to know what they do with the money.

AnswerID: 326284

Reply By: jrfhunt - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:03

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:03
Mark, Nav 8, thanks for that. We'll definitely be keeping an eye on weather progressions when the time comes around. Cheerio.
AnswerID: 326410