Nissan foibles
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 12:58
Willem
I was talking this traveller during the week who has a 2008 Model 3 litre Nissan as was remarking an the scratch he had along the side of the bus at just 4 months of age
I also remarked that hopefully the saga of the 3 litre Renault/Nissan engine has been seen to by now. He had never heard of the 2000/ 2001 model problems.
Nevertheless he said that he had left the Dark Side after owning a LC 60 series for 25 years. It had rusted out on him. He had bought the Nissan at a Good Price through a Wholesaler and was happy with the vehicle and its great power.
BUT!!! he told me, that 2 months after buying the Nissan the Turbo cut out on a
hill and with a crippled engine, barely made it up the
hill towing his Pop Top.
Nissan claimed that it was a glitch in the computer system and that all was
well and it shouldn't happen again. The fella reckoned he would give it back should the same problem occur again. I said Good Luck!!
Hope I haven't spoiled his holiday.....LOL
Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:49
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 13:49
Hi Willem, You might of upset a lot of potential holiday travellers with 3ltr motors saying things like that!!....lol.
My view is you can put the whole bloody lot of them back in the scrap bin, bar the mitsubishi 3.2 ltr.
Will now run for cover, lol.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:39
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:39
He He He Ha Ha Ha I must be Just Plain Lucky, it didnt miss a beat
going up the
Toowoomba Range Two Weeks ago, and it hasnt gave
any trouble Towing the Van up Teewah Beach, as I said I must be
Just Plain Lucky.
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:10
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 14:10
I think that unless people visit 4WD forums like this or the others that are around they wouldn't be aware of any problems until it's too late, and I don't think Nissan would say anything would they? ;)
Rob
Follow Up By: Bagwon - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:38
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 15:38
Jeeps certainly not owning up to their problems from what i seen on the idiot box the other night.
Reply By: furph - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:33
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:33
A very predictable reply from Nissan.
"Computor glitch" eh. Dont Nissan know that its 2008 and those "glitch's" should have been ironed out by 2002?
I saw one of those unfortunate owners towing a loaded horse float up the Moombie range couple of years ago. He stopped in a cloud of black smoke and when I asked could I be of any help he said "no, mate, it does it from time to time. Just let her cool off abit and she'll be right".
A good friend of
mine had one, 2003, 70000km, 1 month out of warranty, went bang at 90kph.
Three months later he was hit with a bill for $2500 for installation of a replacement recon. motor.
The next day it was traded on a Holden Rodeo. (wont comment on that!)
With such a strong reputation, Nissan should be seriously looking at its future as a supplier of long term durable vehicles, especially for remote rural users.
But then again, perhaps they just dont care.
furph
Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:47
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:47
I was told the other day that this is the last Nissan patrol we will see and once the current model has run its race they will be deleating the patrol rather than upgrading it due to sales being not enough to justify a revamp.
just what i was told.
GN
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:57
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:57
G N
If that was true I would say Nissan have only themselves to blame.
But that is ignoring the Middle East market as
well as Europe and the USA, the former a strong market for Nissan, I think that it will more than likely come in a V6 variant, before it would dissapear for good.
just MHO.
Cheers, Colin.
Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 20:39
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 20:39
Evening All,
Yesterday i was at my mates workshop talking to one of his customers as he said he had an 03 3.0 patrol, it went bang 2 weeks ago, after a bit more poking he had diesel gassed it 4 weeks before it popped. i told him about the history of these things and his jaw nearly hit the floor, he had never ever heard of any of these problems. hat was even worse he had a 2000 4.2 TD before that one and had sold it because he was offered good dollars for it,so sold it and got this one cheap. poor bloke was nearly on the floor when i left ( i told him what it was going to cost him to replace the grenade! ) hehe Paul
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 20:49
Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 20:49
Hi Willem,
I don't think I would be bold enough to buy this latest c/rail 3lt but I do know someone who has. The fuel consumption from this thing is unbelievable (not in a good way either). Up to 24 lt per 100km towing their camper (1.7T) is just outrageous in my opinion ad I am used to huge fuel figures with my setups. Not a single reason to risk it I reckon. Hence my stocks of the trusty/predictable 4.2's. The green one has just been retired to town duties after a tough life out on the road with me. I have no doubt it will serve the missus
well for many a year running around town with the odd 4wd weekend away. My new (2nd hand) Gold one has clocked up 5 thou in the 3 weeks I have had it. All of them loaded to the eyeballs and still returning 13.5lt per 100km.
Not as much kick in the pants when you bury the right boot from this new one compared to my green one but still not bad.
Say hello to Jude and take care.
Regards Trevor.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 07:03
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 07:03
Gee , I could only manage to consume 19lt /100km towing with my 4800 petrol patrol (manual).
I will have to try harder
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 08:21
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 08:21
LOL!! You should try harder Robin that's truly grandpa figures from a 4.8.
Worst consumption I ever got was trying to follow
Ross H (it's all his fault) back from Innaminka this year. Towing the van with my sick green GU (lack of torque problem) and chasing
Ross at a $1.30ish Possibly more hehehe we consumed 22/23 lt per 100km.
I know I know, I am now waiting for the internet police to come and serve me my just deserves.
Cheers Trevor.