Server Error

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 23:33
ThreadID: 61866 Views:2794 Replies:8 FollowUps:21
Hi Gang
Thanks for your patience with the Errors tonight. Sorry I have not been able to help.

I have checked what I can.
David is away for the weekend - I have sent messages and we will restore things as soon as possible.

I hear a few comments re ExplorOz being the only website that ever plays up.
Well it is not, but it is more noticable when it does because it is so busy 24 hours a day
The main reason for some errors is that most other websites are not as LIVE and INTERACTIVE and CONTINUALLY IMPROVED AND UPDATED as this site obviously is.

If the site is static - nothing can change. We also do allow readers to add content continuously.
With the millions of possible coding combinations - maybe (as happened once before in July) somebody has accidentally added a bug - possibly to the blog system but maybe to some other interactive content. (Of course there may be some other error)

So please bear with us and just acknowledge that the price we pay for a truly interactive and innovative website - is the odd error.

If you have added a blog or anything at approx 6-8 pm EST tonight OTHER THAN some feedback or forum post (forum and feedback are unbreakable) you can email me at kerry@exploroz.com

I will look into it but may not get time to reply to any emails.

thanks Again

Kerry W (Qld)
Road Conditions Co-ordinator.
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

Reply By: Missan Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 23:42

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 23:42
You're cool with me Kerry...
I imagine it would be a big job to keep the site running, I wouldn't have a damn clue so you are doing way better that what I could!.
My mistake.. I have had problems with 2 other sites that I just remembered, Optus and BigPond!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 326349

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 08:25

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 08:25
Shhh Jo he will get a big head

psst: (All he checked was that his laptop lead was plugged in) hehehe

FollowupID: 593449

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 05:35

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 05:35
Hi Kerry,
I made a comment earlier in that I use other sites/forums on the web and, have done for years, like most of us on here,
Of all the sites/forums that I currently visit, this is the only one I pay for the privelege via my membership fees. My choice, I could have remained a visitor.
Annoyingly, it is also the only one, I use, that has ongoing problems and those problems often take many, many hours to rectify.
As you,so rightly mention,
'The main reason for some errors is that most other websites are not as LIVE and INTERACTIVE and CONTINUALLY IMPROVED AND UPDATED as this site obviously is.'
Kerry,I don't use them, I use this one.
To be perfectly frank, unless things improve, I will not be renewing my membership.
Shoot me down in flames but what is the point??

Dennis
AnswerID: 326351

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:15

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:15
Dennis P

Fair crack of the whip mate what is the poor buggar meant to do?

Your statement quote " To be perfectly frank, unless things improve, I will not be renewing my membership. Shoot me down in flames but what is the point??" end quote

What do you want? Have them sit at the computer 24/7 just to make sure they can accomodate every member who drops their bundle simply because the web site has some issues.!...and what is that going to cost?

Simple mathmatics.... look at the number of paid memberships times the $ fee and it is not exactly a fortune and I am allowing for the advertisers as well..... Subtract from that the non paying members who all contribute to the value and usefullness of the site..but also contribute to the load on the server and I reckon for the price we get bloody good value...and if it drops out on occassions I am sure it bleep es the owners off as much as some users

Some of us consider ourselves fortunate enough to now be able to access the web when many city / town dwellers take for granted what they have had for years. Those of us in the bush take what signal strength and reliability issues we get in our stride...not always happily I might add but accepting of the fact that progress moves very slowly for some of us out there.

We use a satellite dish that causes me no ends of trouble at times. The return time up to space and back for the signal often clashes with secure sites time out security settings (banks often and some on line purchase sites) ....I can spend a few quick minutes successfully or many many "server unavailable" messages later and have no success......... I can either put up with it (which we do) or spit my dummy, tell the bank I wont renew my membership and drive 300km and do my banking the old fashioned way.

Get a life, go and find something esle to occupy yourself if you are going to spit your dummy because you cant remain glued to the damn screen...realisticaly the site is pretty stable and the few times it has issues .....so what!

bungarra
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 593453

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 12:10

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 12:10
Dennis,

I agree with you that this is the ONLY site that I visit that has these issues. While I believe I'll continue my membership, sorry blokes - you're stuck with me, I believe I'm quite within my rights to bring attention to underlying problems with the site. I'm not going to join some conga line and pretend everything is rosy when it obviously is'nt.

Before someone in the conga line decides to attack me, yes I report problems through the correct channels and yes I have a background that entitles me to point out issues.

FollowupID: 593485

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:46

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:46
Challenge, Build a better site??? I don't think you can or could be able to even imagine the time taken to design, build and code a website like this???

If you can build a better site go for it!! I know i wouldn't even get close and believe me i was programming these things when i was 9 years old! Now i build comprehensive excel and databases, plus certificate III in I.T. Support!

Go ExploreOz
FollowupID: 593542

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:40

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:40
Chris,

What drugs are you on? Seriously, you need professional help.

"Now i build comprehensive excel and databases, plus certificate III in I.T. Support!" Go away Little Grasshopper.

FollowupID: 593578

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 22:12

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 22:12
Al,

Why the need for insults and "name calling'?

FollowupID: 593603

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 22:20

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 22:20
Take your crap elsewhere Jim. Who appointed you Sheriff. Did you bring your conga line with you ?

FollowupID: 593605

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:08

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:08
gees your a wanker al
FollowupID: 593608

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:19

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:19
Richard,

You really do need to improve your vocabulary. It's good to see at least one of the conga line turn up.

FollowupID: 593613

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:31

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 23:31
you are a fool

good for
FollowupID: 593614

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:33

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:33
the crap happens! i'm over it, whatever dude!!

Thanks guys!

whatever Gramps. i'll still have a beer with you, if you wanna smack in the mouth feel free!
FollowupID: 593705

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:30

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:30
Chris,

Why would I want to smack you in the mouth? It's exactly that sort of thinking and your replies in this and the 'Bogans' thread that prompted my reply for you to seek professional help. I noticed at least one other poster thought the same. Take it or leave it.

ps There are posters on this site that have been in IT longer than you have been alive. It is very presumptuous of you to judge what they do or don't know. Hence my reference to Little Grasshopper.

FollowupID: 593722

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:45

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:45
Hmmmmm.

Is this necessary?

Can't we all discuss things without the verbal violence?

FollowupID: 593763

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:54

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:54
Jim,

1. Mind your own business

2. Learn to read and comprehend

FollowupID: 593768

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:23
What in life has made you so bitter Al?

Most of us on this forum actually post useful stuff to help each other.

That is what this place is all about.

We share and educate each other. With the odd exception.

I wish you well,

FollowupID: 593780

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:53
Why the need for insults and "name calling'?

Hmmmmm.

Is this necessary?

Can't we all discuss things without the verbal violence?

Jim this coming from you, I am now ROTFLMFAO.

Steve.
FollowupID: 593796

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:58
Jim,

As do I.

Steve,

Yep.

FollowupID: 593798

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:44

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:44
Yeah it's a bit of a hassle when the site goes down....but life goes on :-) !

As Bungara mentioned it's a lot more annoying when the banks are down or the airlines, or the ISP's are down. Even the emergency services have their glitches.
I've been a member since '02 and have watched the site evolve and improve in leaps and bounds...all for us - the users...even those that don't pay.
For under a dollar a week it's excellent value.
Thanks for a great site
Alex B
AnswerID: 326363

Reply By: Member - Roger S (WA) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:48

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 09:48
Hi Kerry thank you for your advice on the issues, but also thanks to you and the team for this great website which is certainly one of my favourite's.
Roger

AnswerID: 326364

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:05

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:05
Thanks for the effort Kerry but don't lose sleep over it.

Let David enjoy the weekend off.

I found the site troublesome last night. I overcame the urge to hang myself and went and watched the Footy. Seems fine this morning.

AnswerID: 326366

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:33

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:33
JIM

your right......... i mean every time i tried to post a reply last night it duplicated my replies but i struggled on.

in fact it was fun in a way, got a laugh from the comments about them.

shees!!......... just get over it Dennis!!!
FollowupID: 593471

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:17
Jim,

It was just toooooooooooo bad that Melbourne won the League :(

Sam, put the mockers on Brisbane in the final minutes by saying that they had it won, she is now banned from even suggesting it LOL

It should be a good Grand Final in the AFL as well and I will tip Geelong to go back to back ;)

FollowupID: 593552

Reply By: turbopete - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:58

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:58
its all cool Kerry,have a nice day
AnswerID: 326371

Reply By: turbopete - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:58

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:58
its all cool Kerry,have a nice day
AnswerID: 326372

Follow Up By: turbopete - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:59

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 10:59
seee we all make errors...
FollowupID: 593474

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:01

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:01
Funny thing happening here, ExplorOz isn't registering in my 'history', everything else is there from today so far, but no ExplorOz.
AnswerID: 326422

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:47
neither is mine??
FollowupID: 593558