Submitted: Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:24
Hairy (NT)
Ive just grabbed a beer out of my beer fridge and it isnt real cold!!!!!!
It is about 37 degrees here today so I thought I would have a look up on top ( where the compressor is) and found a couple of pipes frozen up.
It is the pipe from the compressor to another thingy (condensor I think) and from the thingy to another bit....
Is there a fridgy out there anywhere?
Why is it freezing up and should I insulate these pipes?
Making ice outside the fridge cant be a good thing????
Here is a couple of photos of the thingys....
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:34
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:34
It's not looking good Hairy.
Quickly, take a run to the
shop and fill your esky up with ice, We don't want the beer getting hot do we? First things first.
Now that your have made sure you have cold enough beer for a Sunday arvo sip. We're ready to tackle thing problem.
Then sit down and think about it while sipping on a coldie.
Hmmm, Think about tomorrow. That's my advice.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:40
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:40
Ive already hooked a few out of the fridge into the freezer.
But Ill grab another, suck it down and see if any ideas spring to mind.
I like your way of thinking , I wasnt going to fix it today anyway (just think about it)
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:37
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:37
Hairy
A bit of Insulation would help, my advice is to drink all your Beer
before it all gets hot.
Daza
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:48
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:48
DAZA
i was waiting for your reply..................love ya work.
Reply By: handy - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:46
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 13:46
poor bugger, i will be thinking of you for the next 2 weeks when i am up at
Burketown drinking ice cold beer , eating mud crabs and catching barra.
Now back to the fridge problem , i think it is caused by your missus taking her time leaveing the fridge door opened decideing which type of beer to fetch you after a hard day at the office.
LMAO
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 21:03
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 21:03
And that was was MUDDIES too not Middies.
Say Gday to the Mrs from us to.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:22
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:22
Hairy
Yeh 36 here mate and me Beer's icy cold
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:39
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:39
Strewth Doug!! Ya call THAT a beer fridge?
Mate I have 2 as ya know...this one for visitors ...
and this one for me..
So next time ya here old mate we can have a tinny or two eh mate...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:32
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:32
Yeh but I keep topping up with fresh ones, yours'll go stale.... before you/we finish them .
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:37
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:37
cant see a tinny anywhere crazydog...all stubbies
and what looks like a bottle of soft drink on same shelf as paper bag....which begs the question ...what are you hiding in that? ......
water?
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:39
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:39
Mate you need Member No 1.
If my memory is correct he is a refrigeration/air con specialist??
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:47
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:47
HAIRY
this should make ya happy.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23931215-661,00.html]Site Link[/url]
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:52
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:52
bugga... ok then i'll fix it!!Image Could Not Be Found
Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:57
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 14:57
Hariy,
She's either short of gas or the accumulator (little tin in the middle of the iced pipes is blocked. Call a fridgy mate.
I am led to believe you have a 24 hr emergency call out crew in Alice. LOL
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:30
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:30
Hairy
Do you reackon we should totally ignore the rumblings coming from North Qld .
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:48
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:48
Thanks for all you concern blokes!
Im sowly getin throo it...Hic
The fan inside has died so I wonder If thats causing it too...Ill insulate that pipe and fix the fan when the Mrs. scrapes me off the floor.
Handy I told her to bring them 3 at a time now to reduce the time the doors open. Are you going to get the Middies to bring down for my birthday???
AND its BLOODY RAINING!!! YIPEE.................
Ive got a few more to go but Im working at it!
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:53
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:53
Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:53
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:53
could be a few things..
but
short of gas, Short of gas makes the system run continuosly and beacuse it is short it can never get down to temp so that the thermostat can cycle the compressor off....as it runs continuously the refrigerant (what little there is) comes back to the compressor, the suction pipe gets cold (below freezing point)and ices up (miosture condensing on the pipe from the ambient air)...
Another possible cause is if the evaporator is very heavily loaded with thick ice......ice actually acts as an insulator (eskimo's live in igloos) and can make it run continuously also giving the same effect
also check if door was left ajar?...lets cold air out and also makes it run continuously
it also looks very dirty in there...have you ever blown out the condenser to remove dirt,lint etc etc?..if not blow it out with compressed air
PS...where do i send the bill...:)))))
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:54
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:54
"The fan inside has died so I wonder If thats causing it too"
YES!...why didnt you tell me before i typed all that out
Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:55
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 15:55
bloody peeeez heads...you lot
gee i have but one stubby in my fridge
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:02
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:02
Come and help me drink
mine!
Its making sense now.......
Cause the fan isnt working (inside the fridge) the bit around it has frozen up....
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:49
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:49
Good for the arthritis No.1...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:33
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:33
nah, cant be...swmbo says it aint any good for me.......i believe her
ha
ha
ha
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:04
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 16:04
My fridge is working fine based on what I've seen on the weather website the hot weather is on its way south. So I'm gonna grab a beer from the fridge and go finish packing the car.
Off to the Flinders next Saturday.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 17:17
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 17:17
Hairy
Cripes
young fella you’ve got yourself in a bit of bother this time.
I'd be letting off the EPIRB and making every effort to contact the coppers with smoke signals. Presume you know the sequence for ‘ME FRIG IS BUGGARED’.
Seems to me you haven’t planned for an emergency, unlike the rest of this on this site!
You won’t get any sympathy out of me.
Just a scrubby town dill who can’t organize himself I reckon.....
Kim
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:30
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:30
sounds like an Engle problem!!
Follow Up By: skulldug - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:57
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:57
Looks like a Nissan compressor with Cooper seals.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:56
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 18:56
Im getin thair........
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:07
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:07
The
FRIDGE lives!!!!!!!
Its down to 3.4 degrees!!!!
Yaaa bleep inhoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:19
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 19:19
And Tension Mounts and rides off into the Sunset.
Good Stuff Hairy.
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:06
Sunday, Sep 21, 2008 at 20:06
Looks like lightening the load has helped somewhat, Hairy, but for bl@@dy chrisake mate, stop when ya get to the bl@@dy lucky dog and box of vinegar...%~))