Why are there so few young ppl travelling outback??

Submitted: Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:15
ThreadID: 61908 Views:4544 Replies:16 FollowUps:29
After reading several posts I was very surprised to read about the lack of young ppl enjoying the out back. Why is this?
My fiance and I are both 25 and will be leaving next week with our 6 yr old for our first trip.
None of our mates have been out bush b4, and after talking with them they have no interest at all...I was rather surprised.
I cant wait to get out there and explore and enjoy everything this great land has to offer.
Those of you who have travelled, do you find there are as many younger ppl as there are older??

Also, off the topic, does eftpos work in most places out there (innamincka, cameron corner) or is it better to only use cash??

Hayley

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:21

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:21
Hayley,

I am young as well and I envy you guys that you are able to do that. Most young people don't have the money to do a long trip in the outback and most young people don’t have the correct equipment and vehicles to go where they want to go. Fortunately for us we have the car we just need the time and the money now. A 4 week trip for us will cost around $3500 in fuel alone but hopefully next year we are off to do a big trip and will make up for lost time ?

How long are you going for?
AnswerID: 326513

Follow Up By: Member - Hayley & Demc (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:28

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:28
Hi Troll,

At this stage we are planning a 2 week trip (may extend it by a week if we have to).
We're leaving from brisbane and heading to Innamincka, then heading to lynhurst via the old strzelecki track, then to cameron corner, and will slowly make out way back home from there. Lots of stops along the way too.

We dont have a camper trailer or anything flash like that. We're borring an oztent and also borrowing a 60l fridge from a mate.
We're travelling in a hilux surf, and thanks to my other half working for ARB we were able to put all the accessories weneed on very very cheaply.

Have been wanting to get out and travel for so so long and finally we have saved enough. Doing it on the cheap but will still be a fantastic trip and we cant wait.

Hayley
FollowupID: 593641

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:33

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:33
Good on ya

Have a wonderful trip
FollowupID: 593642

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:24

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:24
Hi Troll,

We are into our 14th week of a 7 month trip and have just spent $3600 on fuel. We have done mainly off the beaten track areas and most has been on dirt travelling some 12000klm thus far. To spend $3500 in 4 weeks you must be doing alot of klm. You should try slowing down a little and get to see this great country of ours. Every where we have pulled into there is oodles of work on offer and sometimes there are quite good rates. If I didn't have the 2 little ones I would never go back to our old lives and just keep travelling although a lot slower than we are now. This is a very cheap way of travelling.

Goona
FollowupID: 593833

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:54

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:54
Goona

I have not done the trip yet it's just based on some planning I did ages ago. I only get around 600-650km's out of a 125l tank fully loaded. I don't have a diesel and I am guessing you have one...the GU is a thirsty beast
FollowupID: 593836

Follow Up By: Anton + Barb - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 06:00

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 06:00
Goona, We are planning a long time away (2+ yrs), and plan to supplement our funds with some work I would like to hear what type of work you have found and how you go about getting it. cheers A+B....
FollowupID: 594384

Follow Up By: Goona - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 16:17

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 16:17
A&B, We have been fortunate not to have had to work for the whole 7 months of our trip however we have spoken to numerous people that have worked. They have stated it is very easy to get work. One guy I soke to said he just turns up to a town and gets the yellow pages out for joinery shops and starts to ring around. He stated by the second or third phone call he was all go every time. We have heard there is alot of fruit picking, labouring and trades jobs you just need to ask.

Goona
FollowupID: 595451

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:26

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:26
Hayley,

Eftpos should work in most regional areas, as a safe guard I carry some cash as well.

We seem to do more short trips than long ones (average around 2 weeks). As Troll mentioed fuel costs are a killer as well as only having a single income with 2 young kids (2 and 5 yr old) it takes a while to save the $$ to do a long trip.

AnswerID: 326514

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:37

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:37
Interesting. I think a lot of younger people are caught up in the cycle. Mortgage, kids, working, etc.

We have always chosen lifestyle over working long hours, etc. We did lots of things when our kids were small but not that we are in our early 40's we don't get away as much as we would like, with 2 teenagers playing sport on Saturdays.

For example, our 13 year old son is in a football junior development squad with an SANFL club were he trains 1 night a week, plus 2 nights a week for his club. Development squad games are on Friday night, club games are on Saturday morning. Now that footy season is over he plays cricket - training on Wednesday nights and plays U14 and 3rd grade seniors on Saturday. So there's Saturday shot. (I play also because we are home).

#1 Daughter umpires netball, coaches netball, then plays junior and senior netball - all on Saturday. Last year she played representative netball for her association which took us all over the place on Sundays.

That's just our scenario. I'm sure many people have similar ones that stop them going away. Sometimes we drag the boat out for a day or weekend for something different. We try to have 1 good holiday a year. This Saturday we are heading to the Flinders Ranges for 6 days, then we're off on Friday morning with the family for the long weekend. This time last year we went to Fraser Island.

Sometimes you just gotta go away regardless. As for your mates not having any interest, diff'rent strokes for diff'rent folks I suppose.

We used EFTPOS in Innaminka & Cam's Corner a few years back - no worries.
AnswerID: 326515

Follow Up By: Member - Hayley & Demc (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:51

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:51
I totally agree with choosing lifestyle over working long hours.
My parents often have a go at us about our lifestyle, I always get the "we worked every single day since we were 16! Saved our money! Never went out." And i guess as a result my parents are very very comfortable, however they never did anything other than work.
I on the other hand want to get out there and experience everything while i am still young. We still work hard, and save our money, just different I guess.
FollowupID: 593643

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:15

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:15
Hayley & Demc,

I'm 62, one of those "old farts" who worked every day, had two jobs and never went out.

Now I have the time to do stuff if not the money, I find that age limits me.

Get out there now and do all that stuff, share it with your offspring. Lifestyle is important and is the stuff of memories at a later time.

I know what I would do if I could go around a second time.

FollowupID: 593664

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:24

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:24
I think if you stay home and just work, or sit on the puter or in front of the telly, you end up closed-minded and lacking life's great experiences. Then you get depressed listening to other people's stories of their adventures. I envy some of the people on here when I hear what they have done in the past. It sort of makes me wish my kids would hurry up and leave home. LOL, I'm kidding.. When we were kids we were always going somewhere and doing something with Mum & Dad, whether it was going up the river, fishing, sport, or whatever.

You guys in the east are lucky because you have plenty of places to see without traveling for days to get there. Get yourselves out there and see it.
FollowupID: 593665

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:58

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:58
Years ago I met a couple of young blokes changing a tyre on the Holden, in the main street of Birdsville.
They had been up across the Top End, and were returning home to finish their apprenticeships. They didn't have anything fancy, had slept in the car most nights, and had replaced their windscreen with one from a wreck at the dump.
From the comparitive luxuary of my old FJ55V (!!) they loked decidely unprepared but blissfully happy about the whole experience.
When I offered them the use of a compressor, they said "No thanks, we need the exercise" and continued on with the foot pump.
I suspect that the lack of young adventurers is a sign of a change in values as well as opportunity.
Many are too busy trying to keep their heads above water or servicing credit card debt.
Some are not keen on being responsible for themselves.
Much of the romance of the bush has been lost to some through a lack of education or crappy curriculum at school.
And for the remainder, why would you go nowhere and suffer when you can fly o/s and enjoy the sights and sounds of a foreign country for the same or lower cost ?
I was asked by backpackers, where was I going at Uluru a few years back. I pointed west. "You're mad...there's nothing out there!"
Not "why" or "what's out there?".
Perhaps it takes a certain mindset to explore this country.
AnswerID: 326519

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:12

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:12
Hmmmm..... Swedish Backpackers, eh? You been up to no good again, Footy?.....LOL

FollowupID: 593646

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:21

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:21
Willem are you determined to ruin my reputation? I was safely in bed in the tent by myself when she yelled out in a drunken voice "vere is da man, I vant da man." And I felt like shooting her at the time as I only vanted da sleep. LOL
Ya have to love the experiences that stand out in your memory. I've always said it's the people we meet that make the journey...
FollowupID: 593648

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:25

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:25
haha I got visions of this happening
FollowupID: 593649

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:45

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:45
Last year when we booked our accom. on Fraser Island one of our selection criteria was 'do you have Swedish nymphomaniac backpackers'? So I'm not that different after all...

FollowupID: 593658

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:38

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:38
Footy, have you been drinking Snake Juice by any chance? LOL & cheers
FollowupID: 593708

Reply By: Dean - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:04

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:04
Yes thats true, not alot of families to be seen. Cost would have to be an issue, our recent simpson trip cost more than 2 weeks on the gold coast. The best part is that our kids, 6 and 8 reckon the bush is better than the wally worlds.
How often though do you hear parents moaning about little johnny not enjoying being in the car. You've just got to be motivated, load the kids and they'll love it.
Dean
AnswerID: 326520

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:05

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:05
We have been on the road 20 months now as I mentioned in an earlier thread. We have met a number of young people travelling with and without kids but mainly grey nomads. I think most people get into a routine and don't realise they can get out of it. People think you can't travel with young kids and then school gets in the way. We home school and they learn more on the road than in a class room. We are creatures of habit and that is hard to break. Sell your house, quite your job are you mad. I now say work hard just to pay bills - are you mad. Yes we still have bills-paying for animal parks, fishing trips ( got two Barra yesterday) museums, cruises, caravan parks ect. Heaps better than a mortgage and mowing grass every Saturday. If our grass needs mowing we move. There is more amazing stuff out there to see than you could ever see in a life time so don't leave it until it's to late to see or you may not get there.

Josh
Kidsandall
AnswerID: 326521

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:36

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:36
With you Josh
Were selling up and moving in a week. Spent the last ten years slogging it out with our own business. Sold the house and were off before the kids are due for highschool. Cant bloody wait. We are determaned to teach our kids as much about Aus as we can.
Sharon
FollowupID: 593680

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:49

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:49
Same here Sharon,
4 months ago we decided that before our eldest Monique (She's ten in November) goes to High school 2010, we would endeavor to do a trip around the Block. The other two(Young Jack and Brooke, 6,8) can't wait.
We needed something to aim for, a plan. We've slowly got all the gear, will listen to anybody that is willing to tell us how to do things and are saving like their is no tomorrow. We don't want to sell up, rather just lock the place up. Got family close by and some real good neighbors.

You've gotta have a dream.
Hope you guys have the time of your life.
FollowupID: 593689

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:59

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:59
Congrats to you both. It will be the best thing you have ever done. The kids will learn so much on the road. I believe more than in school. Many people say they can't because of mortgage or work but to be honest I think stepping outside their comfort zone scares then. Checked out your profiles, looks like you both have the right vehicles for the job. (We to have an 80 series). Best of luck to you and safe travelling.

Josh
Kidsandall
FollowupID: 593772

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 23:31

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 23:31
Josh,
Have you guys been travelling nearly two years with the camper. We are searching for a family van. Plan to work our way through WA first no time limit. I would go tomorrow but we have a SA and Vic high country trip over christmas and a trip to the Tip organised for next July. We are compromising. Things you can do with out a mortgage over your head. Just hope the old girl can stand up to it.
been watching with a keen eye on the home schooling.
Sharon
FollowupID: 593803

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:11

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:11
Yeah well

Young people are up their ears in debt...or so the statistics say.
House mortgage, the latest cars on finance and all the electronic gadgets you can think of. All on Tick.

With regards to EFTPOS. Just about anywhere in Australia. Even in remote places like Ilkurlka Roadhouse on the Anne Beadell Hwy or at Kunawarriji on the CSR. But it pays to carry a bit of spare cash with you just in case.

AnswerID: 326522

Reply By: redfive - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:23

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:23
Hayley

Being "outback" alot over the last 8 years
Simson Desert 3 times
Ayres Rock 3 times
The Gulf x1
Every other road out there a heap of times
There are 5 in your family nothing better than doing a "road trip"and if the road is dirt its heaps better.
I have talked to alot of young people around camp fires but most of them are from overseas they hire a "wicked camper" or "britz camper" and do Australia you will most likely find that "all young aussie" are going overseas which is silly yes fuel in the outback isnt cheap but have you looked at how much it would cost to get 5 people to England or the USA no contest and trust me nothing better than sitting up on a dune in the middle of the Simson watching the sun go down.
About EFTPOS i havent being to a place that doesnt have it but we take about $500.00 in cash just in case we mostly put it all on credit i put my holiday pay on it before we go so i guess im spending my money anyway im sure the Banks hate me but i dont care then you have one bill to pay then you get back and you dont get hit with fees for useing your card 10 times in one day
The first trip we did the kids (twins)were 5 that was the Ayers Rock they loved it my youngest 7months gets to go there next July but we had her camping when she was 5 weeks old and in 2 weeks we are going camping for the long weekend get them into camping younger the better i say lol
well have a great time im sure you will if you want any more advice get back to me happy to help a fellow 'outback" traveller

Glenn.....
AnswerID: 326525

Follow Up By: Member - Hayley & Demc (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:34

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:34
Glenn,
Would love to chat more about your travels. Have plenty of questions, especially since it's our first big trip. How do I pm you?

thanks,

Hayley
FollowupID: 593653

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:43

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:43
Hayley

You can't pm Glenn. He is not a member here. Asking him to send you an email to your address. TYpe your email out as
xxx at xxx dot xxx dot au or whatever.

FollowupID: 593655

Follow Up By: redfive - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 13:05

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 13:05
Hayley

You can email me redfive@bigpond.net.au
or ring 0408635337

what ever you want to do is fine by me got heaps of photos i could email you

happy to help

Glenn
FollowupID: 593668

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:00

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:00
There's a large percentage of that age bracket that don't have kids, have disposable incomes, still live at home but don't even consider travelling unless it is to somewhere like the Gold Coast to party. This is all they want to do; party, play computer games, ipods, fancy mobile phones, home theatre systems, hoon cars. There isn't anything wrong with these things in general, only when it is to the exclusion of everything else in life.
AnswerID: 326532

Follow Up By: Grass Parrot - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 13:54

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 13:54
Bware, hit the nail on the head. Im only 35 but plenty of my friends would rather play with gadgets or stay in hotels on beach fronts. Some hear saying the cant afford it - thats crap! They want all the fancy gear straight away and aren't prepared to do it rough for a while and build up their gear over time. These same people though would jump on a plane and stay in motels and buy meals - cant see how that is cheaper than travelling the outback! As alot of others have said they need to just get out there and try it and they will be surprised at how much fund they will have.
Grassparrot.
FollowupID: 593677

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:22

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:22
A bit harsh Bware but fairly right I think.

My closest neighbour with two kids had a monthly phone bill similiar to a small business .... without the tax breaks.

Broadband Internet , 4 mobiles, 2 land lines, Austar, Computer AND the playstation AND the X box and all the "must have" games .... Their 1/2 yearly cost of all this would have funded me for a 4 week trip.

Their young bloke had to race off and google earth every location more than 2hrs away that I mentioned ... Sad really ... but it all boils down to peoples perceived needs ....... shame the values have changed so much over time.

Good on the few australian younguns who do get out and about.
I started when I was 18 ... put a brand new 4x4 on the never never payment system and worked my way around 5 states paying for it ... not as easy today of course due to job rules and regulations, veh and fuel prices, so plenty of respect for the ones that have a go.
FollowupID: 593683

Reply By: Sulee - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:42

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:42
My hubby and I are one of those young people up to our eyeballs in debt with the mortgage etc.

We are choosing to break away from the expected routine of paying your house off and keeping the ideal job. Sick of supporting the banks!!

With three kids, 4yrs, 3yrs and 5 weeks old we have ordered a caravan and if all goes according to plan we are selling the house and travelling around oz on a working holiday for as long as we can. Kids are great campers, have been since they were born. Camper trailer is going into storage until this trip is finished, we thought it better to get the caravan (well I did anyway), easier with three kids but will have the tent and swags for off road 'outback' trips.

Mixed reactions from everyone we talk to. The majority think it is awesome that we have the 'guts' to do it and at the same time crazy for throwing in the mines job and the acreage property.

We are so excited about the whole thing but just can't wait till it happens.

Friends of ours, same age and same age kids, have a van and planning to do the same so looks like there are more young'ens getting out there to appreciate this beautiful country.

After all there is so much more to life than a nice house and a nice car. What's the point if you can't afford to do anything else.

Any advice or from people who have done similar would be appreciated.

Sue

AnswerID: 326539

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:46

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:46
Far out we are not the only ones. Were 37 with three kids. Only difference is we have sold the ranch but not ordered the van yet. The only regulation with us is our barking croc Jake.
FollowupID: 593682

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:46

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:46
Sue ..you are spot on and you won't regret it....good luck and have a great time...I luv it.
FollowupID: 593748

Follow Up By: Anton + Barb - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 06:16

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 06:16
Sue - and the last few post above, good on you. Im 62 and been travelling here and overseas ever since I was 18 (from the day I got my driving licence). The problem I think every one above has highlighted is that more and more people are being conned into thinking that the need everthing (AND NOW!) by the '...arvey norman's of our commercial world. BUY NOW AND NOTHING TO PAY FOR 50 MONTHS. Thats surely what is sucking in so many people and especially the younger people.

Fight back..... say no, and just enjoy your selves anyway!!!
FollowupID: 594385

Reply By: Kroozer - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:34

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:34
Totally agree, im 24 and have seen pretty much every inch of the Kimberley, and parts of the NT. Absolutely love it, never get sick mof doing the same tracks and seeing the same places. Have lived here all my life and i still dont get tired of it. Every chance i get i head bush. Even planning a big Gibb trip next year with some mates who were extatic when i told them about the trip i done this year. I absolutely love it out there, give me a campfire and fishing with mates and the family rather then a nightclub anyday. There is no way my 6yr old son will be growing up thinking any different. He loves it too.
AnswerID: 326558

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:48

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 15:48
Good on you, mate. My eldest boy is going on 7. School hols coming up. He hasn't asked to go to Seaworld or the movies etc, he asked me if we could go camping in the holidays. You've gotta love that :-))
FollowupID: 593688

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:48

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:48
Yeah... : )
FollowupID: 593750

Reply By: timothy - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 09:53

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 09:53
Hi Hayley, my wife and I did a big trip last year spending 4 months on the road in a 90s model Jeep towing a small 80s model caravan and loved every second of it, we are 25 and 23. We both worked full time for a couple of years and saved so we wouldn't have to work while away. While our vehicle and caravan cost under 10k all up, we found it very comfortable and camped next to older people with vans worth 10 times the amount and often had fantastic conversations with the owners. You're right, most of the travellers are older and the young ones are usually from overseas but don't let this stop you from having a chat with them, you'll meet heaps of new friends!

Since then we have driven to Perth from Sydney and explored the south west coast and plan on exploring Cape York next year.
AnswerID: 326661

Follow Up By: timothy - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 09:54

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 09:54
Forgot to add, we mostly carried cash because it was easier to keep track of how much we spent! Most places we stopped had eftpos facilities though.
FollowupID: 593829

Reply By: Izey76 - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:34

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:34
Hi Hayley Me and my partner are 30 & 31 now with kids the ages of 5, 3 & 2 and when our first was born we already had planned to take off for six months around Aus so when he got to eight weeks old we headed off on our trip all of our friends and fam thought we were crazy. While we were away it is true there were not to many young people but everyone we met while we were away were the nicest people. We still keep in touch with one couple that we met who were doing the same thing with their young daughter.
Now every year we try to get out and see the outback for three to four weeks but next year we will be travelling to the cape with the fam.
None of our friends like to go bush they think camping is going to a caravan park less than two hours down the coast and sitting there for two weeks.
Don't let the low number of young people out there deter you from going bush as I think it is the best experience for young kids to get out there and enjoy.
Clint
AnswerID: 326671

Reply By: Goona - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:46

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 10:46
Hi Hayley,

We are doing it right now. 7 months off works and doing a lap of Oz with my 2 boys 4 and 2. We are loving it. Costs arent that bad. Fuel spent thus far for 12000klm is $3600 and accomodation is just over the $1000. We try to stay away form caravan parks and tend to stay in bush or beach areas. We have one the Tip, NT and are currently heading down the WA coast. We do alot of our cooking etc on camp fires which just adds to the fun. I have taken time out from a high paying job but was not getting to see my boys grow up. Working from 7 in the morning to 8 at night. I was getting caught in the rat race as a lot of people above had mentioned. My ambition was to retire by the time I was 40, currently 36. I am close now but just said one day to the wife stuff it lets go now. If I had my time again I would have done it years ago and just would have worked whilst going around. There is so much work it is amazing. I have been writing stories as we have been travelling to friends and family and if you would like to view let me know and I will email them to you.

Go on get out there

Goona
AnswerID: 326674

Reply By: Miss (an) Jo - Toad Keeper (Br - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:00

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:00
34 this end, no kids and no debt now except for a killer mortgage that eats up three quarters of my pay cheque and a PITA mother in law tied into it. And a sick husband which means travelling distances is way out of the question until he is well again. Next year, year after who knows!. Currently renovating the house to sell it, as much as it is nice having your own house, I am financially better off to rent than buy! (well for the time being anyway) I crave travelling, but everything keeps getting screwed by spanners being thrown in the works.
Enjoy your trip, totally envious!
AnswerID: 326677

Reply By: RDFB - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 18:33

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 18:33
Haven't managed to read all the replies, but seems a few picking up on the subject.
I have to agree with you a bit, most seem to head to the coast and the 'busier' places.
I'm 29 and I grew up in the Pilbara, spent my youth travelling WA with family for holidays and have already done 4 Pilbara 4WD drive trips in the last 4 years with 90% of the time spent east of the Gt Northen Hwy - best area by far. Is expensive but best option to escape a bit.
I can't complain though - for work I get to travel the Gunbarrel 2 or 3 times a year, been out to the Gt Vic Desert area about 7 or 10 times, Nullarbor a few times and even some roads in the desert areas not on the maps.
I only have a few friends my age who enjoy it and I really wondered what is wrong with the rest!!
AnswerID: 326767