Best awnings??

Submitted: Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 20:50
ThreadID: 61926 Views:4288 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Hi there, needing an awning. Any suggestions on which is best? Open sky seem pretty well priced, dont want to be spending heaps. Would be great to pick up a 2nd hand one but havent found one as yet.

Oh, and other half got holidays confirmed today so we're off next friday! yay!

thanks

Hayley

Reply By: VH-GU4 - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:37

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:37
Hayley, It will be the best money you spend. I have an open sky and they are great, my mate has an ARB and there is no difference, except the price. Just always use the pegs to hold the legs in position as the slightest wind will lift them.
So where is the trip going to take you??
AnswerID: 326632

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 05:59

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 05:59
We've got a Gunyah from www.go4x4.com.au which is very well made, doesn't seem to need pegging down unless there is a stiff breeze. Guess it also depends how it is orientated with respect to the wind too.
AnswerID: 326643

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 06:30

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 06:30
Another thumbs up for Gunyah.
Got two for the camper trailer.
FollowupID: 593814

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 19:58
Word of warning, I thought that too until that fateful day when an unexpected gust launched the Gunyah over the roof and bent and twisted every tube. Now I peg down every time, just in case.

Yeah a great unit and good heavy grade canvas too.
Cheers Colin.

PS Richard saw your car @ Jasons today.
FollowupID: 593925

Reply By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 06:51

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 06:51
www.campout.com.au

or more specifically:

http://www.campout.com.au/campoutawning.html

$300 delivered and made in SEQ so if yr in or near brissie, very local.

I almost bought one after reviews, now going to make my own only cause I am a tight arse and actually don't need one that I can open in 60 seconds and I don't want to store it on my roof cause I usually don't carry roof racks.

One extendable square Superpeg tarp pole, screw in 3 bimini deck thingos to hold in 3 snap locks for the 3 tarp holes, ubars to hold the pole to the roof racks, and a 8" x 12" decent tarp, and the 2 poles and ropes I already have. Haven't put it all together yet still to get the bmini bits from whitworths. No it would be as good and as taut as a bought one but for under $50 it will do the job I need and I estimate about 2 min. I'll just be rollinng it up with the poles and keeping in the back of the ute.
AnswerID: 326649

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 07:45

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 07:45
Polaris in Wacol.

Aussie Traveller in Eagle Farm

Google is your friend ;-)
AnswerID: 326652

Reply By: ingo57 - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:32

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:32
Gday Hayley,

we have an open sky and its great for quick se tup and pack ups.

However they could be a little longer, we used to use a 8 x 12 tarp on the side of the car, we noticed the difference with the new awning.
Other than that we are happy with our purchase, the first time we set up camp in torrential rain with the open sky, it paid for itself then and there.

AnswerID: 326701

Reply By: Member - Hayley & Demc (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:48

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:48
Thanks for the feedback guys.

Was going to get an Open Sky awning but decided on the ARB one instead. Hub gets 40% off all ARB stuff so it made sense. Would have been nice if they were made a bit longer though. oh well.

Hayley
AnswerID: 326706