9 kg LPG Gas Bottles for caravans

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:27
ThreadID: 61940 Views:13004 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
I was told that the 'exchange bottles' you get at service stations, etc, for BBQ, etc, do not meet the Australian Standards (SAI-Global) for carrying on a caravan drawbar?

Anyone got any factual information on this? I was told that the above bottles are made in countries such as Brazil from a thinner grade steel than the galvanised steel bottles required under the Australian Standards for caravans.

Was someone 'yanking my chain'?

Reply By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:40

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:40
Irrespective of where they are made they will still need to be either made to Australian Standards or another Standard which is recognised in Australia.
AnswerID: 326681

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:46

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:46
Mogul, 'tah but I realise that! I deal with Australian Standards all the time.

My question is, basically, "Is there a separate AS requirement for Caravan bottles to generic 'take away' bottles?" e.g. Are there manufacturing differences - such as specifying the gauge of steel required - for caravan bottles as distinct to bottles for domestic use?
FollowupID: 593839

Follow Up By: pjd - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:55

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:55
someone was yanking your chain
i would be more concerned they are only 1/2 to 3/4 full
buy your own bottle [gal if you want] & refill it
FollowupID: 593840

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:57
G'day Tixie,

I don't believe so as AS 2030.1 deals with gas bottles and it does not seem to differentiate from the brief overview provided by Australian Standards. Futhermore draft 5601.2 deals with gas installations in caravans it states that all bottles need to comply with 2030.1.

Based on that I'm guessing there is no issue (but I have not read 2030.1 just looked at the table of contents).

Be interested if someone has access to 2030.1 and could put it beyond doubt.

FollowupID: 593841

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:59

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:59
I found a follow up article after a web search which contains sufficient information - even discuuses lying bottles down - something discussed in another thread.

There is a difference but the difference has been made leagal - provided you keep your bottle up to date and your compliance plate current.

Look to the article at http://www.aroundoz.com/a_clinic_archive/cooking_and_gas/code_marking.htm
FollowupID: 593842

Follow Up By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:15

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:15
Regarding lying bottles the following will need to be observed:

10.6 Correct orientation
Cylinders filled with flammable liquefiable gas shall be transported, stored, and used with
the safety device in direct contact with the vapour space. Where practicable, filled cylinders
with contents other than flammable liquefiable gas should be stored and used vertically.
FollowupID: 593849

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 11:57
As I understand it there are four classifications in the gas cylinder Standard.

Class 1, 2, 3, 4.

Only class 1 and 2 cylinders are rated for "Outdoor" use.

Now This is what was told to me by a caravan dealer and I cannot vouch for the truth or otherwise.

AnswerID: 326683

Reply By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:01

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:01
Class 2 and 4 for vans as I understand it, in the 9kg size.
AnswerID: 326685

Reply By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:06

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:06
Exert from AS 2030.1 -1999 regarding cylinder manufacture:

4 CYLINDER MANUFACTURE
4.1 Manufacturing standards
New gas cylinders intended for use in Australia shall be manufactured as follows:
(a) In accordance with the appropriate Australian Standard; or
(b) In accordance with National or Supra-national Standards, in which case, the cylinders
shall comply in all respects with the design and manufacturing requirements of that
particular Standard.
NOTE: Supra-national Standards are those such as ISO or CEN.
(c) In addition, the specification shall be with the agreement of the parties concerned.
NOTES:
1 For example, inspection to the Department of Transport (DOT) American Code must be
acceptable to the Government of the United States of America.
2 Suppliers, importers and manufacturers of cylinders have a duty-of-care responsibility and
may have to apply risk assessment and hazard analysis techniques to the design and intended
environment of use, to fulfil the duty-of-care obligations.
AnswerID: 326687

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:10

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:10
Yes, but wont AS 5601-2004 "Gas Installation code" now come also come into play?
FollowupID: 593847

Follow Up By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:20

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:20
AS5601 applies to the installation of the system, piping, etc. and it appears to have nothing to do with the actual manufacturing of the cylinder itself.
FollowupID: 593851

Follow Up By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:24

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:24
AS1692 is the Standard for the cylinders need to be manufactured to.
FollowupID: 593852

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:41

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:41
OK - thanks Mogul - I 'll follow up on AS1692 - thanks for the assist.

It would appear (at least I am satisfied) that the 'take away' cyclinders ore of a suitable standard but maybe of merely a lesser quality - particularly for durability - however, if you are changing them regularly that should not present as a problem.

Thanks for all contributions!
FollowupID: 593860

Reply By: Deepat - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:47

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:47
I received exactly the same information from a neighbour that just had a caravan certified. One bottle was okay but he had to take the "spare" off the caravan because it didn't comply.
I didn't take a lot of notice of the Classes but it was either Class 1 & 2 are okay and 3 & 4 are not... or the other way round.
I also believe that this only relates to gas bottles that are plumbed in e.g. on a caravan... it does not relate to carrying a gas bottle on a holder on a camper trailer that does not have plumbed gas.

Hope that makes sense.
AnswerID: 326691

Follow Up By: Mogul - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:52

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:52
Was the spare one in test date ie. they have to be tested and stamped every 10 years.
FollowupID: 593862

Reply By: moresbyite - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:15

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:15
does this help?

Site Link

AnswerID: 326696

Follow Up By: moresbyite - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:32

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:32
Acknowledgement to www.around-oz.com
FollowupID: 593866

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 14:05

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 14:05
Yep - that's the link I posted above!
FollowupID: 593871

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:17

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 13:17
I picked up an exchange bottle three weeks ago "full" Today I turned it on 1000km from home and the seal in the tap let go resulting in gas everywhere. No claim on that bottle? I am told that because of the high turnover of exchange bottles this is not an uncommon experience. So now I am back to buying a new manchester bottle and have it refilled then I will know if it has been abused or not.
Pinko
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 326697

Follow Up By: Tixie - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 14:18

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 14:18
Getting harder and harder to get bottles re-filled in NSW as NSW WorkCover compliance officers go round checking out filling stations.

Local plumbing supplier (who currently is a 'refiller') told me this morning that ther's around 90% attrition rate on refilling stations as they are inspected by NSW WorkCover as their licensing criteria is so strict and hard to meet.

FollowupID: 593872

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:20
Trixie,
The reply's and follow ups have covered your question pretty good I reckon.
If I may go a little bit off topic can I suggest that you go to a cylinder testing station ( not a servo or an outdoors retail outlet ) and buy a fully galvanised (inside & outside) bottle of the size you want.
These usually are retested used bottles that are going to last for a very, very, very long time. Providing you have them tested every 10 years they should last for ever. BUT you will not be exchanging them at a swap & go , you will have to have them refilled.
If you get this done at a cylinder testing station they only charge you for the weight of the gas it takes to fill it.
I don`t know if you can still buy new galvanised bottles but the ones I have are all retested second hand " Heatane " brand bottles and I was advised by the bloke at the test station that this is by far the best way to go.

Hope this is helpful,
Scrubby
AnswerID: 326801