Music while travelling

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:35
ThreadID: 61981 Views:3419 Replies:14 FollowUps:48
What you listen too while out on those fantastic (and not so fantastic) dirt roads????

Ive just found, and starting learning, my new fave for travelling....

John Butlers Ocean

Reply By: Tenpounder - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:45

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:45
Hi there. Sadly, I've got to the stage of listening to the hammering and rattle of the suspension, and the drumming of the corrugations. My inbuilt CD player doesn't like rough roads; I've forgotten what tapes are like; the radio doesn't pick anything up.
Wind the windows down, inhale the dust, and ENJOY!!
AnswerID: 326926

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:48
That's why you need an mp3 player with solid drive. No vibration worries at all and you can carry vast collections of music, or drama, or podcasts.
FollowupID: 594055

Follow Up By: Anton + Barb - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 00:27

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 00:27
If you get the larger capacity mp3 player, they have a hard drive and need a bit more care. I've used one for a while and have around 300 albums on in. One button gives you a random album, but play lists (that you create first on your PC) are the answer. Several of my playlists will give continues music for nearly a week. You can create ones for different moods (popular, folk, 60's, 80's, jazz, classical, big bands etc. The trick with a hard drive type is to pad the unit in something like a neoprene pouch or stubby holder to insulate it from shock and vibrations. Cheers....
FollowupID: 594377

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:49
An engine, transmission, drive train and suspension components.

Music to my ears........hahaha !

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 326927

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:05

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:05
Yep, gotta agree with that....especially when it's a 6.5 V8 diesel accompanied by the constant hum of of a set of Mickey T's MTZs..... music to my ears.

On the other hand I also have a ipod with about 300 songs on it that plays through the FM radio....that's good too... at times
FollowupID: 594411

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:30

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:30
The sound of the Maxxis Bighorns does it too when I can't get ABC news radio to listen too, though we have a wide range of music as distinct to songs on CDs. Not into the ipod generation yet but thta may change if/when we change the in-dash mapping
FollowupID: 594446

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:56

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:56
Typical from a Uni Student studying music ;))

There is only one type of music to listen to and that is Country LOL

About time you got back online

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 326928

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:08

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:08
goodonya! you couldnt even go 10 days without hearing from me ya nutter!!
country tops the lot but this one is just divine!
guess what...I even had Sunday arvo out at the winery (encouraged by the lecturers to go too!!) and had friday and Sat night at the armidale club (muso club)......even had "truckers on ice" play....

I love it when uini gets to the performance section! its nothing other than playing and going to concerts!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 594057

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:48
It's OK Miss Jo is trying to knock you off the mantle with slanging matches with me LOL

FollowupID: 594059

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:18

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:18
KEV
it would be neck & neck at the moment wouldn't you say.
that JO sure is a fiery one!!!
FollowupID: 594066

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:59

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:59
Mark,

They may be neck and neck but I'm still on top (literally) LOL

FollowupID: 594079

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:04

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:04
Kev can only handle being on top! doesnt like being dominated!! (cheeky!! ;o)
FollowupID: 594080

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:05

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:05
KEV
the king of the castle eh? i suspect that might change b4 st george.

youll need eyes in the back of your head with those 2, you wont wanna shut your eyes to sleep.
FollowupID: 594083

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:24

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:24
He will need to watch out thats for sure! There are already plans in place for "something" seeing that I was too lazt this yr! (thanks to morning sickness!)
He wont be king of his little castle anymore thats for sure!!

FollowupID: 594090

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:28

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:28
KEV

me thinks you need to rethink your stratagy here. 2 against 1 will be hard to keep up with kev, the way i see it your gunna need some back up and fast.

FollowupID: 594092

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:29

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:29
Mark,

Do you want to join me as a Knight of the ExplorOz Table LOL

I'll get Jester Hairs and Greendog along for some light entertainment hehehe

FollowupID: 594093

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:31

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:31
KEV

im in enough bleep with JO already..............im laying low for a while,he he.
FollowupID: 594095

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:31

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:31
Mark,

Back Up???

I drive a Landcruiser where as these 2 drive Missan Poooootrols LOL

FollowupID: 594096

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:33

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:33
car doesnt count Kev....we are females...you know the ones....the ones not to be messed with!!
FollowupID: 594097

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:35

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:35
You both have to get to St George first LOL

It took you long enough to get to Innamincka remember ;)

FollowupID: 594098

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:37

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:37
KEV
just remember if you win this battle..........IM ON YOUR SIDE!!!! lol
FollowupID: 594099

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:38

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:38
It is not a case of "IF" but "WHEN" hahahahaha

FollowupID: 594100

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:43
KEV

Im thinkin' that i'd like to believe you
FollowupID: 594104

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:47

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:47
I understand that you being a cockroach would doubt a Queenslander but when your on a good thing stick to it LOL

FollowupID: 594105

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:49
KEV

just covering my arse!!!!
FollowupID: 594107

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:27

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:27
Kev, I reckon you had better tread carefully. I haven't met either of these ladies in person, but they seem to be both like a fox terrier with a bone, shake the beejeesus out it & wont let go till they have the last word. Do they both have teeth like George Bush's offsider, Condelesa Rice?
FollowupID: 594110

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:33

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:33
ah ha...........ggggrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!
FollowupID: 594112

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:50

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:50
Barry,

If Jo is anything like Kiwi, Then she will be putty in anyones hands LOL

Their bark is definately worse than their bite, but I don't think Mark is game enough to try haha

FollowupID: 594117

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:54

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:54
KEV

oh i try'd..............but i learnt very early lol.
FollowupID: 594118

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:03
If they have teeth like Condelesa, I think I'll settle for the bark as I reckon the bite would be painfull. Anyway, how can two of the petty coat govt. brigade be worth this much discussion? LOL
FollowupID: 594121

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:06

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:06
thats it..............im outta here b4 they come back!!!!
FollowupID: 594124

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:09

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:09
There is nothing wrong with a bit of skirt (thanks Fawlty)

MarYou running scared already, the gathering is 12 months away haha

FollowupID: 594127

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:09

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:09
Come to think of it, I still reckon it's a bit like Clark Kent & Superman, they both sound & carry on like one & the same person, so I'am still a bit sus.
FollowupID: 594128

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:24

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:24
Kev what are you dragging me in to,cause this is not looking good.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 594150

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:44

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:44
Jester Greendog,

You insisted to be included in the fray so welcome to it LOL

Barry,

I will introduce you to them both in St George next year LOL

FollowupID: 594157

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:47

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:47
Kev
Just remember their female their got long memories
FollowupID: 594159

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:56

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:56
I'm Screwed
FollowupID: 594163

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:59
Mark,

Calling Jo and Kiwi Elephants will get you nowhere, Your no supposed to mention their weight LOL

Jester Greendog,

Yep LOL

FollowupID: 594165

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:55

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:55
Hi YALL.

The Cook and I like listening to John Williamson, and Slim Dusty
particularly, Slims last CDs, I also like Powder Finger, just to annoy
the Cook lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 326943

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:05

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:05
Hey Daza...we're the same...all the Aussie stuff gets the load volume! Although I did manage to trash Sara Storer cd along with 3 kids ones...where they stop working or get stuck is where the really bad corrigation was!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 594082

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:38

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:38
I drove 4000km last week with a broken aerial and nothing but a "Christmas Carols" CD in the vehicle!

AnswerID: 326947

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:39

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:39
hahahahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 594101

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:47

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:47
Nothing like talking to B-triples and above on Ch40 whilst having "The 12 Days of Christmas" blaring away in the background. LOL

FollowupID: 594106

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:47

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:47
Ohhhh .... thats just sad ......

pmsl tho
FollowupID: 594439

Reply By: Diamantina - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:39

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:39
Slim Dusty & indigenous South American

AnswerID: 326948

Follow Up By: Diamantina - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:42

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:42
meant to add:

Both country and South American have a strong beat - good for the 'long straight road'. (Which song does that come from, anyone?)
FollowupID: 594103

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:08

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:08
ahhhhh. "Lights on the Hill".......

Kinda reminds me that I'd love to have an air starter on the Patrol one of these days!!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 594413

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:19

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:19
John Butler............Gee, I dunno, but a 12 string guitar, tea cosy on the head, sleeveless jumper and girlie fingernails looks a bit Sydney Mardi Gras to me.
But, he sounds good.
AnswerID: 326959

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:06

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:06
Yep, been into John Butler's music for a couple of years now.
And I gotta agree, that is a brilliant instrumental....but I do prefer this version
Amazing what that man can do with his 11 string guitar.
And you're learning that?. Good luck....if you can play Ocean half as good as John Butler, then I wanna hear it :-)

On the road I listen to a lot of Lee Kernaghan and Paul Kelly, and I'm giving Missy Higgens a fair thrashing these days.
Oh, and Creedence still get a spin from time to time.

Glenn
AnswerID: 326972

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:05

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:05
I wish I was that good...na...a friend is for his performance in a few weeks, should be good I reckon!
Im wanting the music so I can put it on the piano!
FollowupID: 594259

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:23

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:23
My GPS is also an mp3 player.

Listened to Robert Plant and Alison Krauss while travelling between Timber Creek and Yarralin today.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 326982

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:47

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:47
OT, But what is the Single mans quarters and health clinic like in Yarralin now??

I built them in 2001 when in the Army and haven't been back, we left 4 weeks after the twin towers was flattened.

FollowupID: 594158

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:44

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:44
Kev

Just got back from Timber Creek yesterday afternoon.

The health clinic is at the moment having renovations and they have extended the clinic with new rooms at the rear. They have a staff of 4 plus a visiting doctor.

As you would know it is beautiful country. The drive through Jasper Gorge between Timber Creek and Yarralin is worth doing.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 594394

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:52

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:52
Yeah I know,
We did about 7 houses at Lingara as well, we had our bar set up at VRD homestead.

I'll get around to visiting the area again soon, maybe on the way to the 2010 National Gathering ;)

FollowupID: 594397

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:42

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:42
Don't wear much of that hayseed stuff. lol
Bob Seger, Joe Cocker, Eagles, 3 Dog Night, Stones, Cream, Who, Johnny OKeefe, Bon Jovi and when really in the groove AC/DC. Now that is 'real' music.
War office only listens to Elvis Presley followed by Elvis Presley followed by Elvis ................ etc etc (if only he could sing!)
Only good thing is at least it isn't Barry &^%$##@ Manilow.

lol
AnswerID: 326985

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:01

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:01
Hi Nev.
Now that is real music !!!!!!

My war office enjoys Damian Leith LOL.
Vince
FollowupID: 594167

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:39
Plenty more answers to that question in thesethree threads

AnswerID: 327017

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:02

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:02
Thread seems tto have gone off at a tangent - back to omusic - one of our favourites is some South American pan pipe music - just feels like we are definitely on the move whenever we hear it - nothing too laid back - good old rock 'n' roll and some of the old Dr Hook does the trick for me - time just seems to fly by.
jules
AnswerID: 327077

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:38

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:38
Yes What, Woody Allen, Col Elliot, Rodney Rude, KB Wilson, if I'm on my own.

AnswerID: 327083

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:05

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:05
Bob Dylan, Enrique Inglesias, The Corrs,Vivalsi, Ravi Shankar, The Pretenders, Willems Bushdance(a collection of blues, R&B, R&R etc, Yothu Yindi, Macy Gray, Buddy Holly, Neil Diamond, The Eagles, Sirocco, Fir Na Keol, Enya, Muddy Waters, BB King, Sth African dance music , John Farnham, Johnny Cash, Jools Holland,

and then Jude has Rod Stewart, Michael Bublé, Classical stuff, Bee Gees, Shakaya, Seal, Shakira, Tracy Chapman etc

AnswerID: 327155

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:08

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:08
Hey Willem

Not a lot to scratch off your list to make it happy listening in my rig ....

Only Ravi Shankar .... PMSL ...... maybe Farnham / Yothu Yindi and some of the other alphabet soup ones ... lolol

Could add .... RedGum, Alabama, Cold Chisel, Confederate Railroad and Graeme Connors in there ....

Jeff Healy and Stevie Ray Vaughan would also go well in the Blues / R&B section of your centre console.

FollowupID: 594443

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:13

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:13
I only have Ravi Shankar on there to annoy certain people when travelling...in particular my mate George (NT)....LOL

Yeah, I must get some others on to the music stick.

FollowupID: 594444