A serious matter

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:46
ThreadID: 61982 Views:2443 Replies:3 FollowUps:18
As a old fogie I can still be surprised occasionally. We've all heard of Customs Watch etc, and probably have visions of mobs of shipwrecked visitors found in remote areas.

But today I read that after drugs and weapons, wildlife smuggling is the third biggest hassle for our Customs people.

Now that surprised me.

We are talking smuggling both into and out of the country.

I have no time for anyone involved in it, no time at all. What a huge problem for Australia it is, apparently run by pros and amateurs alike, simply for money.
We have enough problems with the legal importation of cane toads and rabbits, long ago , I rekkon.

Yes Customs are annoying when flying into or out of Oz. Holding up a jetlagged traveller, or your imported equipment or parcels doesn't give anyone the warm and fuzzies. But they do a great, if almost invisible job.

As far as Custims Watch, I've been a lert (we need more lerts) and aware for a long time, but maybe I need to re focus my ideas when out in the bush. It might not be just wandering visitors that I should be on the lookout for.

No need to be paranoid but....

By the way, you can stop sending me snakes in the mail now :))))

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:06

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:06
Gday Footy,
They are a bit like the quarantine blocks at the borders.
Everyone complains about them but we would be buggered without them.

AnswerID: 326929

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:10

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:10
They didn't seem to do the horse industry much good Hairy.
FollowupID: 594058

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:17

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:17
So you think we would be better off without them?
FollowupID: 594064

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:31

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:31
Hi Hairy

Without being silly and leaving out some extreme senarios , I have seen a report relating to the horse industry which essentially said that we would have been better off to have had no control for the horse flu and to have let it run its full course , as opposed to the massive expense of the system over the years that then let us down so badly.

FollowupID: 594069

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:26

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:26
I dont think the quarantine stations are set up purely for horse flu??
What about fruit fly?
FollowupID: 594091

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:41

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:41
Hi Hairy

I think , as Footloose said that its a serious matter and our border controls and quarantine processes have been shown to be seriously flawed over a long time and we need a different approach.

Its like so many things out there , banning and prohibition rarely achieve the desired result compared to education , trusting the public and putting your efforts into anticipating a breach and planning a response in advance.

FollowupID: 594102

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:05

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:05
G'day Footie,

"snakes in the mail " hahahaha, there are some mean buggers here!

AnswerID: 326935

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:43

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:43
and they are a bugger to get into the envelope but hey its Footie OK and we all want to send him a reptile

FollowupID: 594071

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:48
Bonz, behave yerself young fella, or I'll send you a Joe in your mailbox :))
FollowupID: 594074

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:49
And I don't mean a Joe Blake :)))
FollowupID: 594075

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:33
U mean coffee?

FollowupID: 594176

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:36

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:36
Dunno if she'd like being called that LOL
FollowupID: 594177

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:38

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:38
ohhh I would be more than happy to host such a wonderful Jo

FollowupID: 594178

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:12

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:12
Oh Bonz that is nice..
Someone can see past the smart arse woman I am!!!!!!
FollowupID: 594240

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:14

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:14
you are welcome Jo my arse is only average IQ, it likes to hobnob with smart arses and I wont mention clever dicks

FollowupID: 594241

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:18

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:18
Bloody typical ! I tell Bonz to tone it down and he turns it into a mutual admiration society !
FollowupID: 594243

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:20

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:20
hahaha I mention clever dicks ONCE and you pop up Footie! Did you sense a shift in the FORCE and descend on EO to see what happened hahahahah j/k

FollowupID: 594245

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:25

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:25
I could hear the heavy breathing form here, Bonz. :)))))
FollowupID: 594250

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:26

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 12:26
yer sorry mate I mustve left my ventolin somewhere

FollowupID: 594251

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:43

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:43
G/Day Footy

Your thread reminds me of the time, we were Camping at Teewah
Beach, I got up just before Dawn, to go Tailor Fishing, it was still
Dark, I looked up the Beach and here was this 4x4 parked on the Beach, and a Bloke was signaling with a Hand Held Spot Light,
he was flashing the Light out to Sea, about Fifteen Minutes later
a Inflateable Boat comes in to the Beach through the Surf,
and a Person gets out with a Couple of Water Tight Buckets,
the Boat goes back out to sea, the people get in the 4x4 and
head down the Beach, past where we were Camped, it was just
on Day Light then, and I thought ok, take notice of the Number
Plates, yep no Plates on the Truck, and I could just make out the
shape of a Yacht a couple of ks out to sea, it was heading East
towards the Horizon, I spoke to one of the Rangers, later that day
and he said he gets reports of this happening on a regular basis.

Daza
AnswerID: 326942

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 15:51
The problem is, I guess, that one has to steer clear of these types and not innocently ask what they're up to.
Yep, chatting with the Ranger is one way to go for sure.
FollowupID: 594076