trying to register my troopy bushcamper

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:11
ThreadID: 61993 Views:4305 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
I have been to the QLD transport department three times now and my troopy is still not registered. when I bought it the rego was almost expired (WA rego) and apparently was registered as a caravan according to the computer. I had to have it inspected by the rta and now they say I need a modification plate because of the high roof. trouble is I am told that there is no official code for a high roof. can anyone point me in the right direction to get this thing registered please? can I get a copy from the people who do the conversion? there are heaps of them on the road. surely I can get it registered.

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:07

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:07
What about the hire companys????......can you enquire there?
AnswerID: 326979

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:25
I have sent e-mails to head office of Britz but of course they haven't responded.
FollowupID: 594336

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:41
Yep!! Hard to believe Qld Transport are P u b l i c S e r v a n t s !!
Supposed to be there to help you do what you need to do.. Public servants seem to forget their main aim.... "To help you", funnny about that!! Michael
AnswerID: 326999

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:26
I hear you
FollowupID: 594338

Reply By: hillbillie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:49
Found your problem straight away.
Don't ask QLD transport, find a workshop that does rwc inspections and authorizes and fits mod plates (modification plate)
let them decide what plate you require and get it plated and rwc at same time .
Had no trouble registering my previous vehicle an F150 with a 6.5 turbo diesel chev in QLD from WA doing it that way.

Hilly
AnswerID: 327001

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:27

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:27
good idea. I am trying to find the modification plate man as we speak.
FollowupID: 594339

Reply By: hillbillie - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:57
Stay tuned i'll have a look in a QLD transport code of conduct book at work tommorow at work.

Hilly
AnswerID: 327005

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:24

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:24
I'm tuned in mate!
FollowupID: 594335

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 21:28

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 21:28
it was regod as a mobile caravan to avoid paying comercial vhicle rego - you can do it in SA as well other stats I wouldnt know Ive had 2 like that on in WA and on in SA
AnswerID: 327011

Reply By: Rod - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:04

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:04
You could try Steve Blackburn 0413003387 Annerley Brisbane

He is a Qld Transport "Approved Person" who can issue blue plates for vehicle modifications. I can't recall the full list of mods he is licenced to approve but he is an incredibly helpful guy and a motoring enthusiast, not a nazi
AnswerID: 327086

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:20

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 21:20
thanks for the tip. but I tried the number you gave and it is no longer connected :-(
FollowupID: 594333

Follow Up By: Rod - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:20
Sorry, mistyped

0413 005 387
FollowupID: 594359

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:44
yep that's the one. looks like he can help out. thank you very much for taking the time to assist.
FollowupID: 594537

Follow Up By: Fairlane - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 19:14

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 19:14
bloody hell.
I had Steve booked to come and do the mod plate. he rang today saying he was in touch with RTA. he can not supply the plate as he is not qualified to inspect a "camper conversion"
I am back at square one. apparently need to find someone who does conversions and then try to get them to plate the troopy. there must be hundreds of these things running around out there. not mine though as it is unregistered.
FollowupID: 595159

Follow Up By: Rod - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:10

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:10
How about

Vanquip - Dividend St Mansfield Brisbane

Lifestyle Motorhomes - they did a campervan conversion for my parents a few years back and were OK to deal with
http://www.lifestylemotorhomes.com.au/

Otherise look for other campervan conversion places
FollowupID: 595202