Submitted: Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:24
Willem
The thread caption sounds a bit like the TV show 'Judge Judy'....hahahahhaha
The MRF Super Lug 7.50x16 tyres on split rims, have done their first 1000km.
Observations so far.
16 ply rating with a tread centre depth of 20mm
The sidewalls are about 25mm thick!
Quiet on the bitumen at 40psi
Softer ride on gravel and stony tracks at 30psi
Good traction and grip on rocky racks and sandy creeks
The lugs do pick up lots of small stones and then send them flying
Still have to test the tyres in soft sandy conditions at low pressures i.e. dune country.
They should be stakeproof.(Take note Mick O (Vic)...lol)
Have been told that they have poor directional steer on wet bitumen (but it never rains here anyway so it shouldn't be a problem..lol)
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:26
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:26
Are these going to be on for
the Pyrenees trip??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:32
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:32
Yep
Will definitely try them out on the FF track and others!!!!
Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:55
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:55
They remind me of the Dunlops I used to run in the late 60s and 70s on the Landrover with big lugs and lots of grip. Used to sound like an aeroplane in a power dive above 40. (that is when the Landrove got that high).
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:06
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:06
The previous set of MRF's were like that. The Super Tractions. Used sound like when sitting in a plane at 40,0000ft and the engines syncronised to a cruising hummmmmmmm. I always drew attention when driving through towns. People expection to see a rubber tracked
tank coming down the road.....lol
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:57
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 08:57
Trust you to mention that Bhagwan, sorry Pooh Bah! Bloody Hell...25mm thick. How do they bag out for Sand W? They must weigh a ton. They can't be any good tho.....there's no white writing lol.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:08
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:08
Haven't tried weighing them. Doesn't matter anyway....they are at the bottom of the weight scale...lol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:50
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:50
I will bring some tyre chalk to
the Pyrenees and we can write on the sidewalls
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:00
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:00
Hi Willem,
Just curious if you have experienced any
sign of the 'Death Wobble' since fitting the tyres.
I use 31x15's when travelling locally and the 750x16's for remote trips. Both sets are ballanced, driving on the 31's no problem but as soon as I fit the 750's I get the Wobble at about 75kph.
Even rotating the
wheels has no effect. [new BFG's]
Got me bamboozeled.
Cheers....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:11
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:11
G'day Lionel
I would guess that your tie rods are tired. With fat tyres on the bitumen they are OK but when you fit the 16's the profile is taller and affects the steering. Hey! I am no mechanic or tyre guru but its a thought.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:22
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:22
Willem
I read with interest your statement about flying stones, some people think one is cuckoo when I tell them i get stones hit my windscreen and not another vehicle is in site, had one once bounce of the bonnet, and land on the roof, then others see all the paint chips on the fenders and say .... you been travelling to close to others, they cannot work out how it's caused from stones from my own tyres,
Don't you gotta smile when you watch these blokes in the doco dvd's in convoy and driving through the preceding vehicles dust .
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:18
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:18
Hey Doug!! We warned you about doing dough nut in the dirt.. :)
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:54
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:54
Yeah it looks a bit like a threshing machine cutting
hay....lol
End up with stones everywhere. Depends on the road of course.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:49
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:49
probabally for the same reason if you drive through
water too fast it flodds the windscreen. i couldnt figure out how the heck so much
water gets on the windscreen with the tojo utes. then someone pointed out they throw the
water forwards ahead of the vehicle and you run into it - could be a simular deal with the stones
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:54
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 13:54
Davoe
That's exactly right, like the stone gets flung down at the road and bounces up again, but gives the illusion that it bends up around and over the bonnet ....Science lessons
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:46
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:46
Hi Doug, we had one of those stones that hit our windscreen when no-one else was around coming back from
Birdsville so know what you are talking about. It's good to get an explanation for it, we knew it must have come off the tyres but wasn't quite sure how.
D
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:28
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:28
Remind me so much of the old "Bar Treads" we used to run on Army vehicles. Great off road, tough as, but bloody deadly in the wet.
Had some very hairy moments with the MK5 Acco's towing guns on the bitumen. Also, as they wear they get BLOODY noisy!
Hope they take you on many great adventures ;-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:51
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:51
JOhn
Will be going to the Big Smoke soon and its bound to rain there in Mexico. So we'll see how many cars I tail-end...lol
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:33
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:33
Thats the way Wlliem, why use your own brakes when you can use some one's elses :o))
Pads last longer that way.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:50
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 09:50
Willem ,
What is the speed rating of these tyres and would an insurance company pay out if you had a blowout using them on say a V8 Troopie or my 100 TD ?
Willie
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:49
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:49
No idea Willie
Had a look at the sidewall and all it says is Max psi 110. Also states 10ply tread and 6ply sidewall
No idea about insurance either as I don't ascribe to Comprehensive insurance. I woud say though that if you stuck with the speed limit the tyres should be OK. It is a Highway pattern tyre and states so on the tyre.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:51
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:51
Good Question Willie,
Some would answer like Willem did and for 99% of the time it will be fine but Willem if you head into town where there is $150000 beemers and Porsches and decide to use one of these babies to pull up you would want to be certain the tyres are speed rated to suit your truck. You just know the insurance company would be looking for any excuse not to pay out. I know it will make little difference to the GQ but I would need to be concerned more for the other vehicles and how much dollars I would be up for if I write one of them off.
Just my thoughts. I hope they will be a good tyre for your work Willem.
Regards, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:14
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:14
Trevor
You
young fellas worry too much about life.
What if.????
If any product is shown to be of a hazardous nature then it will undoubtedly, be removed from the Australian market. These tyres are sold on the Australian market without being touted as illegal.
We take out 3rd party property insurance on all our vehicles which covers the other party should a mishap occur.
I live a long way from the concentration of the populace and every day driving does not pose great danger. My infrequent forays into densely populated areas is combined with careful driving and looking ahead for possible hazards.
So I really don't know where you are coming from except to raise a dubious question which will undoubtly see a rise in your own stress levels. Your remarks won't worry me one iota.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:18
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:18
Horses for courses
young fella is what I say. I used to look at the bar treads on the early model Suzi and lust after them, and for what u do I reckon these are perfect for you. Like to hear how they go thru their life in the WvK mobile
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57
Not sure what the WvK mobile is but I can guess
The previous set of Super Tractions gave 40,000km and one Mulga Stake in the GSD
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:46
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:46
heeh WK is obvious maybe WvK is
Wheels vs Kempen SOP far it seems
wheels are ahead
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:49
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:49
Hi Willem, will be interested to see how you rate them in sand. what is a rough price comparison to BFG's/ Coopers.
D
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 16:27
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 16:27
D
I bought them for $155 each including MRF tube.
Yes I must go and see how they go in sand but nothing like thgat is happening until next year.
Reply By: donk - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 19:13
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 19:13
Are you sure the sidewalls are 25mm thick
Also you initally said they were a 16 ply but later said the tread rating was 10 ply
Can you clarify both of these things
Regards Don
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 19:33
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 19:33
Don
Initially I said they were 16 ply rating. That is Tyre Speak for 10ply tread and 6 ply sidewall.
I haven't actually measured the sidewall thickness but it feels like 25mm. It could be thicker...lol
Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:17
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:17
Rags and splits.
The only option for actual OFF road work in desert country.
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:24
Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 20:24
Cooper STT's for me, another option :))