Cheap Chinese ATVs

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:22
ThreadID: 62030 Views:5195 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
Hi all, have been looking at them cheap chinese 4 wheelers on Ebay and was wondering if anyone had any experience with them. Looking at getting something between 250cc and 300cc, just enough for cruising around when out bush, collecting firewood and cruising on the beach etc. Dont want to go all out and pay 4000+ for Yamaha or Honda or anything, as i will rarely use it. Anyone know what is the better out of the Lifan, Loncin, Zongshen and Ducar brands. I googled and it seems that Lifan are probably the best built. I dont want the 4wd versions just the 2wd but will fit a little electric winch incase i get into bother. I have a friend who has had his for around 2 years without a problem, just wanna make sure this aint a fluke thats all as they only come with 1-3 months warranty. Probably get one for around $1100 but then have to pay about $600 in freight. Still a cheap toy though really

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:38

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:38
Where abouts are you Kroozer??

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 327184

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 23:40

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 23:40
In good old sunny Broome mate. Why is that?
FollowupID: 594376

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:29

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:29
G'day Kroozer

I have a nephew in Rockingham who has started up a bike shop, he sells cheap bikes and ATVs etc , not the cheap cheap chinese stuff , from what my b/inlaw tells me he is selling lots of bikes to people who have inquired about the cheaper chinese stuff and say that what he sells is much better for just a fraction more of the price.....i can give you his number if you want and i'll tell him your going to call so look after you...lol..If you want drop me an email at borgy5@optusnet.com.au

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 594467

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:50

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:50
Or right, excellent mate that would probably work out the same price anyway after freighting from over east, and probably get a better bike. Probably wont purchase one till just before Xmas though, but i will definitely be in touch with you mate when the time comes. Thanks heaps Borgy.
FollowupID: 594478

Reply By: NUTS! - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 23:00

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 23:00
Sorry, cant help with the experience part, but its a good question you pose!

If your handy enough with spanners to fix anything that breaks.....and something probably will, they hey....why not?

You've already said your not going to rely on it life/death so whats the worst that can happen? you might have slightly limited fun? I'de do it if I had just enough $$ to spend, even been looking at the $300-400 ones for the kids to play with.. ;-)

Some thoughts:
Can you get spares - suspension, engine, rings, bearings, caseings, electrics, controls, etc?
Whats $1k worth to you? (if you use it 4 times and it ends up a pile of junk in your shed....did you get your $$ worth?)
How much can you enjoy or use it for that limited life span? (lets face it, its not a honda and wont last forever)

End of the day, its a bit of a gamble and everyone will pose an opinion, but you might learn something the hard way....and not spend $5K plus to learn a lesson.

Good luck.
NUTS!
AnswerID: 327188

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 12:01

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 12:01
NUTS! replied:
"You've already said your not going to rely on it life/death so whats the worst that can happen?"

Suppose the worst is it could break and he could crash. And maybe die. Or his kid or missus might. That's pretty bad.
FollowupID: 594427

Reply By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 01:47

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 01:47
I see the brand Zongshen make the SELVA brand of outboards also. Anyone had any experience with these, i see there prices arent exactly cheap in the WA auto trader, not far off Mercury and Yamaha really for the mid range 15hp-40hp.
AnswerID: 327193

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:22

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:22
Hey Kroozer,

If you do get one, change the engine oil straight away.

Chances are its had Melamine added to increase viscosity....lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 327207

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:29

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:29
Thats a good one.
FollowupID: 594437

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:43

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:43
One of the properties we were at last year had purchased one of these 'Made in China' units and when it was working it did the job.
Problems were with bits breaking eg footbrake/gear change lever/hand brake bracket/and on and on. Guards and flares tendered to fall off.Then there was the matter of power. Hit a small patch of sand and the revs would just die. Suspension was also suspect and need frequent attention.

About half the price of a Honda but about one tenth the value but apart from these problems the motor seemed to start well enough.

If contemplating purchase also check on price of a good welder to carry as well.

Would I buy one? No thanks.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 327210

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:54

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:54
A friend of mine imports scooters from China. Out of 10 scooters about 8 go on the road and another 2 will be used up for spare parts. I ride bikes all my life and we had some lemons in the 70's but they where still masterpieces compared to the crap that comes from China today.
I would find a good second hand Honda or Yamaha if I wanted one. Safety should be an issue too.......that's why most of the Chinese toys don't have a compliance plate.
My 2 cents worth anyway
Reiner
AnswerID: 327214

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:24

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:24
Can certainly endorse those thougths - we have had a friends little one in to get going again and its a total pain at every step along the way.

At our last camp in the bush , some kids were riding there new 200cc one around to everyone's annoyance , and they made the littlest jump for it and promtly broke the rear swingarm, not a bearing or anything , straight snapped the thing in half - have to admit we didn't offer our welding abilities in the bush to help out either.
FollowupID: 594403

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 11:57

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 11:57
We had a woman bring one in to work just after new year to see if we could re-weld the frame where it had cracked in several places. Of course we flatly said NO. I told her to take it back to where she bought it to which she said she did that and they wouldn't fix it because it had been used "off road". There was actually a sticker on the frame near the headstock that said "NOT FOR OFF ROAD USE. WILL VOID WARRANTY" or words to that effect. An 8 year old kid was the only one that had used it, and he had ridden it a half dozen times around their yard.

Wouldn't you be better off trying to get hold of an old kwaka or something?? Sure you could get something good for $1200. Just a thought.

Personally, I think Chinese made bleep should stay in China. Just my $0.02 (incl. GST)
AnswerID: 327250

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:32

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:32
Kroozer, have one about for the grand daughter on the farm. I know it has been used for people a lot heavier- like +100kgs and once we worked it out it seems to go well. We did have to take the carby apart to make sure jet needles and cables moved easily. It goes a lot quicker than GD would drive it so I am not sure it has ever been flat out except in low gear

It has the US style lockouts like only starting with the hand or foot on the brake. It isn't as well finished perhaps as the Japanese branded ones but it goes pretty well for a 200cc quad. It also has a remote kill switch you can keep for yourself if kids got to it.

A couple of years back I raised the issue though of brakes on quad bikes on eBay. A lot of them only have rear brakes and in my mind, that is a NO NO! I think it is a Loncin but I would have to check that out
AnswerID: 327263

Reply By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:39

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 13:39
Yeah all good comments. Only thing is that i know of 3 here locally that have been here for about 12-18 months and they are all working fine and are used quite often. One of which my mate who is 6 foot 6 and weighs about 95kg rides and nothing has gone wrong with it yet. They all say the same thing, go over every nut and bolt and tighten them again properly and run them in over 3 full tanks. And while on the same note about things breaking, another mates Yamaha Raptor 660 frame cracked in half also when he landed a jump that was barely 2 foot off the ground. Yamaha wouldnt replace it also even though it was only 12 months old. He had to get a new frame out of his own pocket. But dont get me wrong i would love a Yamie or Honda or something, would absolutley love one but the price is just a little too steep for me at the moment. Thought i would just get one of these cheap ones for now, till i pay my boat off then upgrade to something real with 4wd and stuff. Im not really after speed more just getting into places my car cant.
AnswerID: 327264

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 21:39

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 21:39
"Im not really after speed more just getting into places my car cant"
Are these things even legal to ride in the bush?
Craig..........
FollowupID: 594672

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 22:30

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 22:30
Had Yammie, Kwaka and Hondas and the only brand repurchase has been Hondas. the Yammie is still in the shed and has been the most expensive bike to keep maintained yet it isn't something I feel I could sell to anyone I know, or even don't know. I would have to nearly give it away.
FollowupID: 594684