Garmin Nuvi 760
Submitted: Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:30
In a moment of rashness, I not only lashed out on one of these gizmos but actually went in head first and took the "Adventure Pack", complete with mapping software etc so I could see by the little wavy lines where the hills and valleys were. After parting with a small fortune and putting the electric and phone bills on the back burner until the finances recovered, I got it home and after lots of headaches and naughty words began to come to terms with it, only to find that my expensive software doesn't actually show the wavy lines. Now I'm never gonna win the Geek of the Year Award so I sheepishly contacted the supplier, fully expecting an indulgent and sympathetic bit of advice that any 7 year old would already know, only to be told I needed to hand over another forty bucks for the privelege of actually being able to see the elusive wavy line, which I was led to believe the wondrous "Adventure Pack" would take care of....and that is just
the tip of the iceberg - everything that could go wrong in making what should've been a simple purchase, went wrong - and still the bloody thing keeps freezing on me and I find myself no longer looking at a moving map[ but a static map showing a patch of road where I was 15 minutes ago.
That'll teach me to mess with fancy gadgets
Whinge over.
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:43
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:43
I hope that winge got rid of some of your frustration.
There are 760 owners on this
forum who should come to your rescue.
Other than that have you tried reading the manual.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:02
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:02
just a bit
that's what I was hoping
duh.......it did occur to me but thanks for
the tip - you must've given it a lot of thought
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:34
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:34
Maybe Doug "Nuvi" T has moments of freezing as
well :)
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:46
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:46
Well only 11 minutes since you posted unless that was EST and no reply from Doug T who is the local Nuvi 760 Guru.(Doug must be out on walkabout somewhere in the north)
Most of these toys are a total mystery unless you have a 7 yo standing beside you. So it takes a while to adjust and to learn how it works.
Yes and the prices are exhorbitant. We have a Magellan Map 30, a Tom Tom and a HP PDA with more technical crap one can poke a stick at. I am still learning.
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:05
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:05
I think I'm gonna be learning for a l-o-n-g time
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:53
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:53
Dunno about the wavy lines side of it.....and not even sure that what I'm gunna say now even relates to the 760....but I'll say it anyway..... hahaha
I have a 660 and found that it started to freeze the screen on our last big trip up north....then it would tell me that it couldn't see any bloody satelites, despite being out in the middle of nowhere with not a tree for 1000klm and not a cloud in the sky.
When I got home I jumped on fleabay and shelled out about $11- for an external antenna that plugs into the side of the little flip-up antenna lid on the 660 and all has been good since.
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:07
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:07
thanks for the sympathy (or empathizing with me, as they say nowadays) Roachie.
that antenna thing sounds interesting
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:25
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:25
Clouds have no effect on a gps .
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:55
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:55
Thanks Doug.....I thought that bad atmospherics might have had something to do with it at times..... (like in the middle of a thunderstorm/heavy cloud etc). I guess the point I was trying to make is that is was clear blue sky but Nuvi was telling me it couldn't "see" any satelites and was asking me if I was inside etc. I tried taking it out of the truck in case the windscreen was refracting the signal etc, but still to no avail.
I now figure that the little flip-up antenna at the back of the Nuvi is on the fritz and luckily for me the el cheapo ebay jobbie seems to have done the trick.
Steve, good luck with it mate.... I'm like you;
Geekily-challenged...hahaha
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:08
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:08
Hi Steve,
what is the the Adventure pack you brought, he best Topo and outback track mapping software you can buy is the OzTopoV2.1 .
You can download Shonkymaps which are very good or T4A wich is ok but OzTopoV2.1 is the best but it's also $229
What version software is in your Nuvi 760 there is a small problem with version 4.0 , 4.1 is working ok but still not perfect.
One thing I found affecting the receiver to freeze was caused by the red light cameras, I deleted
mine about 6 months ago and never had a problem until i reinstalled them recently.
If you installed the Shonkymaps you should have installed the transparent contours lines onto the unit , these have a hi priority over any other maps on the unit, to see the Shonky topo maps you will need to untick the City nav 2009NT and tick the Shonky topo maps.
Cheers Skippy
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:10
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:10
yep, it is the glorious V2.1 with a 4.1 unit
the red-light thingo could be the culprit so I might delete that but I daren't delete school zones and speed cameras because I'm always travelling into unfamiliar areas with work and the buggers suddenly appear before you know it
I'm not wild about having anything shonky in my bus but if it works please tell me more.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:28
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:28
Skippy
I have all the Advanced Talking POI's in
mine and have no problems, you have to make sure they're installed properly,
Is your R.L.Cams the .csv or .gpx , I run both,
The max memory on a Nuvi 760 is 469MB , I think he's stretched it to it's limit , I had a tourist in here 2 days ago with a 260 and when I checked the memory he had just 4mb of space left , his unit has heaps now ,
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:12
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:12
Steve , you don't need Shonkymaps if you got OztopoV2.1
Does OzTopo have transparant Contours if not you can use that if you want to see contor lines on City Navigator.
Dougy, I also have Advanced Talking POI but since I deleted them I had no touble at all, but every Nuvi 760 is different.
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:12
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:12
You could also download Contours V2.00 from
here, (not sure....think you might have to join up). Free download, but 630 mb.
That will give you a transparent layer of wavy lines to 10 metres over City Navigator or any other mapset you choose.
As for the freezing, I dunno....
mine doesn't do it. Can you take it back to the place of purchase for assistance?
Glenn
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:28
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:28
yeah - I can take it into them and they'll put it right. 4hr round trip - maybe if I send it by courier or something I might get it back b4 I need it again
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:38
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:38
Sorry to hear of your woes , there's a few little clues that can help,
I am not sure how the Garmin Contours have been installed , if it's to the unit memory that would be using up a huge amount of MB's , best to have that installed to an SD card, I use Oztopo V2 with the contours installed to the card and it's brilliant ,
Maybe you need to just turn them on , press Tools / Settings / Map / map Info ...and see if it's listed there and if so tick it,
If for instance thay have added it to the unit memory that could explain the freezing up, so if you go to the link I have given below and follow the instructions to a T , that can free up more than 30MB .
Nuvi Memory Gain
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:31
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:31
think you've misunderstood me there Doug - they're working fine on the unit but when I try to play around on the PC with mapsource they're nowhere to be seen. I contacted the supplier (same place you got yours from) and they said hand over another $40 for a "Trip & Waypoint manager CD". Thought I'd handed enough over but obviously not.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:39
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:39
If you already have Mapsource you dont need trip and waypoint manger - or have I missed something?
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:59
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:59
Greg,
I really don't know. I sent them an email querying how to get the contours on my PC via mapsource and his reply was for me to send em another $40 and they'd send me Trip & Waypoint manager. This mob seem to have a pretty good name but I really wonder if their minds are elsewhere during communications with their customers. It's been one thing after another.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:13
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:13
Hello
I have never bothered to install Trip & Waypoint manager as I have Mapsource. Always thought it was just a cut down version of Mapsource, hence my belief it wont solve your problem if Mapsource cant. What you need is direct advice (face to face) from someone who knows what they are talking about. It could be that the supplier is confused about your needs/problem as
well so is providing wrong advice.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:15
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:15
OK now I know what your doing,You won't get the contour overlay on Mapsource , first up you must change the map to OzTopo on the top left corner using the drop down menu .
Also change this to Highest
And when you first install the map software , use this one
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:18
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:18
That's what the extra dollars would be for , they trying to sell him Trip & Waypoint manager, and he don't need it as you said ,
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:56
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:56
Doug,
can't get the "OZtopo combined 2.1"
drop-down menu I get is:
No map
OZtopo V2.1 10m contours (which show up seperately from map)
OZtopo V2.1 roads
Troip and waypoint manager v5
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:57
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:57
oh, and I've selected "highest"
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:01
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:01
Hello
Instructions on installing the combined mapset are provided with the Oztopo DVD...it is not installed by default. Dont have copy with me so cant help.
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:11
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:11
cheers Greg
Ill give that a go ;))
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:29
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:29
Looks like you already have Trip and Waypoint Manager.
You could untick the POI for a few days and see if that does anything.
Go to Tools > Settings > Proximity Points > Change > untick box
If you get sick of Karen saying "recalculationg" , you can add other words like " are you listening to me honey"
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:09
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:09
OK .... go to control panel and uninstall OzTopo, Uninstall Contours and start afresh, when the CD self opens close it again , open the CD manually so you can all the files on it and double click like shown, then when you view OzTopo on the PC you will have the contours overlaying the map, IT WILL NOT overlay Mapsource or Trip and Waypoint Manager .
Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:42
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 19:42
Thread on freezing Nuvis here. Didn't bother reading it so not sure if a solution was identified..
Nuvi freezing thread GPSAustralia
Reply By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:24
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:24
Well, I've deleted all those files in "how to gain more space........." and I'll see how the "freezing" goes. I do have cameras, speed zones etc loaded as
well as the Camps 4 POIs so maybe there was too much on there.
All I have to do is sort the contours prob out and then I can find something else to confuse meself with.
but eh, they sure make life easy these gizmos don't they?
;))
Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:26
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:26
thanks for the help btw guys.
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 13:15
Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 13:15
all sorted out.
Updates updated from the updater should sort out the "freezing" problem (I've also deleted those funny language files) fingers crossed
instead of "full installation" on Mapsource I selected "combined" and now have my wavy lines on the PC - so thanks guys and Doug in particular.
the supplier was a bit slack with communication at first but were very helpful once I'd given them an earful and we're all the best of mates now