What Recession ?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:24
ThreadID: 62058 Views:2981 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Spent all avo doing an unexpected job on board an 85 ft "dinghy" that's just finished a refit on Fisherman's Wharf on the Gold Coast.
Shocking conditions. Tourists swanning long lunches and trying to look like they own something moored in the Marina. Paris Hilton look alikes trying to catch the eye of some poor rich kid. Sun was out, quite warm really.

The boat flogging people weren't impressed with the old guy who dragged himself to their office door.
"May I help you sir?" (I'm sure they didn't spell it that way)
"Well you might be able to tell me where a certain floating mortgage is berthed."
Sounds of silence.

I was out in my bush clothes, hadn't had time to change (and I supposed to be working...at least I looked the part). Security nearly ran me off for causing em considerable embarrassment .(I'd forgotten about the holes in the shorts)..except that they've had enough problems recently.

All that food and drink, and the scenery made me positively ill ! I was so pleased to return home. My eyes were almost worn out !

How the other half lives eh ?
I'd really find that lifestyle difficult.........NOT LOL

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:38

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:38
Hi Footloose, ROTFL.

How the other half lives heay!!!!!!!! I'm afraid that lifestyle is not my dream, I don't drink (alcohol that is ) except the very occasional red wine, I don't like A la Carte and I can't swim so that fixes that. Give me the Australian outback and I'm a happy little vegemite!!!!!!!!!

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 327325

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:00

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 22:00
I am not jealous of them in any way. I believe the vast majority are hard working people (yeah right) who have achieved a high level of monitary success. If that's the case then good luck to them
Having said that, I really don't aspire to all the trimmings. I'd like to be remembered for who/what I was, and not what I had, an ambition I seem destined to fulfill.

Still, when the sun's shining on the water, I can't help thinking that I'd like to try that lifestyle at least once :)
Crikey, the 85ft tinny was easy to appreciate after owning an 18ft half cabin cruiser in another lifetime.

But yes you're right. A decent fire and a few mates under a starry sky, in a remote desert area beats the heck out of my avo :))
FollowupID: 594543

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 08:07

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 08:07
Hi Footy

We have A Friend who has a 85FT Tinnie as you say, and he gets around with the Arse out of his Shorts and in worn out Volley
Sand Shoes, he leaves his Moored at Coomera on a private Mooring
he pays the owner to keep an eye on it, he's not one of those
pretenders, and would'nt be seen dead over at Main Beach ect.
just an ordinary bloke, with a lot of money, from a lot of Sweat.

Daza
FollowupID: 594566

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 23:53

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 23:53
Hey Footy,

When I am on one of those super boat marinas, I just wonder how can there be so many people with that much money . It always amazes me .

There is a lot of 80 ft tinnies on the market down here since the stock market crapped itself .

I cannot go to bed tonight , I had a hunk cut out of my ear and its on the side I sleep on . So I will sit up all night wtching taped American football and doing crosswords and Sudokus .

Sleep well .

Willie.
AnswerID: 327341

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 00:54

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 00:54
Hmmmm...you been listening at key holes again Sir Willie?

Neighbours(schoolies) have just turned the 10,000 decibels down, hopefully for the rest of the night.

Might get some shut eye now.

FollowupID: 594560

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 01:32

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 01:32
Why are people so unkind ?

Night night .
FollowupID: 594563

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 08:15

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 08:15
Hey Willie

Whats the go, with us blokes getting Hunks cut off our Ears, had
10mm cut of early last year, and going in to get more off early
October, only trouble is I cant grow enough hair to cover them up,
lol. lol if only I had worn a hat in my early days.
FollowupID: 594567

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 09:17

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 09:17
Daza

I guess I am lucky. Spent most of my youth in the tropics in the sun but was very careful to cover up. I remember chunking in a job while doing roofing as the heat was too intense. Also, my ancestry has the flick of the tarbrush in the line-up so an oliver skin does help. All my ailments are internal though...lol

Older age is a bugger!!!!

FollowupID: 594571

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:23

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:23
Willem,

"old age is a bugger" - sure beats the alternative though.

doc.
FollowupID: 594582

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:52

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:52
Sorry Sir Willie

Didn't mean to upset you.

We have friends who live at Sanctuary Cove. The paintings in their house on the water's edge are worth a cool $3mil. An X-5 and a Ceyenne are parked in the garage and an old Falcon ute outside for the business. Went to lunch there at the eatery(driving the golf buggy) and mate ordered 2 x bottles of Merlot at $120 a pop.

Mate is building 4 houseboats atm at a cool $500,000 each.

But in their defense I must add that they are just ordinary, genuine people like many of my friends here on EO :-)

oz doc

Yeah, yer right....lol

FollowupID: 594585

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:32

Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:32
Willem, if I'd had known I was going to live this long I would have taken better care of myself.
Willie, yes it was a rare excursion for me. To be honest the smell of all that money growing barnacles didn't do much for me. There was enough money floating around to feed half of Africa.
Or a little closer to home, enough to feed quite a few diesel bowsers :))
No wonder the Water Police HQ is between a couple of marinas !
I was once in a new exclusive Golf Club where the mat on the floor was worth $300K. Gold taps in the facilities, naturally. I thought it was all a bit over the top.

But...I suppose I'd change my tune if I won Lotto :)))

FollowupID: 594887

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 09:21

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 09:21
Ahhh Footy

We aspire to live like that but our choice of town hampers that.

Ferals to the left of me ferals to right, here I am, stuck in the middle of that.

The doof doof music went to 3am this morning and now I am feeling a tad seedy. Going on the road again full time is becoming very attractive these days...but I doubt if would get past SWMBO....lol

AnswerID: 327363

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:07

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:07
Willem, do I detect just a hint of a song in all that ? LOL
Ferals are everywhere, sadly. Just when you think you've gone far enough to l;eave em behind, along comes Feral Cherryl. Geez !
FollowupID: 594578

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 11:40

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 11:40
Willem,

There aren't many blessings about growing old but we have a similar 'audio' problem from our neighbours and the onset of deafness is certainly an advantage. I put the better ear on the pillow and sleep through the lot. Also works for DOHA.(Director of Home Affairs) and her late night chats.

Can sympathise with the loss of body area. I will be seeking a reduced rate for my cremation if they keep taking bits in advance.

Kevin J.
AnswerID: 327377

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 15:33

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 15:33
Footloose!! the old saying " The rich get richer and the poor get more kids". LOL!! Michael.
AnswerID: 327391

Reply By: austastar - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 16:11

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 16:11
Don't gimme the ships!

Terra Firma - the more firma the betta
AnswerID: 327394

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 16:33

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 16:33
Hi Austastar,

My father used to say, with regard to Terra Firma

"The more Firma the less Terror!"

Gazal.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 594603

Reply By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 18:25

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 18:25
I know someone who works on the mines in the north of WA, he is on $8000 a fortnight.....to look at him...well you would think is on $8 a fortnight.....my hubby got offered the same job and turned it down...basically because he didn't want to turn into a part time dad.

This bloke gets half the fortnight off too....he put his money into a houses rather then boats...no moorings in Perth available...he has a very nice riverside address though...so he can watch 85ft tinnies go past the front of his house.
AnswerID: 327405