Submitted: Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 10:53
Member - Nev (TAS)
I was reading Doug T's thread and got thinking, (yeah I know a rare and often fruitless exercise).
It would be quite interesting to find out why people have 4WDs and where they live. Do they live in the city or country? It may be interesting to see the break-up of ExplorOz members.
Living in a rural area myself, just about everyone has 4WDs as they are used as workhorses as
well as for travelling. I use
mine to help out around my property as it is on a slope and a 2WD doesn't hack it, especially in winter. I also am a mad keen fisherman and use it to get to lakes, rivers and sometimes to beaches so I can launch my tinnie where there are no ramps. I probably launch more often where there are no ramps as I have access on several properties with decent
water access and enjoy the seclusion. Because I go away fishing for several days at a time I normally either
camp, (preferred), or use my mates
shack on the Great Lake so my 4WD is set up for travel as
well. Not quite (or anywhere near), to the standard of what is required for a Simpson crossing but it is my little world and I enjoy life.
Must admit that it has been quite a few years since I did any real outback travel (1970s) and I really did enjoy that as
well, especially the mateship. Maybe when I eventually retire I will do it again but what I have now is great.
Rgds
Nev
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:02
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:02
Nev,
I would not be able to get to Western Australian's best kept secret with out a 4WD.
Living in Penrith NSW, getting to the best parts of Australia, a 4WD is a must and the Troopie does get used for what it is designed for.
I will be putting up a post soon with a bit more detail of the great W.A. secret.
Follow Up By: Sludgie - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:32
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:32
Wayne ,those of us in W.A are trying to keep it all secret.
Sludgie
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:09
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:09
Nev, if the last outback travel you did was in the 70's, you'd find it a heck of a shock, and sadly you might also find it a bit disappointing in parts.
If you're happy with what you have now, then you are one lucky fella I rekkon.
Sorry, not exactly an on topic reply, but better than my initail thoughts ("so that mum can transport the shopping and kids to school."...or sorry thats my neighbours ...) LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:52
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:52
Hi Footy,
from what I have seen and read I would agree that it may be a bit disappointing but not a show stopper. The last time I drove from
Perth to
Adelaide in 1994 (I think), we stopped out of
Southern Cross for a twinkle and was horrified as to how dirty the bush was then. Bits of dunny paper and general rubbish everywhere. I have been reading the travel notes from various members and note their comments on similar observations. Many years on now, so it is probably a lot worse now. When we did our trip we deep buried everything we didn't or couldn't take with us. A long time ago now it was in 1973, the year before Tracey. I remember bits of it but most is a blur now. I do remember two of the vehicles were Austin Champs AND they made it home as I bought one and it was my first 4WD. (I wonder what that would be worth today.)
Rgds
Nev
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:06
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:06
Austin Champs ? I'm speechless ! What a classic 4wd they were. People think that my series 2 landrover was a dinasaur, but you sure hold the patent on that LOL
Yes I was slightly involved in the 1974 show (comms). Mate of
mine was in
Darwin at the time but luckily was on leave and on route at the time.
I didn't get to
Darwin until 15 years later. Not exacltly the old place from his stories. I remember asking him about the temp and humidity, and also how did he manage to work under those conditions?
"With a tinnie in one hand and vewwwy slowly".
Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:32
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:32
Yep I transport three kids from school and home everyday. But we also have seven seats in the 4x4, I also transport the son's g/f around too. Though my 4x4 is not big 4x4, a pathfinder, but it does the job. I didn't want a huge car, the pathfinder is an in between, but still tows
well.
Hubby and I also tow a caravan and a boat around as
well, the boat every weekend during summer. The 4x4 was brought brand new, it is year old and has just over 30K on the clock, that includes a trip to Tassie and around Tassie,last summer, back via the great ocean road. Hubby has a company car, so most of the running around is done in that.
Debbie
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 14:15
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 14:15
Austin Champ was fully 'waterproof' & could travel underwater 'breathing' through a
snorkel.
Also had a Rolls Royce engine.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:28
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:28
I had the use of Government 4x4"s from the late Sixties, then my
Cook and I purchased our own in the late Seventies, for Beach Fishing
and
Camping, Towing Boats off Steep Ramps, and Beaches, have had
various Toyotas, Range Rovers, Nissans, ect, now the
Cook has the
Nissan and I use the Ford Exploder for work, my Two Sons have
allways had 4x4's, just runs in the Family, they have grown up around them, we dont know any better, lol..lol.
Daza
Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:51
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 11:51
Nev,
I own a 4WD as it gets me from A to B.
I love to get out and about, sometimes in areas that require a good sturdy, and especially reliable, vehicle.
I live and work in
Perth and use the 4WD drive as my daily driver, which is fairly impracticle, as it's a pain to
park and manouver around, but the benifets it gives me away from the city more than make up for it. I will probably purchase a small "city car" before Christmas and keep the 4wd for what it was designed to do.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:09
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:09
"I love to get out and about, sometimes in areas that require a good sturdy, and especially reliable, vehicle."
Sounds like an understatement to me, considering where you go LOL
Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 15:10
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 15:10
My analogy is that I have a 4WD to get me from A to Z. And all the letters (
places) in between.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:16
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:16
Nev, I bought my 80 series about 4 years ago for a few reasons.
1; To tow a horse float.
2; To tow my trailer with all my Carpenters
tools in.
3; To carry timber and building materials with.
4; To tow our camper trailer about.
5; To go
places where a normal 2wd car can't go.
6; It can
seat 8, handy with kids and their mates.
7; And Because I could ;-)
Reply By: austastar - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 15:13
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 15:13
Well I'm still looking for
mine, decisions, decisions.
I'm also still sorting out camper trailer vs slide on.
We are coming from a 1975 Toyota Dyna motor camper (2wd) that is now a bit ancient to go anywhere serious outback. It has been in the family for 33 years and it will be a very sad day when we have to walk away from it.
I was keen on the 4.2L Patrol tray top until they dropped the size to 3L, the Landcruiser at 4.8L seems huge, and being V8 is high rego costs here in Tas.
The xcab Hilux seems very nice, but won't take a slide on, but would be good if we go the trailer camper.
The slide on is similar to our Dyna camper in that it is good for 'furtive' camps (minimal setup overnight stops in 'no
camping' areas), a camper trailer is no good for this at all, but would be nice and roomy for longer stays.
Longer stays will soon be much easier as I hope to retire soon.
Anybody else going through this excercise?
Reply By: Ted G - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 17:00
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 17:00
Hi Nev
We have had 4wd since the early 70's 3 speed Toyota landcruiser,
early Subaru, late Subaru good for the snow, Alfa Quatro (couldn't got out in the rain with out filling with
water), Ford Exploder lasted less than 12 months and $8,000 in repairs, 80 series Toyota, 100 series Toyota, now 120 Prado.
All for towing everything from boats, camper vans, caravans and anything else needed.
Quite a bit of 4wd to the out back.
Have not used the back seats in any of them, they stayed in the garage.
We have always had a second car for around the city or trips without towing.
Ted
Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 18:01
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 18:01
Nev,
live outer suburbs
Melbourne. Bought Landrover Defender 110 in '96 - as I recollect because it had inbuilt turbo, aluminium body, capacity to go lots of "difficult"
places, and we liked that it did not look trendy! We were planning early retirement and much travel. In'97 bought offroad caravan because the driver had hip replacement so long term tent-based travel suddenly not feasible. It was fortunate that Defender also had decent tow capacity - though van is not huge, is heavy. Since then, have spent about 8 years of last 11 on the road. On our brief periods at home, the truck gets a bit of use in the suburbs - but we also have a Barina that is used more. Decided about 2001 to keep the 96 Defender, spend whatever needed to keep it going, rather than upgrade to vehicles with complicated electronics and the like. Given the dust,
water, heat and corrugations of the
places we go, simple seems best! We are happy with the rig.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:26
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:26
I'm with you all the way....have a 1994 110 and 1995 130, no complicated electonics. Previously had a TD5 110, but went back to the future......
Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:50
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:50
Nev,
I bought the first one in 93,an 80 series to tow the 22' van we had as the cars were doing it hard pulling the van. had also been out with my mate alot in his 307 cheved FJ40 and loved it. then decided to down size when we got rid of the van to a dual cab hilux. loved that and upgraded to the 100 so i could run the roof top tent and pull the equipment i was hiring a bit easier. it now tows the newer van around, and now a camper trailer which recently replaced the roof top. plus it gets us to
places we like that 2WD cant. cheers Paul
Reply By: PajeroTD - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 04:17
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 04:17
I don't think 4x4 owners need to justify why they own/drive what they do. But I have my Silverado 4x4 because:
1. I want to, i think it's fun to drive
2. it's comfortable
3. looks cool
4. power
5. practicality (seats 6, carries whatever, tows whatever)
So I have a vehicle i can use for work, travel and play. It's the great all-purpose thing about it.