Savannah way

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:02
ThreadID: 62089 Views:2276 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
I am looking to drive from Darwin via Daly Waters and Borroloola to Burketown and Normanton. Towing an off road Supreme with simplicity suspension and air bags pulled by 100 series. I have searched the forum for back articles and there is some good stuff been posted. Has anyone completed this trek recently.

I did not find much info on creeks etc.. so wanted to check this would be ok at this time of year with the rig set up indicated.

Looking forward to this one so any assistance would be appreciated

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:14

Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 12:14
Steve, mate. I don't want to be ignorant, but isn't it getting on towards the wet season? An early one wouldn't be good. I guess you're a local and know that much better than I, but I just had to mention it, sorry.
AnswerID: 327486

Reply By: anne260863 - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 14:19

Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 14:19
Hi Steve

We too are looking at doing this trip in 2 weeks but starting at Normanton and finishing in Darwin.

We are driving a Foird Ranger and not towing anything just camping along the way.

We have been told that usually the rain does not start till November. I too would apreciate any current information available from anyone who has done the trip recently.

Anne
AnswerID: 327496

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 17:55

Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 17:55
Hi Steve

Just got back today after 6 weeks doing the trip you're doing but in reverse. Worst road was of course from Burketown to Borroloola - plenty of corrugations but some nice rivers to camp beside if you want. We did the run from Burketown to King Ash Bay via Borroloola in one day, towing a Kedron caravan with a 100 series V8 petrol. Didn't have any problems, nothing broke and it all travelled well but it did take us about 10 hours to do it. We don't flog along, just take it steady. We came across one van that had broken a U-bolt on the front axle which pushed it into the rear axle and did quite a bit of damage. Our Kedron is just a single axle with 9-leaf suspension and both it and the car were unscathed. There are a couple of creek crossings on that road, but as we did them about 3 weeks ago I can't give you a real up to date report. They were fine back then, only about a foot deep - just have to take it steady as there are some big rocks you wouldn't want to hit.

The rest of the trip you're planning is no problem - pretty much all bitumen.

Cheers and have a good safe trip.

Tezza
AnswerID: 327529

Follow Up By: polben - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:35

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:35
Thanks Tezza, good information very much appreciated.

FollowupID: 595139

Reply By: motor_head - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:05
Hi Steve, done my first trip through there late july and loved it, cant wait to get back up there, hope your leaving soon to beat the wet, although a bit of rain would make the trip great fun, only advice i can give is if there is rain avoid any large puddles on QLD side, there was some large bulldust holes about 2-3 feet deep when we went through, luckily they took up less than half the road and i think would enjoy camping on the nicholas river rather than borroloola and if a sign say's DIP...you better believe it.
AnswerID: 327576

Reply By: balko - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:03

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:03
Gday Steve
Im sitting at King Ash Bay point right now came across over the last 5 days went to Lawn hill NP then to Kingfisher camp Botwhorn Station and up to hells gate then went left to Borroloola. Roads fine 95% of the way really bad for 20 ks near calvert hills turn off but you will have no probs at all . All creeks are low 30cm max. Im in a 4wd canter truck towing a supreme getaway and met a guy who followed me across towing a jayco expanda 21ft his van was fine too cheers Tony
AnswerID: 327614

Follow Up By: polben - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:33

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:33
Tony great feed back mate thanks heaps.
FollowupID: 595138

Follow Up By: chookcharmer - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:59

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:59
Excellent stuff, we'll be up in King Ash on the 17th October.....can't wait.
Lynda
FollowupID: 595427

Reply By: polben - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:31

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 17:31
Thanks one and all great discussion items and excellent feedback.

We are off in about six days so should get through before the big wet.

Thanks again looking forward to this one..
AnswerID: 327811