travelling Oz with small dog
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 18:29
nicki
Hi all, partner Geoffrey and I are getting ready for the big trip in the next 12 months. We are in a dilemma regarding whether it is compatible with the plan for a 12-18 months trip to take our dog. We will be keen to visit National parks and would stay often in
camping parks. Our camper trailer is Goldstream (on road). Our dog, called Tiger, is an 8 year old, pound rescued adorable mutt. I would be loath to leave him for that long..but am intersted how other Explore Oz folk have successfully-or not- as the case may be, taken their pet with them on a round Oz trip.
As usual any hints, advice and warnings gratefully accepted.
Nicki
Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 18:45
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 18:45
Take him. I have been around the block twice with two medium sized dogs, a boxer and a dalmation. We did pick where we stayed very carefully and didn't try to go into national parks but in my opinion national parks are quite often an excuse not to do anything.
If you stay off the main turist
routes you will find no trouble with your little friend and try to
camp up during school holidays.
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:49
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:49
Ray, thanks for your response. How did you 'pick where you stayed'? We will be travelling in a Ford falcon towing a camper trailer so not your real outback rig! just breaking ourselves in gently to this whole explore Oz thing. But boy, we can't wait to go! And ExploreOz just whets my appetite every time I
logon. Gotta join up as a member as its been so valuable so far as a mere visitor.
nicki
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:08
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:08
National Parks are a, government sponsored, haven for feral wild dogs and cats - I see no reason why one small dog on a lead should make any difference.
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:25
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:25
Can't agree more Mike, and all those feral wild dogs don't seem to have a problem leaving their refuge to violate domestic cattle, sheep, and in some instances, human beings. Crazy law.
Fred
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:40
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:40
Even crazier is having one rule for the rich & one for the poor, so to speak!
I can't believe that indigenous Australians dogs are beetr than ours!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:41
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 20:41
'better' dammit!
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:39
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:39
Gundabooka National Park (south of
Bourke) have their own resident Blue Cattle Dog who comes out and welcomes visitors.
Maybe the dog is an honorary National
Park Ranger to live there. The bugger wasn't wearing NPWS Patches on his shoulders.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:58
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:58
Gidday Fred
By cripes the
camp is looking good.
You've done a good job.
Kim
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:33
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:33
Mike, and any others with the same attitude,
You take your dog into any National
Park where they are banned, it takes a bait and dies......................... Serves you bloody right!
No sympathy from me.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:20
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:20
Disco
Your a bit of a strange fella. Why all the red neck chest thumping stuff?
Nicki posted a creditable question, asking for advice.
I reckon you you need to back off a bit!
Kim
Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:06
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:06
Kim,
I used 1080 for more than 22years in my last occupation before retirement.
I'e regularly seen what happens with it when dogs,feral and pet, foxes and feral pigs take the baits.
NOT PLEASANT and definitely NOT a NICE way to DIE.
But sadly....................... Essential to control feral animals..
Anyone who disregards the signs, "No Dogs" and/or " 1080 Poison Laid in this Area" runs the risk of this happening.
I would rather be blunt and spare others going through what happened to me ( see further down this post.)
Hence my comments.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:47
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:47
Gidday Disco
Yer I know about that mate, lost a few of my own dogs to 1080. Won't have a bar of it anymore.
Given that National Parks are not much more than restricted caravan parks, I think Nicki's question is valid.
What's the point of having a National
Park if you can't use the bloody thing.
Not having a go at you mate, but more so, the bull bleep that buggars a lot of us who do the right thing. Including control of a dog.
Kim
Kim
Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:16
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:16
Nicki, if you were a member you would be able to access the personal website of a member here, who has some wonderful stories of travels with his dog,, (make that dogs these days.) Maybe he will make an appearance tonight, and let you do just that. Not to be missed.
Fred
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:42
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:42
Better clarify...if you are a member of this site, you can access much more than as a visitor...The read of the story I am referring to is worth the price of
membership alone.
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:31
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:31
Nicki
Our dog goes everywhere with us...even through some National Parks when no one is looking....:-)
Please be aware though that 1080 Poison Baits(aimed at foxes, dingos and feral cats) are strewn aound the outback especially in Western Australia so you will have to be vigilant and keep close contact with the furry child and keep it under control at all times.
Our mate is very
well trained but a dog is still a dog and she gets dogs idea and wanders off when not on a leash!
Follow Up By: nicki- Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:46
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:46
Once again I'm blown away by the rapid responses and good advice!
TIger is a small Heinz-57 varieties. I have only just acquired her after loosing my 18 year old Jack Russell Foxy in May. I have fallen in love with this little bitsa and would be thrilled to take her with us.
I have seen sites where you can leave dogs to be minded whilst in National Parks-so this could be an option as
well.Again, thanks to all.
I plan to become a member so will follow up the blog a member mentioned.
Follow Up By: nicki- Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:49
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:49
Willem
Jeddah-what a handsome and intelligent looking dog. I wouldn't leave him/her behind either!
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:16
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 21:16
Jeddah's mother was a Red Heeler and her father was just passing by. A bit of Heeler/ Staffy/Labrador. Now eight years old and mother of 7. Had her speyed and she is a real character. Loves boys but nips little girls. Very protective especially when inside the 4by. Had a devil of a time blowing into the bag once while she was trying to get at the policeman...lol On any journey she keeps one alert by barking at all passing trucks and caravans..we've got used to it!
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:43
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:43
I'm impressed with how protective a small dog can be, let alone a bigger one! Jeddah sounds a great mate.
Nicki
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:50
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 19:50
Once met a lady and her hubby doing the same trip up on the Cape. The 2 dogs we christened pee pee and poo poo.
The dogs were better behaved than thir owner :))
Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 22:16
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 22:16
Hey nicki.
As mike Harding says do as you wish, but then again, I bet he won't pay your fine.
Check out the fines you will have to pay if you get caught in a National Park or
Nature reserve if you bring your pet in, Just go to the Environmental protection and bio-diversity act web site and find out.
IMHA taking a pet into an area such as this is irresponsible, you won't get any sympathy from me if you get caught.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: nicki- Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:32
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:32
Hi Steve, checked the site you suggested-and the fines appear to vary from $75 to $1,500! Not sure yet how we'll resolve all this-want to be responsible to environment, and may
well go for the boarding option at least some of the time.
A small dog on a lead for short walks in most cases, must surely do far less damage than the feral dogs and pigs etc. especially if poo picked up!
Anyhow thanks for your advice!
Nicki
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:50
Sunday, Sep 28, 2008 at 23:50
Hi Nicki andall the others,
One reason, among many others, why dogs are banned in National Parks is so that Park Management can use bait, usually with 1080, in an attempt to control the feral animal populations that Mike H and others are so concerned about.
In a past life, I used 1080 for Rabbit, fox and pig control in some Parks in WA. It is not a pretty way for your pet to die, and is even more stressful watching it happen. (I've seem it happen to one of
mine..........through my momentary inattention with the poison).
Take others advice, take your pet with you but find alternative arrangements (kennels etc) when you wish to explore National Parks for a day or two.
Hope this helps your decision making.
Disco.
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:41
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:41
Thanks for the info-I've once 20 years ago now, lost a dearly loved dog to snail bait. And it was I who put out the snail bait. It was awful. Never used the stuff since. But you're right, its the moment of inattention thats the problem.
Think swapping care of dogs or on lead and watching or boarding will be the way to go. Just too risky otherwise..
Nicki
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 09:36
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 09:36
Meanwhile MAN encroaches upon National Parks using vehicles which belch out CO2, tourists who scramble over pristine country trampling everything in their wake, leaving litter and other unkind deposits.
I once caught a Park
Ranger at Jim Jim crossing with his two dogs on board his work ute. He told me where to go when I challenged him. I wrote a letter but nothing came of it as the hierachy closed ranks. Talk about double standards. Hmmm and what about the 'locals' who may have their emaciated flea ridden, mangy dogs in the camps throughout some National Parks?
Environment Protection Agency...Ha! what a load of crap.
Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 06:37
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 06:37
Hi nicki
We took our two maltese x poodles on our 2 yr trip around Aust. There is a lot of Australia to see that is not national park.
If you really need to go into a park, we would link up with others with dog's, and we would look after their dog/s for the day, then they would look after ours the next day.
This worked for very
well for us.
Neil
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:53
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 07:53
Good suggestion. We'll try this hoping to meet others to swap care with on the road. Thanks, Nicki
Reply By: al - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 09:54
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 09:54
don't take the dog you will find it will be a pain the ar#e it will stop a lot of your fun and will restrict where you can go or cost a fortune boarding it out if you want to go some where you can't take the dog.
i travelled for over ten years with a dog we missed out on a lot of stuff also found a lot of people don't like you inflicting your dog on to them ie. in
camp grounds. as said before leave it
home do your self and the dog a BIG favour.
On the up side we can now go back and see what we missed out on when we had the dog.
I do have another dog now but it stays
home.
have a nice day
al
Reply By: Member - SKI'er (QLD) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 10:00
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 10:00
Hi Nicki,
Caught your post late. Don't forget to take Tigers current vax papers with you. We have used doggy day sitters and vets for the day to allow us some us time to go ino a National Park for the day. If we need a few days to see a major capital city we put ours in kennels in that capital city. All of the above my ask for vax papers.
The best thing we have bought for our dog (fox terrier) is a babies wooden play pen ($11 at a garage sale). Ours is as happy as to see out yet be restrained but not on the lead and we have never had issues with the arrangement in Cparks. "Ours could jump out ? not with some insect mesh and a few pegs on the top
Also if you stand the play pen upright but in a pyramid shape at the top you also carry a very stable and ideal clothes dryer that fits under your awning on wet days.
SKI'er
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 11:05
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 11:05
Hi Ski-er
what a great idea, a play pen. She is really quiet, obedient dog-except when there is a reason to bark. Will take vac papers when boarding is required.
nicki
PS Did you feel you 'missed out' and were inconvenienced by taking your terrier? Obviously there will be costs, but hey, it costs to leave them behind doesn't it. My dogs have always been my family. A dog at home makes my house a home. Having been dogless for 4 months and now after my previous canine companion of 18 years died, having a dog again, I'm happy.Partner less keen, hence this post. (Think he's coming around)
Follow Up By: Member - SKI'er (QLD) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:27
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:27
Hi Nicki,
You do miss out on some things.
We were near to Innis National Park at the bottom of the
York Penninsula.. a very pretty coastal park. Mrs and I had to do our look and see on separate days and missed the togetherness of the oos and aahs of the beauty of the place.
Big 4 (We call them Bad4Us) have a no dogs policy across Austrlalia and some Cparks do not allow dogs during school holidays and long weekends. There are very few Cparks in major cities that allow dogs... and if we are in WA we would want to experience seeing
Perth and Freeo so that was where local kennelling occurred. Brooms only dog friendly park recently changed its policy to no dogs
Our remaining aged foxie (the youngest died recently) is FAMILY so we work around the difficulties and we wouldn't want to kennel her on her own for months on end to say nothing of the $$$ We are doing a 6 week stint on a cattle station next year home tutoring during their busy muster time.... the station owners didn't have a problem with us requesting to arrive with one dog.... "in the playpen at night on the verandah will be fine. " Our bubs will have to learn a new visitors profile with the station dogs
Another issue for us oldies and dog ownership is that some up market retirement villages do not allow some types of pets. We see our next move will be into one of these
places. Consequently we may not replace our remaining foxie on her demise.
I am sure the 3 of you will love the trip.
SKI'er
Follow Up By: nicki- Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:51
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:51
Hi SKI-er
Thanks for your comments. I hate putting my dog into kennels-think its like prison. So will be choosey-but at times if in capital cities or near smaller parks will hope for dog care swaps or short term kennels. Never used one yet so will research how to know its a good kennel. Assume that there are standards for these things. Homelike and loving is pretty important too.
I feel for you with the looming retirement village problem. It seems WRONG to separate folk from an old mate, tantamount to cruelty, to both human and pet. Hope if ever I need to make such a move they have humanised standards to allow the usually older, domesticated pets incoming residents would have.
Having been without a dog for 4 months and now having one again I realise I have been pining. Life is too short to live without a dog if you ask me!
Interested that you did some tutoring. That could be right up my alley when we do our trip. Can't wait-even though we are only doing short trips in the next year. Wilsons Prom is first-and we won't take Tiger.
Cheers-and thanks again to you- and all the varied replies I've had.
Nicki