Dogs, National Parks and fines

Submitted: Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:30
ThreadID: 62115 Views:6568 Replies:12 FollowUps:44
Greetings all,

I'm fully aware that dogs (except guide dogs) are not allowed in National Parks.

Can anyone tell me what act the National Parks operate under (either Commonwealth or WA) and what the fines are for taking a dog in to a National Park?

Also, does anyone else find it almost discrimination that sight impaired people are allowed to take dogs in to the National Parks? Surely they should allow NO dogs if they can frighten native animals?

Jason.

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:42

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:42
uneekwahn

Don't wish to generalize but, If you compare how most guide dogs behave and are controlled compared to those who are at the other end of the spectrum.
I guess NP view it as far less of a risk with guide dogs.

JMTBW.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 327645

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:45

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:45

I believe the parks are administered at the state level and in Queensland at least I think the legislation is the National Parks & Wildlife act of 1971.

Don't know about the fines.

I think you are drawing a pretty long bow with the argument about seeing eye dogs. For sight impaired folks, I would imagine that the dog provides a way for them to get out and enjoy things which they otherwise couldn't.

I think their dogs are pretty well trained so I don't see them as a major issue for native animals.

Just my 2 bobs worth.
AnswerID: 327646

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:39

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:39
Thanks for the useful answer Brian, it's appreciated.

I'll follow up with CALM here in WA and see what they say about the act.

I completely agree with you regarding the seeing eye dogs. I can appreciate that they have the right to travel, just like the rest of us, but then, as I said in my OP, I think that I should have the right to travel, just like they do. With a dog of course :)

Jason.
FollowupID: 594991

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:47

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 12:47
Does it matter who has jurisdiction? Does it matter how much the fine is? Point is it's illegal, so don't do it.
The ban is in place cause too many people let "rover" run around off leash. This leads to native species being hunted/killed.
Guide dogs are allowed cause they are always on leash and are also very highly trained and obedient animals, not likely to stray and chase anything.

National parks are looked after by the states, not commonwealth.

And no, I DON'T think it's discriminatory to only allow guide dogs.
AnswerID: 327647

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 16:17

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 16:17

Well answered.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 594977

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:37

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:37
MrBitchi,

Ever littered? Illegal.
Ever drop a cigarette butt? Littering and possibly starting a fire. Illegal.
Ever sped? Illegal.
Ever double parked? Illegal.
Ever parked in a no-parking zone? Illegal.

My point is, that whilst opinions are like assholes, in that everyone has one, and no one likes the smell of other people's farts, just like with your opinion.

Either answer the question or don't reply at all in future.

Have a great day.

Jason.

FollowupID: 594990

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:10

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:10
G'day MrBitchi,

I wouldn't go quite as far as uneekwahn with a reply, but from your response it would seem that highly trained dogs who are always on a leash should be allowed in National Parks?

I am not sight impaired, but my eldest dog is very well trained, and our youngest is becoming so. They are always on the leash when out in public. They are trained and obediant because no body (especialy my 55kg wife) wants two 55-60kg Ridgebacks running amuck.

Should the rules be different for me?

Not taking the PI55, just playing devils advocate...

Take it easy,

Ross.
FollowupID: 595015

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:53

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:53
The act that covers both Federal and State N.Ps and nature reserves is.

The environmental protection and bio-diversity act 2001.

Seeing eye dogs, hearing dogs, and companion dogs are exempt but prior permission must be sort to enter the park/reserve.

When we travel the dog stays at home, we don't miss anything and don't annoy anyone.

It is funny however that a lot of people love this country, and love to explore it, but don't necessarily wont to abide by the rules that protect it.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 595072

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:03
uneekwahn,

I'm assuming that Steve is correct, but assuming as Steve says, that the National Parks are controlled by "Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999", not quite what Steve said but close enough here is a link to the regulations and also here is an extract:

Regulations

12.19 Taking animals into Commonwealth reserve

(1) A person must not cause or allow an animal owned by, or in the charge of, the person, to enter or remain in a Commonwealth reserve.

Penalty: 20 penalty units.

(2) A person is taken to have contravened subregulation (1) if the person places a beehive in a Commonwealth reserve.

(3) However, subregulation (1) does not apply to:

(a) the use of a dog or animal that:

(i) is a guide dog used by a blind person, a hearing dog used by a deaf person or an assistance animal used by a person with a disability; and

(ii) is at all times restrained on a lead not more than 3 metres in length; or

(b) taking the carcass of an animal into a Commonwealth reserve as food for the person or a dog or animal mentioned in paragraph (a); or

(c) a person, if the animal is confined to a vessel and the person is on a vessel in passage through a marine area.

(4) A person who, in accordance with a permit or other authority under these Regulations, takes an animal into, or has in his or her possession an animal in, a Commonwealth reserve must not:

(a) allow the animal to be at large; or

(b) fail to remove the animal from the reserve:

(i) if the person lives in the reserve — when the person ceases to live there; or

(ii) in any other case — when the person leaves the reserve.

(5) A person who takes the carcass of an animal into a Commonwealth reserve as food must not, within 50 metres of an area of water in the reserve, dismember, disembowel or skin the carcass.

(6) It is a defence to a prosecution for an offence under paragraph (4) (b) that the person has transferred the ownership of the animal to another person in the reserve in accordance with the permit or authority.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To fully answer your question about fines, one has to define what is a penalty unit, as you will need to pay 20 of them if you are caught with an animal.

A bit of a net-search took me to this site: Clayton Utz Site

It seems that on average 1 penalty unit is $110.
Therefore taking a dog into a National Park would carry a fine of 20 x $110, which is $2200.

Hope this helps you.

FollowupID: 595199

Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:11

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:11
Hello - I find it hard to believe that people don't understand that pets have no place in national parks. It is apparent that some people just see them as areas of bush within which they should be allowed to do what ever takes their fancy. These areas are created principally for the preservation of native fauna and flora and/or significant natural features. Obviously there has to be a compromise between allowing access for people to enjoy and study these areas while still ensuring they maintain their natural values.

The comprise has to be controlled to ensure long term viability of parks. Management plans are therefore created and rules/restrictions put in place. Not allowing dogs is just one small part of reserve management and probably only effects a small percentage of individuals that visit parks each year. People who like traveling with dogs obviously see it as a significant issue especially when they know their dog is well behaved. The reason for allowing some dogs into national parks (i.e. guide dogs) is obvious. It is interesting that it could be considered "almost discrimination". There are many examples of this type of "almost discrimination" - I doubt if anyone would dare promote such a view like this with a group of visually impaired people...though on second thoughts a few self indulgent people who use this forum spring to mind.

AnswerID: 327649

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:52

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:52
Ahh, yes...Greg

It must be spring as the slumbering age old questions on this forum awake from their winter hibernation.

Yes, the perfect world of National Parks managed by PTD's!!

We carry on with the narrow minded control measures from the birth of this settlement. Parks are for people dammit, and all things which people do. You can act quite irresponsibly in a NP without owning a dog!!!

And then there is the feral problem. Wild Dogs, Dingoes, Cats, Possums, Birds, Bogans...........All live naturally in their wild state in most National Parks. Solution for some?...Yep, lay 1080 Poison all over the place. Kill stray Goannas, Birds of Prey and other carnivores as well. Magnificint strategy!

Parks are for People(repeat). People inhabit this planet and should have all the freedoms they can pursue instead of having to kow-tow to some elitist notion.

By all means set some places aside and with proper management divide NP's up into user friendly areas to accommodate all aspects of human endeavour.

And Greg...>though on second thoughts a few self indulgent people who use this forum spring to mind<....are you contemplating a life in politics?

FollowupID: 594960

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:28

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:28
Hello Willem - You have it wrong - National Parks are created with the principal aim of natural heritage preservation. Use by people is a lesser consideration (but important non the less and one that needs to be MANAGED). Allowing access for humans is and will also be a compromise between this main aim and keeping people such as you and me happy. The compromise is obviously not far enough in some peoples direction. Bad luck. I actually see peoples pet dogs as a very minor issue for park management but is difficult to make a case to allow them that would be accepted by those who make the rules. Climate change is a far greater potential threat - oh no!! - why did I mention that?

FollowupID: 594963

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:38

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:38
Like I said, Greg...too narrow a view

Climate change???....HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.........not you as well........ Oh Gawd.... I nearly fell off my chair........lol

FollowupID: 594964

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:49

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:49
Me?- "too narrow a view"? - interesting comment to support an opinion continually posted on the forum by people obsessed with their dogs!! I nearly fell of my chair as well!!

FollowupID: 594966

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:53

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:53
Yes its not perfect but I certainly see a big difference between nat parks and crown/private camping areas

quads and mini bikes with kids on them roring about wherever they please, rubish everywhere, usually a bleep magnet place for 4bys wearing p plates tearing the place up and yes dogs without onwners fighting barking, crapping everwhere and trying to flog your meat off the barbie.
The rules seem to keep most of these people out of the parks and get them all together which is good because they can be avoided.
yes theres alot of generalizations there but theres no question uncontrolled areas attract uncontrolled people.

as for 1080 baits their effectiveness is without question. they may have some collatoral damage but one bait may kill one goanna wheras 1 bait will kill 1 dingo which will kill 100s or 1000s same as each of its pups would have
FollowupID: 594967

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:14

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:14

So you don't have a furry companion?

A man and his dog....been like that for eons. Nothing obsessive about it unless you like watching reality TV shows about those crazy poms and their dogs.

The narrow view is the fact that National Parks management principles in this country have shortcomings and while you may note that the percentage of "people with dogs wishing to visit" is reasonably low, if management were attuned to peoples needs instead of their own perceived self-interests(and I am talking about the bloody scientists and academia), then there could be a better outcome for all.

You and I can go around in circles with this and get nowhere.
I like to state the alternative view so that readers can make up their own mind.

FollowupID: 594968

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:30

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:30
Sorry mate - maybe I worded that wrong. Yes we have a dog and I understand the importance they play in some peoples lives. My initial post in this thread was to point out that I didn't comprehend why people don't understand or appreciate why dogs were not allowed in parks. It simply conflicts with the main intended purpose of a park/reserve (plus other factors such as potentially interfering with other peoples enjoyment of the park as well..which is also why dogs are not allowed in some beaches). And yes you can discuss it for ever and a day and get nowhere (which I think is where we have arrived).

On a slightly different note I was totally disgusted with the condition of dogs living at several locations I visited on/near the northern section of the CSR in July. If they were found in someones backyard in that condition by the RSPCA the owner would be in jail. Suppose that's the problem - no one "owns" them.

FollowupID: 594971

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:32

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:32
PS - I sometimes refer to the Missus as my "furry companion" - don't let her know I mentioned it.

FollowupID: 594972

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:37

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:37
OK.....LOL

FollowupID: 594973

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 16:58

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 16:58
Greg, One thing I have leaned on this forum is that a small minority of its members have a far greater understanding of areas of study such as climatology and environmental management (Well, in there own minds anyway) than all the scientists in the world combined.

Of course, they will all be dead from old age well before the real impact of there misunderstanding impacts the planet, so why should they care ?.

However, as many of them also have children and grandchildren, you would think they would be a little more concerned about the legacy they are leaving the children and grand children to deal with ...

We all have the right to our own opinions (IMHO !) but we do need to try and consider the impact on future generations of our opinions and actions today.

(Flame proof suit on max )

FollowupID: 594981

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:09

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:09
Yeah Mr Pointyhead...no doubt all your advanced knowledge rests in your extented frontal lobe.

One thing is certain. We will all be dead one day. Sooner or later. There no getting away from it.

If you want to save the planet then ban everything. Follow the Pied Piper like rats.

FollowupID: 594983

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:07

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:07
Willem
Good one , I have been to the SD on 3 ocassions , each time Dusty had to come, He was most severely restricted for his own safety, he would have made a good meal for an Eagle, or a Dingo, then there's the threat of snakes, and very large Goannas , so really I don't think a dog of his size could be a threat to anything , even the sand burns his feet, But while in the SD I seen Camels, not Native, Dingoe's, not Native ,Rabbits, not Native, Cat's near the SD, not Native, NP's in Qld have Pigs,Cats,Dogs,Rabbits, all not Native , On the other hand I do not agree that the large hunting type dogs one see's in the cages on the back of Landcruiser Traybacks should be in NP's, I know some of you will say one rule for all , My opinion is why should a minority spoil things for the majority, look at footy and sports , one can't even take your own drinks these days, TO MUCH REGULATION,

FollowupID: 595000

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:15

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:15
Hello Mr Pointyhead, you observations are confirmed, but that's the nature of forums. I have adopted a policy of trying to respect everyones opinion (even if obviously based on a misunderstanding of what I see as basic facts) and maintain a degree of decorum while having the occasional light hearted dig. We all have something in common which is a good thing. Its also best to ignore some threads totally. Not sure why I bothered with this one...must have thought I could contribute something meaningful.

FollowupID: 595002

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:51
OK Greg I will take you up on your statement >(even if obviously based on a misunderstanding of what I see as basic facts)<

What are the basics facts that you are alluding to?

And as to decorum...we all like that, but do take exception at snide remarks and therefor retalliate.

Everyone, whatever their opinion, be it the truth or misguided opinion, contributes to the overall concept of the forum and others can make up their own minds.

In the beginning the thread was asking about aspects of dogs in National Parks. Maybe it should have stayed with that subject but YOU brought up climate change knowing full well that I would take you up on it.

FollowupID: 595010

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:13

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:13
Woops, now look what Ive done. OK, I have re-read my post - I think I should have put :) after the climate change thing to indicate it was a deliberate attempt at a joke that meant no offence. Thought we have discussed the climate issue before (a couple of times, along with the infamous :):):):):):):). Doug T), so, under the assumption you had a sense of humour brought it up in an attempt to get a LOL...Apologies.

Bloody Dogs! - see the trouble they cause!!!:):) They should be banned :):)

FollowupID: 595016

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 21:23
Hahahahahahahahah!!!! You started it!!!

FollowupID: 595030

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:12

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:12
Just wondering what gives you the right to refer to me as "The infamous Doug T" ......
And now seeing as though I'm here I'll just toss in a small statment about this stupid climate change BS being bandied about ,Yes there is Climate change , always has been for millions of years, It's just some screwed up mob of alarmists have decided to blame human activity as the cause, BS BS and more BS, .
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Did the Chesapeake Bay bolide affect the location of Chesapeake Bay itself? We know that the bay is nowhere near 35 million years old. In fact, as late as 18,000 years ago, the bay region was dry land; the last great ice sheet was at its maximum over North America, and sea level was about 200 m lower than at present. This sea level exposed the area that now is the bay bottom and continental shelf. With sea level this low, the major east coast rivers had to cut narrow valleys across the region all the way to the shelf edge. About 10,000 years ago, however, the ice sheets began to melt rapidly, causing sea level to rise and flood the shelf and the coastal river valleys. The flooded valleys became the major modern estuaries, like Delaware Bay and Chesapeake Bay. The rivers of the Chesapeake region converged at a location directly over the buried crater. In short, the impact crater created a long-lasting topographic depression, which helped determine the eventual location of Chesapeake Bay.
Climatic evidence shows in the lead up to the glacial maximum there were unusually sudden and massive swings in global temperatures over short periods of time. It was like an on-off switch. Over brief periods, the average temperature would plunge by more than 10 degrees Celsius and then warm again before plunging once again into ultra-cold territory.
----------------------------------------------------
So as you can read there has been some very quick climatic changes before , probably many hundreds of times, As for the sea levels, in item 1 would explain how the Aborigines got to Tasmania .... They walked , over land and a small ice cap, I spend a hell of a lot of time reading ,check the link and see for your self some totally awesome facts that are completely out of the control of humans , This is what I have put together over the last few years .

Page of Learning

FollowupID: 595035

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:39

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:39
Ok- I admit it! I started it - now can I have my hook, line and sinker back (both sets). I'm running short:)

All the best guys.

FollowupID: 595039

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 14:55

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 14:55
Greg,

Should'nt be a problem. They've come out the other end :)))

FollowupID: 595109

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:11

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:11
As usual a minority ruin it for all, most folk do the right thing but there are a few hillbilly's out there who dont know what the right thing is and if they did still wouldn't care and do it anyway, lost count of the times we missed out cause we have a dog (jack russel) but it's a fact as long as we have ignoramises, we'll pay for them,
regards,
AnswerID: 327650

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:41

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:41
Dave, I hear you loud and clear.

Our lab is very well trained, doesn't wander, doesn't stray, and doesn't eat unless we tell her to.

If I was in a national park, I'd happily keep her on a leash, but here lies the problem. How do you police everyone at the same time?

Thanks for the reponse :)

Jason.
FollowupID: 594992

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:28

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:28
How do you police everyone at the same time?

The answer is easy, If people abide by the rules and don't take dogs into a National Park there is nothing to police.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 595099

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:13

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 13:13
not sure if youve noticed but guide dogs are usually atached to their owner where as the sort of people who think its ok to bring their dog into a national park are also the sort who couldnt give a stuff about any of the regulations.
heres definitly 2 things national parks dont need dogs and kids on pee wee 50s/quads
AnswerID: 327651

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:42

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:42
Davoe,

as I said to Dave above, I hear what you're saying, and I'll reiterate what I said before, I'd happily keep my dog on a leash in a NP, but there is no option, and it would be a hard thing to police.

Why shouldn't those without sight problems not be allowed the same treatment as those with sight problems? They keep their dog on a leash, so do I.

Jason.
FollowupID: 594994

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:36

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:36
I was planning on crossing the Simpson Desert with a dog sled pulled with ten German Shepherds as a back up for the Spanish Extreme Cyclist.
I guess I'll have to pass on that adventure now.
Hmmm, how hard is it to train dingo's?
Seriously, I think most dog owners are responsible enough to look after their doggies, about as responsible as travellers in picking up all their rubbish when visiting pristine areas. Yet rubbish is left everywhere.
I guess there are different levels of responsibility, and why take the chance.
Just keep the dogs away from the parks please.
AnswerID: 327661

Reply By: harryopal - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:47

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 14:47
Allowing people to look after pets unregulated in parks is a bit like allowing big business to run banks without regulation. While most people are responsible with dogs there are those who seem to think it cute if the dog poos on the grassed strip or in the park. Some years ago there was a new housing development above the old Williamstown firing range which used to be a wonderful nesting site for all kinds of birds. A fence was put in between the new housing and the bird `sanctuary' with signs saying, `No Dogs.'
Dogs dont' read and neither do some owners. The bird nesting is long gone as they will be in all the wilderness and national parks if regulations aren't kept to limit the damage.
It'd be nice if we were all perfect but as far as I can see I am the only one.
Harry
AnswerID: 327663

Reply By: Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:43

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:43
NATIONAL PARKS Don't get me started !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yet here we are in a national park where Dogs are allowed.

What is the first thing we see....... Dog running loose next to sign saying Dogs allowed on lead at all times.

Big Al
on the great ocean road
AnswerID: 327671

Follow Up By: Big Al. Gold Coast - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:45

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 15:45
And the Ben has just lost his dish of food to this stray.
FollowupID: 594975

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:34

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:34
I once asked a park Ranger why dogs are not allowed in national parks and was told the reason is because they carry parasites that are harmful to native animals. Another point raised here was 1080, this poison is harmless to native animals as it exists in natural form in many native plants. Regards ...Nav.
FollowupID: 594989

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:53

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:53
Nav 8

Please elaborate on your statement >Another point raised here was 1080, this poison is harmless to native animals as it exists in natural form in many native plants<

FollowupID: 595011

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 01:09

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 01:09
Nav 8,
Without going into a boring and extremely longwinded explanation of how 1080 is used let me assure you that 1080 IS harmful to native species. Non native species are even more susceptible to 1080.

And there are only a couple of plant species which carry the active chemical in the plant structure. These are the "Oxylobium" and the "Gastrolobium"species, more commonly known as the native poison plants or the "Pea Flowering plants.

It is just that the West Australian native animals have an increased tolerance through long and constant exposure to the poison. (And this is quite different to 'Resistance'). Eastern States animals are less tolerant to "Sodium Monofluoroacetate" which is the actiive component in1080.

In order to use 1080 with relative safety for non target species there are a number of factors that must be considered.
1. The target species;- (eg;dog, fox)
2. Bait size.(Bite sized bait is too big for the little carnivores)
3. Bait concentration within the bait( Low concentration of poison throughout the bait makes it safer for the little critters)

By controlling all of the above it is possible to design a bait that will kill a feral dog or a fox but will not usually kill non target species, eg the little carnivorous "Mice" who cannot eat a sufficient quantity of the bait material to ingest a lethal dose of 1080.

There is no one size fits all with using 1080. A lot of research has gone into making the baiting programme as safe as possible.

Hope this helps clarify the 1080 poison issue a little bit .

Disco.
FollowupID: 595047

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 07:31

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 07:31
Thanks for that explanation Disco. It makes some sense.

I would prefer however if NP policy included human trappers and feral animal exterminators be employed to physically do the job instead of the easy way out of poisoning.

FollowupID: 595059

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:25

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:25
willem
NP have a formal "policy" of using Hunting and Conservation to help control ferals in some of the NP's in most states now. To do this needs shuting down parks for periods to ensure the publics safety due to OHSW etc etc..else risk litagation i suppose if something does go wrong.

NP here in sa also use helicopters with shooter/s in some areas.
FollowupID: 595066

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:21

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:21
Thanks from me also Disco, I am now more enlightened on the subject. Regards ...Nav.
FollowupID: 595076

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 14:26

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 14:26
Hi Willem & Member No 1.
Yes, Nat Parks do use professional shooters for feral animal control and yes, there are very big issues of public safety.
Using shooters is really only effective when feral numbers are high but is a VERY expensive operation when chasing only a few animals. ( A wily old dog may take a very experienced trapper/shooter anything up to a week to locate and destroy it

From personal experience, I was involved in organising and application of controlled shoots of feral goats in the River Gorges in Kalbarri Nat Park in WA. The paperwork and safety controls required were extremely difficult to comply with.(Public Notices in the papers, Govt Red Tape, physical signs and manned barriers at ALL access points, not just roads, Ambulance on stand-by at the site The Park was closed for 3 days, 1 before tha actual shooting day and 1 after to allow the ground crew in to clean up the carcases.
We used two marksmen shooting from a low flying helicopter with a spotter plane1500ft above them looking for the goats and looking out for idiot tourists who ignored all the signage about a closed park
In the 1 day of shooting we took out about 350 goats from about 400 rounds used. That is about average for those conditions.

Before any one suggests that these goats could have been mustered out rather than destroyed, that has been tried a number of times before in this area:- 2 weeks work collected less than 100 animals, it didn't even cover the costs.

The risks involved in allowing "Joe Citizen" into the Parks to control feral animals are enormous and it's not a viable option under any circumstances.

Again I hope this helps in understanding why poisons are used in many areas.

Disco.
FollowupID: 595107

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:22

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:22
Makes you wonder how we manage in Victoria where it's legal to shoot pest animals and take dogs into thousands (millions?) of acres of State Forest which abut and surround our National Parks - indeed it's legal to shoot deer and take dogs into parts of the Alpine National Park - can't imagine why the sky hasn't fallen in upon us?

FollowupID: 595117

Reply By: sfletch - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:00

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 19:00
In a world now where you cant smoke in pubs /clubs,must respect peoples religon,sexual preferences,race,no discrimination at all to anyone,anytime,anywhere,sections/areas have to be set aside/fenced off/constructed everywhere you go to cater for all types of people and all types of need in all types of situations, NPWS cant accomodate a traveller in some way wanting to explore this great country of ours, sleep out under the stars and take his best mate along.I travel everywhere with my dog and would not have it any other way,i also keep her under control and clean up after her.
AnswerID: 327696

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:06

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:06
Whilst Political Correctness has legislated tolerance in many areas those areas which are not Politically Correct are, by definition, excluded - tolerance can only extend so far... and only to the things which are "right".

FollowupID: 595013

Follow Up By: sfletch - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:43

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:43
What if one day a situation similar to this was effecting you in some way would you still say its right. I doubt it.
FollowupID: 595102

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:24

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:24
Well you'd be wrong. My opinions and morals don't change with the wind even if yours do.

FollowupID: 595118

Follow Up By: sfletch - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:49

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:49
mike harding quoted
"my opinions dont change"
thats the type of people i am talking about
FollowupID: 595181

Follow Up By: sfletch - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:51

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:51
must have hit a nerve with you hey mike as you have a big bug up your @@@@@@@@@@@
FollowupID: 595182

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 07:46

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 07:46
>thats the type of people i am talking about

Frankly, it's extremely difficult to know what you _are_ talking about.

FollowupID: 595213

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 12:10

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 12:10
Australia's Disability Discrimination Act covers these types of issues and you will find that the relative National Park administration in each State is goverend by this Act.

That is to say that it isn't necessarily the National Parks that makes the decision, they appear to be bound by this legislation.

As to the issue at hand....I guess the Disability Discrimination Act was brought in to cover these exact issues. I guess what it is saying is that able bodied people are not dependent on a guide dog to visit a National Park, blind people are. Therefore it is discriminating if they are denied access because of their dependence on a guide dog....

That's the interpreation...I don't want to get caught up in the argument or debate!
AnswerID: 327774

Reply By: Flywest - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 01:47

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 01:47
Things change with time.

The question was about WA.

Back when i worked for CALM (now DEC) some 20 years ago, the Nat parks dog rules were part of the National parks act of about 1957 or somesuch - i.e very old and in many vases outdated.

At times parliament passes updated legisltaion to amend shortcommings discovered by Public Servants such as myself who were administering the act.

That would then amend the act (it would then be the Nat Parks act of 1957 as amended 1975 or whatever).

Really speaking you need to look at a CURRENT copy of the act.

Back when i was enfrcing that (and other) acts (Nat parks, Wildlfife Act, CALM Act, Swan River Trust act etc etc) the particular nat parks one was one of the oldest, and most in need of amendement.

In particular - there was a problem with the Dogs in NP section.

It was illegal to have a dog in a NP. We were under instruction not to prosecute this section of the act but to use an educational approach - hand out a dogs in NP "brochure to anyone caught with a dog on NP - and ask them to leave.

The reason we didn't fine or prosecute was - the act was very poorly drafted originally - it defined having a Dog in a NP as being illegal, but forgot to include ANY form of penalty.

Effectively this means - that in the event we prosecuted, and it got to court - the Judge can ONLY rule on whats written in the act (not the regulations - they are not legaly binding), and because there was no provision of fine or penalty (e.g. jail) it meant that basically only a conviction could be recorded against the persons name and court costs awarded against them.

The Dept didn;t want everyone to KNOW this by the results getting published in th epaper or they couldn't continue to bluff everyone to keep dogs out, so we werent allowed to fine or issue infringements - only a warning!

I havent heard of that At being upgraded butI've been out of it for 20 years now so who knows maybe it has.

If the act has been amended by parliament since - well now their could be a fine.

Even with that said - you need to remember this is a court of petty sessions offence - just a judge - no jury and no "criminal conviction" against your name - its the same as paying a speeding or parking fine - it will NOT give you a criminal offence/ criminal record.

Criminal offences are those that carry jail terms of over 1 years incarceration.

So - the whole deal of dogs in NP's is really a storm in a tea cup IMHO.

I well recall - the local APB guy shooting a couple dingo pups (native fauna) in the DeEntrecasteaux NP....because the neighboring cattle farmers were claiminng the Dingoes were killing calves....

Which act (APB) takesprecedence over the other - usually it states in the preamble to the act which acts it;s takes precdense over, and such would be the case with discrimination act and guide dogs In NP's.

The Fed Discrimination act MAY have sime preamble that says this at takes precedence over XYZ federal acts ad all state legislature acts or whatever.

Really only a lawyer would know the answers.

If you want to take a Dog into a NP in Wa I'd et a copy of the latest version of the NP Act first.

Regulations are departmental rules on how a legal act shall be enforced / admiistered - they are not a law and NOT something that can be used in a court of law - so while the NP regs might make all kinds of rules about such parks and dogs etc - that doesnt mean it's "legal" to do so, when it comes to dfense at a court of law.

Personally I know from experience all ofthe acts I was qualified to enforce had loopholes you could drive a greyhound bus thru (deliberate dog pun!)

I don't personally see the big deal with Dogs in NP's...

E.g.

Is it "Illegal" for an indigenous person from say Fitzroy crossing to have a "dog" with him on tribal lands within the Geiki Gorge NP if that "Dog" is all (or part > 75%) Dingo?

Is the Indigenous persons dog a native animal or a dog - and is a NP ranger sufficiently qualified in zoolology to be able to tell the difference without resorting to DNA testing?.

Is it racial discrimination to pick on him and his dingo dog?

Is his Dingo Illegal under the APB act?

Which act takes precedence?

Frankly it's a mess and if enough people don't agree with the Dogs in NP, ad deliberately disobey it - then it will become unenforceable, and eventually the pollies will change the act one way or another to remove any ambiguity.

We are only liable to the laws we agree to be enfirced on as a community on the whole.

Its about who wins - the pro dog people or the anti dog people.

The MAIN reason dogs are discouraged in NP'sis necause they have a habit of kicking theiur legs on neighboring campers tents eskys etc and the ranger doesnt want to have to break up a fight between campers over a stupid dog and get hurt doing so - he has better things to do with his time (usually).

AnswerID: 328477

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 04:19

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 04:19
**The MAIN reason dogs are discouraged in NP'sis necause they have a habit of kicking theiur legs on neighboring campers tents eskys etc**

Yeah hate that, happens every single time I camp, every single dog, on every single tent, esky etc.
FollowupID: 595716